We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable, well priced and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Katajanokka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Katajanokka
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well priced and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Other reviewers have covered the prison stuff, so I won't bother. Our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and the hotel is in an interesting neighbourhood about 10- minutes walk from the harbour. The price was fine also and the staff very helpful. The main complaint I would have is that the prison walls were very effective at stopping the wifi signal, so we had to use our wireless devices in the hallway. In fact, there were regularly several people in the hallway surfing the net, including one teenager who seemed to live there. Oh, and don't rent the hotel bikes unless you are used to bikes with pedal brakes and like riding heavy iron machines that are hard to manouvre. We gave up after 30 minutes and rented proper bikes from the nice store across the street.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank plightfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    475
    59
    16
    7
See reviews for
161
545
86
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Katajanokka. The hotel rooms are clean and modern even though our room could have been a little bit bigger. The breakfast buffet was decent, however, sometimes it took quite a long time for items to be replenished.
The hotel is within walking distance of most of the major sights in Helsinki.
It is an interesting experience to stay at this prison hotel and one that I can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The character of this hotel makes it an interesting place to stay in Helsinki. A former political jail, the hallways keep the feel of a jail. The restaurant is in the basement and it has an atmosphere all of its own. The breakfast buffet is a great.
The hotel location is within walking distance of the Market Square and all the attractions. Helsinki is a very walkable city.
Recommend hotel to anyone looking for an experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneMansPerspectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The quirky features of the Katajanokka leave its guests in no doubt that the building was a prison until 2007.The mid-building iron staircases could have been the set for HMP Slade, of TV's Porridge fame and the windows in our subterranean room offered views of the sky and tips of nearby rooftops. But it was spacious and comfortable (apart from hard pillows) and very peaceful. We didn't dine at the hotel but if dinner's as good as the breakfast, perhaps we should have done.
The quiet location, on.a peninsula jutting out into the main bay (unfortunately not visible from the hotel), is just a 10 minute stroll to the city, and the tram outside the gates will get you anywhere.
Charming and helpful staff, with immaculate English.
My only complaint is the lack of a lounge/bar area. (There is a pokey little area off reception called as such, but there's no bar and 4 or 5 armchairs!). The absence of a guest seating area was particularly galling when, on a lovely sunny day, guests were denied access to the garden and its bar (the only public areas) because of a private function.
a welcome folder in the room listing services, meal times, etc, wouldn't have gone amiss either. Those niggles aside we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pluses:
Good location if you like the quite places
Very attractive neighborhood
Interesting building – former prison
Efficient and helpful front desk attendants
Great breakfast
Good beds
Very clean room and bathroom
Convenient parking

Minuses:
No A/C
Very bad dinner recommendation given by front desk attendant
Bit distant from the center – about 10 minutes’ walk through very interesting and save neighborhood

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a parking space in advance Double check restaurants recommend by front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yury_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is architecturally interesting because it is an old prison with some old cells still on display. The staff continue the theme with prison type clothing and the option of tin mugs and plates if you want without out going at all overboard or being tacky.

Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is an easy walk to town.
Rooms themselves were decorated in a modern and attractive style. Breakfast was good.

Due to the thickness of the walls, which is good for noise control, there was one issue. The Wi Fi is difficult to access in rooms but there is in room cable. Unfortunately for us, the cable is only available for PC's. As my husband and I both use Macs, we had to sit in public areas for internet use which is a definite minus.
Overall though, a very good hotel and a bit different to the run of the mill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uptightoutasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel was a former prison and this theme is maintained throughout, form the decor though to the dress of the staff. Excellent service and very helpful staff. Location means that it is very quiet, but still only a 10/15 minute walk from the town centre (tram also runs right outside).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katajanokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Property: Hotel Katajanokka
Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing