We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, Helpful Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Helpful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

A very nice boutique hotel at a very good location. Short walk from the train station, easy access to the main street for shopping (Marimekko, Iittala, etc) as well as senate square and harbor area. The room is nicely decorated in modern style (like most everything in Helsinki), though it's a little on the small size (since we have a couple of big luggage) - not atypical of European hotels though. Breakfast is nice and included in the price, so is wi-fi. Staff was very nice - they make several dinner reservation calls for us and also offer a few recommendations. We had a great time in Helsinki and staying here definitely helped making the trip a perfect one!

Room Tip: We had a "courtyard" view room - not really any view to speak of, but quiet enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamwiseAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    633
    131
    35
    8
See reviews for
218
694
179
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

It is a design hotel, very modern, in the deep centre of Helsinki. The entrance is in a beautiful and busy street, and you are close to everything. Rooms are quiet and beautiful, and the standard rooms are large enaugh, but not very large. You can use the sauna and the wellness centre, and you can take a bicycle for free. I found some furniture damaged, but it is only a detail to note.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulmaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July 2011. We chose this hotel based on the location and the positive reviews we saw on here and we were very happy with it.

The location is fantastic - we easily walked to the hotel from the train station with our suitcases. It was less than a 10 minute walk, through a pleasant shopping/restaurant area. Once you are at the hotel, you are literally half a block from Esplanadi, the main shopping/restaurant/walking area in Helsinki. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the waterfront, the outdoor market, and both the Lutheran and the Orthodox cathedrals. We didn't need to take taxis or public transportation at all, since it was so easy to walk everywhere from the hotel.

Our room was very modern and stylish and everything was clean and new. Very stylish bathroom and shower. The in-room safe and the free wi-fi worked fine. They had a cool do-not-disturb system where you actually press a switch inside your room that turns on a do-not-disturb light in the hallway.

Check in and check out was quick and easy and they stored our bags for us for a few hours on our last day, after we checked out. They have a very secure system for baggage storage, which we appreciated. (A lot of hotels don't seem too concerned about keeping your bags secure.) The storage room was kept locked, even though it was located right beside the front desk and there was staff right there all the time. We were given claim tags for each bag.

The included breakfast was okay (not fantastic, but okay), but the layout was a little chaotic and not exactly relaxing. The buffet was set up on several separate tables in a small area, in such a way that there weren't really line-ups so much as crowds of people just randomly crisscrossing each other to grab things from the various buffet tables! The tables could probably be arranged in a better way so that everyone can flow in and out of the area more smoothly.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel. It is pleasant and stylish and the location is perfect. It was excellent value for the rate we paid. (The only thing holding me back from giving it 5 stars is that the breakfast was just okay and not too relaxing.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtrip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend. Superb central location - 5 minutes from railway station, the harbour and next to the Esplanaadi. Very stylish bar, restaurant and rooms. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Had a bit confusion over the Sauna (located in the Spa centre on the top floor). We were told it was free for guests but we then got an unexpected €40 added to our bill for using it when we checked out (it was removed however when we queried this). It is not cheap though - had a very pleasant stay but not pleasant enough to make me want to pay the premium to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We loved the Hotel GLO! The rooms are super-comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows and bedding were probably the most sumptuous and comfortable of any hotel I've ever stayed in. I'm not a great sleeper but I slept like a rock for the 4 nights we were there. We actually came from 2 nights at the fancier Hotel Kamp next door, which is very nice, but I somehow preferred the GLO, I guess because of that amazing bed!
Lovely spa(shared with Kamp) with 3 saunas. You can just head up there in the bathrobe from your room -- easy. And you can even sit in a lounge chair and have a beer after you've sauna-ed. They sell drinks up there. Too bad the spa costs extra, but I understand. The gym looked good, too, but I didn't go.

Nice bathroom and shower.

Great location!

Amentities: waters in room upon arrival, newspapers in lobby (get there earlyish, by 9ish before they get snatched up) odd-ball things like pillow spray (very nice) and a heated oatmeal pack they'll bring up to your room and various other things we didn't try, including "short stories". Free bikes (I think just 4, but our family of 4 easily snagged them for an afternoon). Helpful staff.

I missed the little bottles of toiletries -- they have big containers that they refill (I suppose that's greener, so OK)

The breakfast was good, not great. Coffee OK, not great. I'd book a room without and go to Fazer (across the street) for excellent breakfasts avery morning. We became Fazer nuts.

We all loved the GLO. My teen kids got a big kick out of it. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: I asked for a high floor when we arrived, just because the location is so central, I worried about n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daphneNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietari
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

the location, rooms, breakfast-everything was excellent, as expected.
of course there is always some place cheaper, or nearer to bus / train station, but this hotel probaly is the best choice in Helsinki.
definately would recommend Glo to my familly, friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meladori_Magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Truly nice hotel, centrally placed, good food, breakfast, fantastic bed to sleep in. However bit pointy edges around bed (bumped into them twice today)' fancy shower glass door that is less effective than a curtain and a highly non-practical dinner table which is too low and heavy to move - in short great place where a designer got a bit too much freedom...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK-Reiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#14 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki

Property: GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Address: Kluuvikatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Palace Kamp Hotel Glo)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important idea behind the hotel is customizing the stay at the hotel to meet the needs of each individual guest. Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi offers its guests a variety of recreational opportunities including sports, culture, dining, and health services in the hotel itself and outside its walls. The vast collection of services is something never before seen in a hotel in Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glo Helsinki
Glo Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing