We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent rooms. Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent rooms. Good location.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have checked out other hotels in Helsinki. Most of them looks old school and shabby. This one is super clean. Middle of all main attraction and shopping district. Very clean well appointed rooms and bathrooms. But, shower room is badly designed... water comes out and makes the entire bathroom wet. Decent breakfast. Nothing unusual.
Coffee freaks, check out Kaffa Roastery for some awesome java. Another reco would be kulttuurisauna, a modern minimalist sauna experience by the bay!

Room Tip: Go for room facing Kluuvikatu. Peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samyadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    738
    158
    45
    10
See reviews for
260
779
200
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location couldn't be better-right in the middle of everything. And right in front of Fazer Cafe!!
Rooms are nicely appointed, with a typical European subtleness. Breakfast is great, with all those Scandinavian touches of mixed berries, smoked salmon and Finnish bread (why oh why you can't find it in the States...)
Spa is very nice albeit pricey (25 euros for sauna/steam bath). You've got to see a real sauna while in Finland anyways... The one where you CAN pour water on the heated rocks... It's quite different from saunas in most even poshest health clubs in the States...
When we asked for a taxi from a front desk ( we did it 3 times), we have to wait for a car for a whole two and a half minutes :))...
Overall is great.

Room Tip: We had a room facing interior courtyard, so no noise mentioned in other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windofchanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great beds, soft and fluffy!
But I had a room facing the street which was a bit noisy due of the trams. Good shower but no hair conditioner.
OK breakfast.
The free WiFi was too slow and if you wanted faster internet you need to pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_hoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a larger deluxe room. Good size with separate toilet. Very refreshing Innovative design which I liked very much. Centrally located. Mostly young staff who were all polite, patient and helpful. Ate twice in their bar/bistro.. Limited menu but the food was excellent and well priced for a hotel. Spacious and well equipped gym. Noise quality in the rooms was very good. Seems to be standard in trendy hotels to provide shower gel which I dislike. I'm sure soap would have been provided had I asked but I didn't bother. I used my own. Only other issue was that for 3 of the 4 nights, half the cable channels weren't working. I did enquire at reception but the issue was not resolved. That aside, this is a great hotel which is well priced for a very expensive city. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were recommended by our Finnish friend to stay here and although only a short stay we were very pleased with the hotel. The location could not be better as it is situated in a pedestrian street closely located to cafes, bars, restaurants, shops and the city centre attractions. All this is found within maximum 15 minutes walking distance. Also possible to walk to the railway station or FinnAir coach to the airport with luggage within 15 minutes. Prior to arrival I had read some earlier reports about the staff attitude. I can only speak as we found and all the reception and bar staff we had dealings with were very friendly and helpful.
Additionally, comments had been made regarding the size of the standard rooms so took the option to upgrade for Euro 20 per night and the room we had was spacious with a good sized bathroom. The beds were very comfortable.
I was a little concerned regarding earlier comments, but from my perspective a very good hotel which I would certainly use again and if you are doing business around the city centre would also recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra Euro per night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was my second stay in Glo Kluuvi, and this time, because it was summer, I appreciated the location of this hotel very much!
Staff was polite and helpful, and they respected my special requests, like have a window that opens, and even had it open for me! Get a room with the sofa, it is much bigger! Comparing with first time I was at Glo the size of the room was doubled!
I was there on business, and working desk is convenient and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable too!
The GYM is nice, but it was quite hot in there with no airconditioning and windows closed. So I did not use it too many times which is a shame. However because of the location, running in the neighbourhood was real fun, starting in the park and going all the way to harbour.
The only thing that put me down this time was absense of those little extras that make a difference between a classy luxury hotel and a standard normal tourist 3 star hotel. And the price was not cheap at all! I was surprised that I did not have a kettle to make my evening tea anymore, and those wonderful GLO slippers were not there either! Of cause, after enquiring they supplied both for additional 5 euro each. It is not the price that upset me, it is the fact that there was no information that it was possible to have those, and yes, it felt like a bad idea. Same about those green apples they used to have in the GYM, they were like a reward for being good! Those are little disappointments, but this is what makes a difference between 5 and 4 stars in my rating.

Room Tip: Rooms with the courtyard allow to open the window. But there is a bit of a noise coming from the ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

2 day stay for a wedding, staff were friendly. Rooms were clean, contemporary and excellent shower. Breakfast was good but lack of hot items means very good and not excellent. Location was excellent and right in the heart of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayeed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,309 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
341 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Property: GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing