We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Rantapuisto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rantapuisto
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel Rantapuisto is good hotel. It is situated in nice surrounding on the beach and surrounded by nature. From there is only 20 min drive to Helsinki and even less ( 10 min) to the biggest shopping center in nordic called Itäkeskus.

Hotel has nice, basic rooms which were also very clean. If you like to have sea view ask those from reseption. And so peacefull...nice!

Breakfast was great, all what we needed.

Staff was friendly and smily. They advise us all intresting places to see in Helsinki.

Of course if you are looking for design hotel or city noise this is not your hotel...

Hotel has also own free parking area, which we appreciate much. In Helsinki you might pay tens of euros/ night for parking... From the hotel it was easy to make day tours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TaaviFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 252 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very nice Hotel next to the beach. Beautiful and quiet surroundings, surrounded by nature. Still very near of shopping possibilities, big shopping mall called Itäkeskus only 5 minutes drive and Helsinki City center only 20 minutes drive.

Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is nice. Big flat screens at rooms and free wifi was plus to the Hotel. Hotel has also a beach Sauna right next to the beach, but tip that you have to order it before.

Hotel has also a lot of free parking place. That was great because in Helsinki it was quite expensive to park.

Service at Hotel was very friendly and helpful !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

In the interest of providing a balanced review I'll start with the good.

Two of the staff were very friendly and helpful; the room was clean, quiet and functional (and my bed had a very good mattress); the location is stunning; the conference facilities were functional; and, the evening meals were good.

The bad: apart from the two mentioned above, the staff were unfriendly, blunt, unhelpful and in desperate need in a lesson (or ten) in customer service skills. Even the restaurant staff remind me of school dinner ladies (the grumpy type). The lack of late-night service (effectively anything after 11pm) is truly amazing in a modern hotel and I simply cannot understand how the main building can lock down after this time (and very little guidance is provided on how to enter your room building through the 'after-hours' entrance). At times I began to wonder if I'd accidentally strayed into a reality TV programme trying to recreate life in a former Soviet hotel....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nice location, but rooms in disrepair, unfriendly staff and no possibility to socialise after 22:30. A broken radiator making a continuous noise took 5 complaints and 24 hours to resolve. My new room had a broken shower screen, but was at least quiet. Reception closes at 23:00, when all staff leaves and communal space is locked, with no possibility to socialise. Several staff members were rude and unhelpful, wishing good luck to trying to sleep with the noisy radiator, and threatening to call the police to kick us out of the hotel lobby. Won't be going back...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful green surrounding, with basic and functional rooms and has a rather robust charme to it.

Unfortunately, this charme fades quickly due to the behavior of the staff and the apparent lack of existence or implementation of quality procedures. For instance:
- staff orders people "You go to your room - now!" when they consider its time for curfew.
- while we waited to order, staff chats with others until it is two minutes past "ordering time" and then refuses to accept any order
- staff calls in armed security to underline her orders
All this to a group of friendly and civilised guests, who felt reminded of stays in youth hostels 30 years ago.
- when asking for the manager repeatedly, the request is refused, even upon insistence (answer: "she is sleeping and I will not wake her up. Go to your rooms!"
- after 23:00 at night, no person is reachable at all.
This was, unfortunately, one of the most remarkable hotel stays I ever experienced.
It is a pity, because the location deserves better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Observer9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Customer service here is completely unacceptable. A group of about 15 of us were keen to watch the first World Cup match on the TV in the common reception area at 11pm. We were told that this was not possible. Guests were not allowed in the common areas after 11pm. We had to leave and would need to stay in our rooms until the following morning. The hotel's policy is apparently to set the alarms in the common areas at 11pm, and leave the guests in an unattended hotel. We were threatened with "financial penalties" because the security services would be called automatically. Given the special event of the evening, we asked if we could negotiate an extension with the Manager. We were told by the receptionist on duty that the manager was asleep and could not be disturbed until the following morning. She then called the security services, who treated us like the East German Stasi! This was unbelievable. In the end, the 10 of us had to resort to a resident's room to watch the match. I hate to think what the impact was on the guests in neighbouring rooms.

More worrying, what sort of hotel leaves its guests so vulnerable at night? If any one of us had forgotten our key code, who would have let us in (given that the manager was not to be disturbed in the small hours)? This is a Best Western hotel, an independently owned hotel where customer service can be ideosyncratic - either good or bad. My advice is to avoid this one at all costs. The customer clearly doesn't come first here. There are plenty of other hotels in Helsinki. In this one, you are confined to your room after 11pm - not the way this reviewer expects to be treated.

Room Tip: Walls between rooms are thin and noise travels easily between them. Better to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardLi0nHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Old, 60-ties style hotel. Unfriendly approach at reception. No food or drinks available after 22.30 ... Suggestion of the reception: go to the vendung machine. Which was broken, not working by the way. Will never ever come here again, what a joke.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
634 reviews
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#47 of 66 in Helsinki
31 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#33 of 66 in Helsinki
345 reviews
Ava Hotel
#45 of 66 in Helsinki
165 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 66 in Helsinki
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rantapuisto

Address: Furuborginkatu 3, Helsinki 00980, Finland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rantapuisto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing