We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Handy location next to the tram line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Handy location next to the tram line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're staying in Helsinki you'll need public transport, the tram is up the street, about 40 metres. These apartments have a part time reception crew but are well organised for out of hour arrivals and departures (they send an access code ahead of time, all electronic doors etc). Nice Art Deco inside and toasty warm rooms, living, dining and full kitchen if you want to cook and free laundry facilities available. Walking distance to convenience store, some restaurants and tram line. We had a room with a balcony and our own sauna, great fun!

Room Tip: Request a balcony and/or a sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 292fiona292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    129
    46
    26
    7
See reviews for
70
99
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice (clean and peaceful) apartment and suitable for family staying near the city of Helsinki. Very good value for price. There were some cups and plates in the kitchen, but no sugar, salt etc...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jukka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I did not have high expectations of this apartment hotel but I was pleasantly surprised.

I had a very spacious one bedroom apartment, large living area with kitchenette in the corner and dining area. In the bedroom there was a nice double bed and two sturdy looking foldaway beds neatly stored in the corner.

All windows had good curtains (a must in the summertime Finland) and I even had a small balcony, which was lovely.

There is a shop just down the road where you can go and stock up on all lovely Finnish food, you will have everything you can think of back in the hotel to store and cook whatever you buy.

I only wish I'd stayed for longer time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank FITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location just minutes from the city center. Wi-fi is included, has a microwave, full size refrigerator, stove top and dishes/pots/etc. Includes the use of laundry services and a private sauna. Would absolutely stay in this location in the future. Best hotel of the 5 we stayed in within Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reijo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

"+":
-not far from city center & ferry
-free wifi
-room has a small kitchen

"-":
None

Looks like not Hotel, but apart-hotel. Hotel has no receiption on weekends, have to call to check in.

Nothing more to add. At all. 200 char are too many.

Helpful?
Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ylivieska, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a family room and it was a way more than we expected. The apartment was really spacious, I guess about 70 m2 or 750 ft2. We called to the hotel before we arrived and asked for sauna or balcony and they said that they do what they can but they couldn't promise for sure. And when we arrived we realized that they had listened our wishes and we had sauna AND balcony at the city center!!! Room had a cosy furniture with oak parquet, very good beds for 5 persons + sofa, functional kitchen with coffee machine, crockery and dishwasher. We payed extra for a car park at the basement. Overall the hotel was worth each and every penny. Good service when we called to the hotel. No staff (at least not at night time), but easy to check in using the door code and following the instructions by phone at the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for sauna and balcony ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruinneach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights, along with other friends. We booked two units that included a bathroom and a private sauna. The bedrooms are spacious and quiet. The quality of sleep is very good. Very clean, although the towels are not changed daily.
Near the hotel you can take a tram into the city center within a few minutes, very convenient. In short, a very attractive value for money spent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francescog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Anna Hotel
#34 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#39 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Property: Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing