We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Does the job in the woods by the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Does the job in the woods by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Overall feel of this hotel, on the semi rural outskirts of Helsinki, is more of a scandinavian conference centre venue than a cosy hotel. Its low level and not unpleasing to view with lots of wood in the structure. Its spread out over a wide area so I had a bit of a walk to my room (both indoor and outdoor routes).My single room brought back memories of university accomodation - bit sparse but all the basics: clean, warm enough, tidy, with en-suite. Lovely location in woodland and only 50 metres from the sea. Stayed there for one night before a week of kayaking fron Natura Viva canoeing centre next door to the hotel. Limited evening meal menu but enough choice for me and not too expensive. Decent continental buffet menu with lots of usual choices and the local touch with a variety of herring options! Its 600 metres to a metro station so, if you use the metro to arrive/depart you will probably need a taxi from the station to the hotel, but thats not expensive. The metro runs very regularly into Helsinki city centre: its only a 20 minute journey and not expensive at all. There is a sauna on site but I didn't try it. Overall a good value option if you are not looking for fancy frills.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    71
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
68
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We booked Rantapuisto through Hotwire so we paid about half the standard rate.

We spent one night here and are so glad we chose somewhere outside of the city. The bus from Rastila station which brings you right to the hotel was not running the day we were there so we settled for the one which drops you just at the turn for Ramsinniementie.

There was heavy snowfall at the time so dragging our cases with us proved quite the struggle, despite it only being a 5 minute (or so) walk to the hotel gates.

The location is stunning. Our room was a standard double and we shared a bed which was slightly small. There was a bathroom ensuite with a shower. One minor quibble: our hairdryer wasn't working and the internet is not free. There is a tv in the room.

Everything was very clean. The hotel is split into a few buildings which gives it a kind of summer camp feel, as the buildings look like cabins.

The breakfast was very nice and varied. Breads, cereals, juices, cheeses, hams and hot food. The staff at reception were very helpful with directions.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but would perhaps enjoy it more if we had a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WannabeBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel has a very quite location on the lakeshore surrounded by a nice forest with a great mushroom smell n Autumn. 15 min by car from Helsinki city. Nice budget place to relax from city hustle and bustle. You can reserve sauna which is right on the shore. Budget rooms are very small and nothing special.The property is mostly used for conferences and teambuildings. Breakfast was fine, but for dinner you'd better go somewhere else. Of cause, free parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
423 reviews
298 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Last time I spend 1 night only and it was cold winter, few people only - this time it was 2 nights, summer in the city and full with other guests on trainings and conferences.

The rooms are decent simple, a bit worn but everythings works - not much to highlight but even the single rooms have ca. 1,2m wide beds and you can open the window (in summer you can fell asleep with the sound of the sea). Bathroom is big but shows its age (not dirty but just old)

Atmosphere in the huge complex in a beautiful park next to the beach is typical Finnish: it might be from the 70ies but it's in good shape and well maintened. many windows to let the light inside (in summer), breakfast was one of the best ever in Finland and the 3 Saunas and Sea access (beach) are a big plus (Sauna#3 with beach access to be booked and charged, others for free).

I booked via tour operators at amazingly 60 EUR/night with bf for a single room - great value for a great experience - yes urban - not really in Helsinki (ca. 30min drive, taxi easily 40-50 EUR oneway) - however recommended if you have a car or just want to relax close to Helsinki for low money!

Free Wifi only in the public area - in the rooms cable connection which is charged!

Room Tip: all single rooms (1,2m bed) are on the outer complex, double rooms are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The room was very small but cozy enough. The reception was very friendly and helpful. You might have to walk a bit inside the hotel to get to your room. The restaurant has a nice contemporary feel and view overlooks the woods and the lake which is very nice. Breakfast was sumptuous and fresh.
I must admit, i did not know that this hotel is meant for stay in conferences. Great facility for Conferences and meetings.
The location is very scenic and peaceful but too far from helsinki city centre. We travelled at the time of midnight sun, days were longer so we could walk from Rastila Metro station which is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel. It takes another 20 mins by metro to reach the city centre. Other than the hotel there is nothing nearby. I would not recommend to travellers on sight seeing tour.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

say "Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy", now say it three times fast:) the hotel is excellent, price is a bit on the steep side for a college student though, stayed for one night only, highly recommended, if you can afford it

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostHolyChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S-Petersburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Always stayed in this hotel when we are in Helsinki.
It is very convenient for traveling by car.
Located in a quiet green area on the shore
Staying at this hotel is soothing, especially if you have to go to the sauna or stroll through the dark alleys of the park around the hotel and go in the evening on the bay
Cosy rooms with complimentary Wireless internet.
Also, happy friendly staff and great breakfast

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qreall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Ava Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#30 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel Kapyla
#46 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Kulttuurikeskus Sofia
#47 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto
Address: Ramsinniementie 16, Helsinki 00980 , Finland (Formerly Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoushotelli Rantapuisto Oy Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing