We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Budget Hotel in Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Albert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Budget Hotel in Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Original Sokos Hotel Albert hotel in Helsinki is a decent budget hotel with adequate facilities and amenities. The hotel offers free high speed Internet access and free breakfast and free sauna services. There is a business center and lounge/bar. The restaurant serves a good Italian meal that is excellent and very affordable. The rooms are equipped with modern gadgets and it appears that there is an ergonomic design at play. There is a complete ironing facility. The hotel organizes shuttle bus service. The policy of the hotel allows pets. The hotel is conveniently located close to the city center and in a residential area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSClSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    128
    40
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
77
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Very good service and good location. Restaurant was nearly closed but reception person helped me to get food. I liked very much great pizza that I ordered. All pizzas can pay with S-card meal advance. I would recommend this hotel at future. This hotel is heart of Helsinki and still I can come here easily by car.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Original Sokos Hotel Albert. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Also, I am glad you got to taste our pizza. Our restaurant Papa Albert is famous for its pizzas. This week we introduced a new pizza, the ‘Albert Ultra Tasty Pizza’. The sauce recipe is secret, but if you e-mail us, we can send it just to you!

We hope to see you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here for a few days at beginning of December. Excellent service. Really nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, good restaurant, very comfortable rooms and reasonably close to Helsinki centre. Liked it a lot

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picotdesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Andergard, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Albert.
This kind of feedback inspires our staff to keep up the our truly hospitable service!

We hope to see you as your guest again soon.

Best regards,
Martin Andergard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel was very nice and my room was exactly like that of the pictures displayed on here. The room was spacious, it had a tv (though i wasn't sure how to work it), internet was fast in the room, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were fantastic - always happy, smiling and very friendly. They were always willing to help ad spoke English. The breakfast was very good and there was variety between hot and cold foods.

My only criticism was that my room was next to the elevator - and it is an old school one - so everytime someone used it I heard a loud noise in my room (similar to the door in my room closing). I did ask reception for a change of room as I had a terrible sleep but the only rooms they had available were also next to an elevator. So if you are going to stay here, which I would recommend, I would ask for one away from the elevators to ensure a good night sleep.

Good hotel, great location and amazing staff! Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the elevator. I stayed in 604 which was next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmng, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Albert, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jordan,

thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the service and personnel were kind, helpful and professional.

We hope to see you soon again in Helsinki.

Kind regards,

Kati Jousimies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in Sokos Albert for 3 days for a business trip. Single room is a bit tiny but still very pleasant. Bed, even being soft, surprisingly comfortable to sleep, they also provide 2 pillows of different sizes so you can select which on is more comfortable for you to sleep. 5 to 10 mins walking distance from the city center and main attractions. Not very convenient if you are travelling by car, but this is the case for almost every hotel in city centers. Hotel provides underground parking. Staff is helpful and friendly. Elevators in this hotel are kind of tiny and of older construction, no inner doors, so you see wall moving. Breakfast is average of a decent quality. In total hotel is a good recommendation for an affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajonins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Basically good location within 5min-walking distance to the center; free wifi & free use of daily sauna services; very clean & modern design practical rooms(with a full set for ironing in the room); affordable & nice Italian restaurant downstair; cheerful staff.. Pretty much what I can expect at best value

Room Tip: you might want to ask for corner rooms to have both-side windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MURAT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in Sokos Albert for 3 days in January with my wife and our friends (young family with child). Location is just perfect - all city attractions, malls and central railway station are in 5-15 mins walk, while the hotel itself is located in a quiet residential area. There is a parking in a basement floor - it's not free (costs about 24 euros/day) but it's very convenient to have a parking inside the hotel in winter. Breakfast was excellent, really hearty and all staff was friendly and helpful.

Rooms are pretty decent, quiet and spacious, furnishing is not new but in a good condition. The only flaw was an absent of an additional bed option - our friends could not arrange any additional bed for their 4 y.o. son in their double room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#38 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Albert

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Albert
Address: Albertinkatu 30, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Albert 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT is located in the hub of the cultural, commercial, historical, and in a sense even bohemian Helsinki. Within walking distance the quest will find Signature Design clothes, Finnish Design Furniture, vintage furniture- and rare-to-find vinyl record shops. SOKOS HOTEL ALBERT represents a genuinely new type of urban hotel with a mission to compose individual hotel experiences according to each guest's wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing