We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Espresso in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freese Coffee Co - CLOSED

Freese Coffee Co
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Seating
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
“Best Espresso in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The best espresso and the closest things I have found to Melbourne-style coffee in Helslinki topped by friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uberstomping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch, excellent coffee, nicest staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Loved everything about Freese. The brunch was delicious, loved every dish which was accompanied by great coffee and super friendly service. Will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best brewed coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This cafeteria has quite a lot positive aspect. Is situated in a very nice and fancy neighbor of helsinki, elevated from the level of the sea (on a small hill).
The place is very small with few seat and a table where you can sit down and taste the big specialty of the house: brewed and espresso coffee.
We know that Finland has a long and glorious tradition in brewing coffee, and at Freese you can see you well tradition, experience and skill are put into practice. I wanted to try the brunch (15€) to eat something while tasting the coffee.
that day there was a choice between 2 freshly brewed coffee, one from mexico and one from ??? I had the mexican one. Was just delicious, nothing to share with usual coffee. Well brewed and served hot, the smell and the taste where excellent, I could clearly feel beer notes in my nose. That was incredible.
along with the coffee came a yoghurt with home made granola (very good), avocado bread with pomegranate grain on it (the bread was just perfect),
and a boiled egg with beetroot julienne. a glass of good apple juice, and as desert a little madelaine (kind of) made with almonds.
I will come back tomorrow to taste other kind of coffee. It's open only in weekends but they told me that their plan are to open in week days also. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreplastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The Barrista Champion's new treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Kalle Freese prepares you the new coffee experience, with his heart and excellent skills. The place is situated in the street named after his forefather a 17th-18th century poet. The bakery products are brought from the best bakeries in Helsinki.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freese Coffee Co also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing