We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool experience in an historic site”
Review of Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Katajanokka
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just loved this hotel; the preserved elements from its prison history were quite neat and interestingly, there were just no leftover "bad vibes" at all in here. In fact, the layout of the next Helsinki hotel where I stayed felt much more like a prison than this did. The service was fantastic and the food in their restaurant was actually quite good, albeit a bit pricey.

The WiFi doesn't work so well in the rooms, presumably because of the super-thick prison walls, but it was working in the common areas. If you were really desperate, you could stand in the doorway of your room with your face pressed into a corner and then you could get a signal int he room, but why not just walk into the hallway at that point?

I can;t say enough good things about how much fun it was to be in this hotel and what a good vibe it had. So strange that a former prison has one of the nicest energies of many planes I've been... but somehow, the place just feels good. Go here. Love it.

Room Tip: The top floor has more interesting window layouts in the rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Katajanokka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Taxi driver from the airport warned us of the ghosts in this place as it is a former prison. It certainly retains all the look of a prison but we cannot claim any ghostly experiences. The layout and open areas are all prison like but light and open. The rooms are small as they are doubled up cells. Have been organised very well for a relatively small space, the shower and toilet are very generous. Very solid doors and walls so absolutely soundproof. Not much of a view as windows are high so lack of space is not an issue as you probably will not sit in room. Restaurant (only took breakfast) is in basement and is windowless but atmospheric. Overall a great hotel, good breakfast, nice outside terrace in courtyard catches midsummer evening sun. Right by the tram line so easy to get into the city. Uspenski Cathedral is a short walk away. Limited wifi in rooms due to thick walls, but there are plenty of seats in corridors and this is explained by the receptionist when the checkin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A very pleasant experience. Good level quality hotel in a curious contest Well equipped room, rich and tasty breakfast, nice staff, very good location in a quiet but central area of the city. Just one remark: part of the bathroom wall was made of glass causing a little lack of privacy while having the shower. Apart from this,everything was perfect and I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pally73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had a great stay at the Hotel Katajonakka. The staff was the highlight, they (esp. Rita) were helpful and full of great suggestions for ways to spend the day in Helsinki. The hotel was well located, with a quick (~10 min) walk to the city center, or alternatively the tram stopped right outside the hotel. It was an interesting setting, and they've done a great job renovating, as I would have never known from the quality of the room, that this was a former prison. My room was on the second floor and I had easy access to very fast wi-fi. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ARAK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel Katanajokka in Helsinki was a delight! Rich in history (it's an old jailhouse) but bang up to date, from walking through the front door to checkout was a positive experience. The front-counter staff were charming and helpful (I have no Finnish, but their English is perfect); the room was immaculate and cosy (jail window high up, naturally); great shower, a widescreen TV, Gideon Bible, hairdryer, minibar, crisp white sheets and marshmallowy pillows. And as for the breakfast in the old jail cellar: sumptuous is the word. If only I'd been hungrier in this Helsinki heatwave! So much on offer, to suit everyone from the ravenous American visitors and their picky kids, to older guests...fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meats and Scandinavian fish, a variety of breads, eggs, tomatoes, yoghurts, different milks, juices, teas, coffees, etc etc. I had to check out at midday after a one-night stay, but the lovely girls at reception safeguarded my heavy luggage in a locker room as I wandered the city, until I left again for the airport at 7pm. The hotel is in a terrific location: the No4 and 4T trams stop right outside, while the exhilarating Helsinki harbour is just a five-minute stroll away via picturesque old wharf buildings. Just loved it all, and hope very much to stay at Hotel Katanajokka again.

Room Tip: Any room here is going to be convenient for the sights of wondrous Helsinki, especially if you fancy...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catsdoormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights. The room was a reasonable size, although a little narrow as it needed to fit the former jail cell size with the bathroom on the side. The bathroom was smallish, with an excellent shower but was quite adequate. The reception staff were friendly and quite helpful. We had a meal in the restaurant with friends one evening and all had an excellent meal at around the average price in Helsinki. A good reasonable eating place is Vapiano [Mikonkatu 15] for pizza, salads and pasta. The major problem was the air-conditioning which was erratic and noisy. It noisily cut out about 1:30 am at night, then restarting later with a strong fan noise. The temperature room control had no effect nor was there any capacity to turn it off. Our room was too hot, but our friends room was too cold. There was a wide choice for a cold breakfast, but limited cereals and a limited hot breakfast choice.
The hotel was within easy walking distance from the tourist attractions and a #4 tram passed the hotel travelling to the Central station and beyond. A Day Pass transport ticket for 8 euro can be a good buy if you take the ferry to Suomenlinna Island [normally 5 euro return] and plan some tram or bus rides on your return to the mainland for some of the outlying tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Possibly my favourite hotel of 5 weeks travelling all around Scandinavia. The location is a bit away from the centre of town but the Number 4 tram stops directly out the front. Car parking is also available but is metered. Very comfortable queen size bed. Very comfy lounge chair to watch TV. Room also featured a writing desk, mini-bar, kettle with flavoured teas, coffee & hot chocolate, heating & cooling & wifi. The room is super quiet thanks to the old prison construction. The shower is awesome with 2 showerheads. One on a flexible hose & the other a massive showerhead the size of a dinner plate. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful - particularly Cecelia. The hotel has a lounge area with large TV & public computer with internet. The restaurant is pretty good and has a bar & some interesting history with old prison cells to visit. The hotel was happy to give me a late check-out of 2pm because I had a late flight. There are only a couple of convenience shops and restaurants near the hotel, but the city centre is only 5-10 minutes on the tram. I would highly recommend this hotel & would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
2,312 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $109 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing