We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country setting”
Review of Hotel Rantapuisto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rantapuisto
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here as part of a conference. The rooms were nice, and the conference facilities perfect for our group (just under 200). The food was also excellent. My only disappointment was trying to fit in a sauna. There are two here; the one by the sea is difficult to schedule, and I could never find the alternative one. I would suggest to the management that they make available a usable map of the facilities, and label clearly the two saunas, the gym (which I never was able to find), and the walking trails. Despite not being able to take full advantage of their amenities, if you are looking for a quiet spot in the countryside, then this place might be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queezle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a convention Hotel location in a very nice suburb of Helsinki, away from the city center but with reasonably good connections (metro station is 5-10 minutes walk from the Hotel). The choice of restaurants close to the Hotel is relatively limited.

The Hotel is surrounded by nice pine trees forest, 20 meters from the waterfront. In fact, most rooms have a splendid view of the water. The whole location is remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

The Hotel features a small beachfront and a paddling center that rents kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Paddling in the archipelago waters is a great experience that I strongly recommend.

Overall the Hotel has a typical vintage Nordic decoration, with lots if Alvar Aalto vintage furniture and a very nice architecture. There are several signs of aging and slight decadence, but personally I love this type of ambiance and joyfully tolerate this aging.

Rooms are large, with great views and reasonably equipped. There is free Internet (WiFi and wired) of good quality. Sleep quality was great.

Check-in and checkout were fast, efficient and friendly. The breakfast was OK.

On the bad side:
- staying in a convention Hotel, with lots of empty meeting rooms may be awkward for some.
- breakfast quality was acceptable but bellow average.

For a weekend between meetings this was a great place to stay, but for business this may be too far from the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for an Hotel with view to the waterfront (most of the rooms have it, anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking for the quite place in the nature but near the big city, this could be a place for you in case you close your nose for the smell (like in the hospital). Hotel is located in an old and long time ago renovated building. It seems that this place is built in the 70ties last century. Clean but you still see that old think even cleaned look worn out.
Otherwise - the sea and forest air is wonderful.
The breakfast was good.
Conclusion - typical old style 3* hotel that is well kept.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in several buildings. In building 5 there is no air conditioning. It could be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlzeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I spent 2 days there for a business meeting. Clean, quiet, excellent food!!!
I walked around a bit in my free time: everything is green, very nice... in the middle of no-where (no people, no cars, just few houses but no lights or people around)! Perfect if you want to relax and have some sauna (amazing! it's just by the sea, so ideally you can jump into the water when your body is too warm, and then run into the sauna again - before to freeze).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Its not close to the city center but that was counter balanced by the very nice view from our room on the Baltic sea (100 meter distance to shore, room was in house VI).
Also, the breakfast buffet was very good and plenty. All rooms have cable based internet.
What should be improved: some WI-FI repeaters would be good - wouldnt cost much.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyMan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a 3 day workshop. The hotel was built in the 60's for a bank training campus, so it is not a new hotel!

Rooms are basic, but very comfortable, clean and warm, and I got one of the best ever nights sleep whilst there.

My room wasn't serviced during the day and I'm not sure why.

Food is good and faculties are great for a conference.

Surroundings are very pretty and I'm sure there is lots to do in the woods and on the sea, when the snow disappears and the ice melts!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dear All, I woukd like to say a lot of thanks you for this site, honestly, I have chosen the right hotel and booked it for 10 minutes. Before that, I was looking for a suitable option on other sites, but found nothing. Your site really helped me, because I tried to found something a litle bit late - before 2 days till my trip to Finland, nevertheless I have found that I need. Since I first armored something via the internet and also paid in the first, I was a little scary. After booking I immediately called to the hotelf and checked whether the room booked in my name or not. Hotel employee kindly informed this information. Once more, thank YOU.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Daria_Helsinki526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
639 reviews
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#47 of 66 in Helsinki
32 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#33 of 66 in Helsinki
349 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,074 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rantapuisto

Address: Furuborginkatu 3, Helsinki 00980, Finland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $91 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rantapuisto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing