We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our weekend at Hotel GLO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved our weekend at Hotel GLO”
Reviewed December 18, 2008

My wife and I like to get away for a weekend somewhere special and "Christmassy" every December. This year we chose Helsinki and Hotel Glo.

We booked a Deluxe Room and upgraded to a corner suite on arrival.

All in all we loved the hotel. Here are the best bits, in no particular order:

- The location, close to everything
- The staff, friendly and helpful.
- The room, well designed, spotless and a enjoyably quirky
- The bar, buzzy even on a winter's evening

And at the other end of the scale, there were a couple of 'could do betters':

- No dimmer switches on the lighting in the room (and there was a lot of impressive lighting)
- The breakfast, good but not special

We also used the relaxation area in the Spa that GLO shares with the Palace Kamp. It's quite small and fills up easily, but very restful, especially with a couple glasses of bubbly served by the friendly staff!

  • Liked — Carefully designed, spotless and a bit quirky
  • Disliked — Bright lighting with no dimmer switches
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    728
    154
    44
    9
See reviews for
256
773
198
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Stayed for the weekend 5-7. december. Great room (booked deluxe double), fantastic service minded reception staff that helped with every single possible question you had. Great central location and the japanese restaurant next door is also excellent (same owner as hotel).
A perfect place to stay in Helsinki. If you plan to use the hotels spa facilities advance bookings for spa treatments are recommended. Only improvment suggestion is the breakfast which can be found better at other premium hotels.
And remember Dec 6th is the Finnish national independence day, all shops are closed, not a good day for x-mas shopping...

  • Liked — Location & service
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haspelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed at the Glo in Helsinky for 3 nights. The service was excelent, everything organized, clean and neat.
My girlfriend went to Helsinky for a work meeting and I met her there for 3 days of visiting.
The city is small and as long as you don't mind walking a bit you can see it all on foot. Of course you'll get tyred, but that is where the Glo comes in. When you get there after a long day of sightseeing you find a great fluffy bed, a great, spacious bathroom, in all, a beautiful and relaxing room for you to recharge your batteries for another day of exploring. The rooms are modern and well equiped. The hotel supplies bath gel and shampoo and even bath salts that are great for a replenishing bath in a bathtub full of warm water. When you are done with that, put on the supplied robe and slippers and go rest on you wonderfull bed.
I must say the Glo was one of my favourite things in our visit to Helsinky. If we go back we will definetly stay there.

  • Liked — The room was very confortable and relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NunoMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2007.

The hotel is in the main shopping area, about a ten minute walk from the main railway station.

Check-in (and out) was all very efficient and relaxed.

Our room was very Scandinavian, lots of expensive wood, but the furnishings also meant that it was very intimate. Tea/coffee making facilities were provided, along with a fridge and mini-bar. The TV was flat-screen with a good selection of channels.

The bathroom was excellent - a nice long, deep bath, and with a great flow of water from the taps (and the shower). Various toiletries were provided.

Breakfast is a very enjoyable experience - very relaxed and un-hurried, just the way you want it when on a well-earned break. The selection and quality were great.

Leisure facilities aren't really provided here, but at a cost at the adjoining hotel.

Helsinki was quiet in the gap between Christmas and New Year, but pleasant for it. It feels a bit different to the other Scandinavian capitals, with an east-meets-west look and feel to it. I liked it, but might prefer to come back in the summer.

This hotel is not cheap (and we got about the best deal anyone seems to have got at it), but I'd be very happy to come back here.

  • Liked — Comfort of room and the breakfast experience
  • Disliked — No leisure facilities
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Hotel GLO is a great hotel right in the centre of Helsinki. It is 5 minutes walk to the Railway Station and the Esplanade.
Ask for the room that doesn'r face the main street, because it may be very noisy. The room has everything you need, but the only minus is that you cannot open the window, so there is no fresh air in the room. That was not very comfortable because the blankets are extremely warm and the room was warm, even if you turn on the conditioning system it doesn't give you any fresh air.
The breakfast is very good - you can choose from a vast variety of products - yoghurt, cereals, fish, vegetables...etc.
The stuff is very helpful and if you want to go somewhere - a museum or shop - ask them and they will tell you everything.
Also try the shiatsu massager which can be taken for free at the reception desk.
We enjoyed our stay greatly and we will definitely stay there again if we are in Helsinki (but not in summer time, because of the windows).
Nika

  • Liked — very modern
  • Disliked — you cannot open the window
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BastetNika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This really is a terrific hotel! The staff were just amazing and couldn't do enough for you, especially the Canadian barman who knows all the best restaurants to eat at! He even walked us half way there just to make sure we found it. His recommendations were not for the 'tourist' restaurants either, but the good food and good value ones.

The room was lovely with an really up to date bathroom / wetroom an amazing shower. A bath would have been nice to relax in, but I didn't mind not having one.

The bar is great and you can just sit in the window with a drink and watch the world go by. Location wise, you couldn't get better. You are right in the heart of the city in the middle of all the shops and restaurants.

The Gym is 10 Euros per day and there is no pool, but the relaxation rooms by the Gym and 3 different Sauna's are great.

Car parking is an issue as the hotel in a pedestrian area so you have to park in the underground 'Bat cave' car park. Its about 25 Euros per day but the hotel can give you a ticket to get in and out and charge it to your room.

All in all, I would defiantly recommend this hotel. Oh, if you want to have a good night out while you are there, check out Molly Malone's Irish Bar! Live bands most night and closes at 3am!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We spent 6 nights at The Glo on our way to the UK in July. The hotel is modern, stylish and spotlessly clean. The central position is perfect; 5 mins to the railway station and 5 minutes to the harbour. The upgraded room was large and very comfortable and well worth the extra. The staff were always polite and helpful. Helsinki is a clean, safe and interesting city and the harbourside market is a good place to have a good lunch that is not expensive. Opposite the hotel is the famous Fazer's Cafe. If in Helsinki again we would certainly stay at The Glo.

  • Liked — It is modern, clean and well-positioned
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Property: GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing