We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite being refurbished when we stayed, we enjoyed it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked two nights at the hotel as a break before flying to Lapland. The hotel was recommended by "Discover the World" when we asked for a hotel in a central location. We booked for bed and breakfast.

We were forewarned that there was renovation being carried out during our stay. Reception had been temporarily moved up to the restaurant/bar area but it worked really well. The staff were really helpful and offered us a free upgrade when we arrived.

The room was enormous, with a separate w/c + sink to the shower area, The shower / bath was around a wall at the foot of the bed and this was strange-looking but did allow for a massive area for depositing overnight bags and their contents.

There was a huge TV, free WIFI, robes, slippers and a hair dryer.

Our only tip for management would be to install a lit make-up mirror, since the lighting was not really adequate for that purpose.

Being in a central location, the shops and restaurants were in easy reach and there is a great choice. A 24-hour pass for public transport costs just shy of 8 euros each and we recommend taking one, since the tram system works really well and you can save sime time and effort when sightseeing by using the trams.

We used the Finnair bus to travel to and from the airport to the central railway station and walked to the hotel but used the tram to make the return visit.

There are many restuarnts serving traditional Finnish and Lappish dishes and we certainly enjoyed the two which we chose.

We didn't have time on this brief trip to visit the Fortress. For a longer stay the Helsinki card might save tome money on restaurant bills, travel and attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
There are newer reviews for GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 2,001 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of Helsinki with easy access to shopping and restaurants, within easy walking distance of Kauppatori, central trainstation and Miasma. Being at such a central location, the room was also very quiet. The rooms are great, spacious, comfy and nicely decorated with all the services and amenities you need, with excellent amenities including all the usual toiletries, robe, slippers, internet, flat-screen TV, mini-bar, etc. The service is very friendly and helpful; there’s free wifi with excellent connection.
Breakfast was outstanding in both variety and quality: fresh bread, meats, cheeses, salmon, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, great coffee and fresh juices. Hotel GLO Kluuvi is the place to be if you travel to Helsinki on both work or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Funny this hotel is called Glo, because it is a bit dark, although there were multiple lights, and switches in the room.
Pros: location, breakfast and gym was awesome. Walking distance to Stockman, Train Station, lots of shopping, Esplanade, and restaurants.
Cons: they didn't tell us there was a renovation going on, with workmen, alarms going off, construction dust everywhere. The rooms have 2 TVs, and the remote, at times, worked both of them, which kept waking my husband up when I changed channels in the living room, it would turn on the TV in the bedroom.
Overall I would have been very happy with this place if we had been informed about the construction.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, but no view. So I'd ask for an interior or exterior room based on yo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is located perfectly in the centre of Helsinki. 3 min. walk from the central railway station and surrounded by a lot of shops. We stayed in room 607 which is a deluxe room facing inwards. It was very quiet. The hotel is being renovated which means that the reception is in the bar on the 2nd floor and there is no lobby. Once done though it looked like it will be very nice reception and lobby area facing the pedestrian street.

Pros:
- location
- fast and free Internet
- nice room decor - although I tend to like carpets a bit more than wood floor. feels more cozy.
- breakfast has pretty nice variety. The scrambled eggs from the buffet could've been a bit warmer.
- friendly and helpful staff
- small but very nice equipped gym - basically only missed a lateral raise bar or pulldown machine

Cons:
- no hooks to hang clothes on and no place to put bag/suitcase
- no on-site parking - about 100 meter walk to closest parking garage
- sauna is 25 € per person per use - obscene amount

I recommend this hotel to people looking to experience central Helsinki. The renovation of the hotel does not impact my rating either way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is very good hotel in the middle of Helsinki. Hotel has very nice rooms and staff is quite good. Breakfast is ok and is included. WiFi is good and working. Hotel has also a new HD-TV system with a lot of movies to choose.

Room Tip: With a small extra take a deluxe room. They are bigger and with better view to Kluuvikatu.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This centrally located hotel in Helsinki offered a nice experience to me and my wife when we were visiting Helsinki. The hotel is fairly new a therefore the rooms were in a fairly new condition with no signs of the too often seen wear and tear. Great location, service at breakfast could have been sllightly faster though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and were disappointed to find that it was being renovated. However, the hotel are doing their best to avoid any uncecessary disruption and are doing a good job of it. The staff are also working hard to keep any mess down to an absolute minimum. In all, this did not disrupt our stay. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor and heard no noise at all.

On our previous visit we were offered a standard room but quickly upgraded to a deluxe which was lovely and immediately chose a deluxe for this visit. The room was big with the most comfortable bed, pillows and bedding. We didn't manage to get to grips with the air conditioning and whilst we had it on the absolute minimum setting, the room was still hot.

The bathroom is also huge and there is a separate toilet which we have never found in another hotel. There is an abundance of toiletries, thick dressing gowns and the softest slippers ever.
Flat screen TV with quite a few English cannels. Mini bar, desk and a corner settee.

Breakfast was substantial with a wide choice of items on offer - fruit, cheese, cereal of course tea, coffee and juice.

We adore this hotel and the staff are so very helpful however, we didn't feel we could score it a 5/5 on this occasion as the website didn't explain about the renovation, the public corridor carpets need a real good clean and our room attendant only flicked over the room. The toilet was cleaned once during our stay.

For location don't look anywhere else but do wait until the work has been completed and then you will be staying at the best hotel (we think) in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pedestrian walkway are our preferred choice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Worldglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,410 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,062 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
1,626 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $147 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing