We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel when you want a little bit more than a basic standard chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel when you want a little bit more than a basic standard chain hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We really liked this hotel and the value for the money spend seemed to be better than what was at the expensive hotel Kämp next door last time we visited Helsinki. Room was modern and the bed was so comfortable that I did not want to get up in the morning - that is a lot to say from a person who usually does not sleep well anywhere. Breakfast buffet (included to the room price) seemed little bit small in variety at first glance but the quality of the offerings were so good that we felt that this was one of the best breakfasts we have eaten in Finnish hotels. Location of the hotel is excellent - only a short walk to the harbour area, restaurants and shopping places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lealei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    740
    160
    45
    10
See reviews for
261
780
202
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed only 3 nights in Glo hotel on BB basis. Everything was perfect. The hotel is situated in the very centre of the city. The room was spacious enough (but may be not enough for 4* hotel), well furnished and nicely decorated. Only the glass door between the bath and the bedroom does not fit to my taste.
The breakfast is plentiful and tasty but not variable. The hotel is proud that all the product are bio and carefully selected.
The staff at the reception was always helpful and cooperative.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I like te location of this hotel, right in the centre of the city and close to all the restaurants and the harbour.

The room I stayed in was perfect, clean and roomy.

The bar in the lobby needs attention, there are lots of old boxes and trash behind it, but the service is good.

Overall? Clean up the bar and it would be a big improvement.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel is really nice. The location is perfect, close to shopping and attractions.
The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms and beds are very comfortable.
The price was really good as well. We reserved a few months in advance and only paid $185.00 per night which included breakfast and free internet in our room.
They even gave us a 2pm checkout as our flight left later in the evening.
The breakfast was also very nice with many food choices including egss/bacon etc.
The hotel is a short walk from the Central Train Station and I recommend that you take the Finnair Bus that leaves from the airport to the trainstation every 20 minutes. It only cost about $9.00 Can one way and takes about 25 minutes.
I have not one complaint about this hotel. I would definately stay there again.
If you are going to need a taxi, do not have a taxi called, just flag one down. If you call is seems to cost almost 3 times are much.
We also took a day trip to Tallin Estonia which was really nice. The ferry takes 2 hours from Helsinki to Tallin. Book through Tallink Ferries. We left on the 10:30am ferry and returned on the 7:30pm boat. The whole trip for 2 of us was around $220.00 CAN which included the return ferry from Helsinki to Tallin, a guided bus/walking tour and buffet dinner on the return ferry trip. The prices in Estonia are much lower then in Helsinki. Helsinki is one of the most expensive cities that I have visited. Be prepared to spend much more then expected on food, clothing and souviners etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwyrwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is a modern hotel which is located in the downtown of Helsinki if you can say so. The room was not perfectly clean, but it was ok, some dust in the corners, windows, etc. . Bathroom was large enough and clean. Breakfast was almost perfect. Sleeping conditions are absolutely TOP - if it is important for you - choose GLO Hotel. Parking is rather costly and 23 EUR/night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were pleasantly suprised by Hotel GLO. Great location (walking distance to the Train station), friendly staff and a very good rate for a huge double king room. A few weeks later we stayed at a more expensive 5 star hotel nearby and it wasn't as good as GLO.

The decor is scando-modern - a bit like being in one of those IKEA display rooms, all smooth black stones, black and white canvas murals, and square furniture, but very tastefully done.

Breakfast was superb - varied, fresh and smart - and overall its a place I would recommend and return to.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a double king
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
836 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,420 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Location is perfect and the ground floor is nicely decorated with a fancy bar. Rooms are smallish and not really ergonomic. I find it surprising that you have to pay for using the sauna in a finnish hotel: it's sort of like paying for the sun in Italy... Breakfast abundant but of pretty poor quality, wifi painfully slow. All in all, nothing spectacular...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 65 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 65 in Helsinki
1,317 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 65 in Helsinki
345 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 65 in Helsinki
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Property: GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing