We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I were there at the beginning of November this year. I've got to say it was the cheapest place for 2 people of all autumn season.
Now pros and cons of staying there. Positives outweigh negatives totally. So they are :
1. Convenient apartments where kitchen, small living room (with TV) and bedroom are combined into one pretty big room.
2. There is a kettle, an oven, a fridge and a coffee machine in the kitchen. The kitchen also has a set of plates, cups etc.
3. The living room has a dinner table, a TV set and a couple of armchairs.
4. There are two night stands on the each side of a double bed.
By the way there are enough plugs, so you can recharge all you devices.
5. There is a set of towels for a bathroom, that has a toilet and a shower. There are also some showers gels for visitors.
6. Finally, there is a sauna on the ground floor, which you can book by calling the administrator.

Now let's talk about negatives.

1. There is no filters for the coffee machine.
2. There is only one shop - Kmarket, which is expensive a bit.
3. If you have a double bed, you will have two little blankets for each person instead of a big one.

As for the transport, there is a tram stop near the hotel. (The tram number 4).
As a result, I'd advise this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aleksandr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 433 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Although I can take Tram 4 or 4T to Hellsten Senate Hotel, instead I decide to take about a twenty minute walk from the city center.

I have booked a single room for the night but at check in I am upgraded to an apartment that is so large “I can play baseball in it”. My bathroom even has a sauna in it. Nice.

The staff here is friendly and helpful although the office stays open only until 5pm.

This property is in a nice quiet neighborhood with easy access to all of Helsinki's attractions with a tram stop less than a quarter mile away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're staying in Helsinki you'll need public transport, the tram is up the street, about 40 metres. These apartments have a part time reception crew but are well organised for out of hour arrivals and departures (they send an access code ahead of time, all electronic doors etc). Nice Art Deco inside and toasty warm rooms, living, dining and full kitchen if you want to cook and free laundry facilities available. Walking distance to convenience store, some restaurants and tram line. We had a room with a balcony and our own sauna, great fun!

Room Tip: Request a balcony and/or a sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 292fiona292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice (clean and peaceful) apartment and suitable for family staying near the city of Helsinki. Very good value for price. There were some cups and plates in the kitchen, but no sugar, salt etc...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Jukka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I did not have high expectations of this apartment hotel but I was pleasantly surprised.

I had a very spacious one bedroom apartment, large living area with kitchenette in the corner and dining area. In the bedroom there was a nice double bed and two sturdy looking foldaway beds neatly stored in the corner.

All windows had good curtains (a must in the summertime Finland) and I even had a small balcony, which was lovely.

There is a shop just down the road where you can go and stock up on all lovely Finnish food, you will have everything you can think of back in the hotel to store and cook whatever you buy.

I only wish I'd stayed for longer time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank FITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location just minutes from the city center. Wi-fi is included, has a microwave, full size refrigerator, stove top and dishes/pots/etc. Includes the use of laundry services and a private sauna. Would absolutely stay in this location in the future. Best hotel of the 5 we stayed in within Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reijo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

"+":
-not far from city center & ferry
-free wifi
-room has a small kitchen

"-":
None

Looks like not Hotel, but apart-hotel. Hotel has no receiption on weekends, have to call to check in.

Nothing more to add. At all. 200 char are too many.

Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,507 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
639 reviews
Anna Hotel
#30 of 66 in Helsinki
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#25 of 66 in Helsinki
2,074 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,232 reviews
Hotel Haaga Central Park
#33 of 66 in Helsinki
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing