We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Glo Kluuvi. We were three ladies who like a triple room and some hotel bedrooms are really not triple size but our triple room in this hotel was ideal. Separate WC to shower area which is also a plus. Would defo recommend this hotel and if ever in Helsinki again will stay here without hesitation. Negative, hot breakfast not hot. But cereals, cheeses, meats, breads etc all plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mpc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice. First time on holiday in Dec 2012 then for business in Sep 2013. The room was very small the second time so it could be worth paying for some more space if you intend to actually spend any time in the hotel (or if you want the comfy robe and slippers). Breakfast is good and rooms very clean and modern. The location is spot on, you can walk anywhere from here and it is still in a quiet street! Would stay here again but next time try to avoid the small rooms as it was quite claustrophobic and my colleague had the same experience. Can also recommend the Asian restaurant a couple of doors down called YUME.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank I-love-my-holidays79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not too positive welcome from the front desk upon arrival, only upside I can say is Location.

Hotel is worn. Paint Peeling on trim in room, cabinet dislodged from the wall, sticky stains on the floor next to the bed, and stains on the pillow. See pics attached.

If that is not bad enough every morning at breakfast which featured stale cereal among the choices there were bowls with dried Food particles in them and dirty spoons after dirty spoons for eating your bland Porridge or stale cereal as mentioned before. The silver spoons are Iitalla design but no excuse when you have to go through 4 or 5 of them everday to find a clean one to stir your bland coffee. And when informing the staff they simply reply OK and take them from you and put into dishwasher.

Walking in and out on this 6 day stay I was rarely if ever greeted by the front desk staff.

the mattress on the bed was so worn that I had to sleep with head at the foot of the bed otherwise you would be sleeping at a 15 degree angle and Feeling like you falling to the head of the bed all night. The mattress was too soft and lumpy foam.

I have lived in Finland more than 10 years and now travel back often for Business. This is not acceptable for what should be a Quality Hotel. I will find another place to stay on future trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milexz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palacekamp, Guest Relations at GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear milexz_11,

Thank you for your review and your comments about our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you went through during your stay with us. To make sure all the mentioned issues will be handled correctly, your review will be taken into discussion with our managers and staff in all involved departments.

With Best Regards,
Enni Viuhkonen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to most things. It took us about 15 minutes flat walk with luggage from the Finnair bus stop or railway station and a bit further to the bus station under Kampii. Its easy walking down to the harbour as well.

Check in was fast, efficient, friendly and all our questions were answered. An offer of restaurant recommendations and also reservations should we need them as well, together with a map.

There are 3 elevators.

We were allocated room 804. The room was cosy (instead of small since this trip we also stayed at Glo Art), with a shower room and separate toilet and hand basin. There is a separate shower cubicle and a hand basin and toilet grouped together.The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. There is not much room for 2 people and their luggage.
The free wifi was fast enough for our iPad and laptop. Also a safe, iron and board is provided.
We overlooked the internal courtyard, so our room was very quiet. The window could not be opened.

On one morning we had breakfast in the area downstairs. We thought it generous, with good quality food offered. The cost was €18 per person. A fairly basic univiting breakfast room though.

This hotel represents good value for money in expensive Helsinki and is well located.

Next time, we would probably chose a bigger room as the standard rooms are too small for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Glo Kluuvi is in an excellent location for exploring central Helsinki. It's on a main street, a close ten minute walk to the railway station, but is quiet. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast was fine.

The room was a good size, especially for European hotels, with modern touches like glowing side tables, robes, heated bathroom floors and all controls from the bedside. Very clean and comfortable. There are many restaurants and shopping nearby as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and were very impressed. First of all, the hotel is very convenient to the central rail station. We took the bus from the airport to the downtown rail station and then walked to the hotel from there. Couldn't have been easier!

The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. The room was HUGE. Plenty of storage space and a great bathroom with a big walk-in shower. Really cool lighting too. Breakfast was included in our rate and was fine. My only complaint would be that they only had down pillows, which I hate. They should add foam pillows for those who prefer them.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnTinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Real value for money with modern spacious rooms, centrally located, reception and restaurant staff really helpful and friendly. Only thing I didn't enjoy was breakfast. Too many people for the small space and not enough staff on Sunday morning so tables dont get cleared fadt enough and at times not wiped down

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,247 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
782 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 66 in Helsinki
1,529 reviews
Klaus K Hotel
#17 of 66 in Helsinki
1,466 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $146 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing