We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little self catering studio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little self catering studio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice little studio in what looks like a residential apartment block. No reception but you need to pick your key up from a self-service reception. No major hassle. Great location in Katajanokka, close and convenient to the tram stop. Very clean and spacious room. Good amenities in the kitchenette. Little balcony. Big bathroom! Only negatives: old fashioned telly and poor internet connection. Would stay here again though if the price is right.

Room Tip: Great choice it you are travelling with small children as fully equipped kitchen, sauna facilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    139
    52
    31
    9
See reviews for
79
109
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The apartments are located in the center of Helsinki near the port. The bus stop is 30 mt. from the front door of the hotel (bus n. 4-4T). Our apartment was composed of one big lounge with 2 beds, sofas, TV and a desk; a bedroom with 2 beds that could be unified, one small kitchen equipped with dishes, cutlery, glasses and some pots (a minimum kit but all necessary was there), iron, iron board, fridge and microwave; a bathroom with shower.
The hotel provided also some amenities (shampoo and shower gel).
The hotel has no front desk therefore you need to follow carefully the instructions given, that were very clear.
A plus is also the laundry in the building where you can find 2 washing machine and 2 dryers. You need just to buy the powder.
The supermaked is 50 mt. from the front door and is open till 9 pm.
The furniture of the apartment was nice and comfortable.
Some suggestion for improvement: provide wireless free internet connection and have an hairdrier in the apartment.
I highly reccomend this location especially for family with kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja_Ge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I are fairly new at staying in apartments so approached this one very cautiously due to no reception.

I was very impressed on recieving a detailed email on how to get to the hotel aswell as accessing the room an hotel.

Location is in walking distance from the city centre. You can also jump on the 4/4T tram which stops 30m from the front door.

Overall the room was very comfortable, no oven however and only a microwave. There were no mugs only tea cups (for those who like a mug of hot chocolate).

I was a bit disappointed with the hot plates as the number were worn clean off and had no idea if it was on or off - slight saftey concern.

Also, there is no wireless only a network cable. For me this was not an issue as the internet was lightning fast.

In conclusion, I highly recommend this apartment - affordable and comfortable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

As stated by most other guests, the check in system needs to be made easier. We stayed for 9 days for my son's wedding. Thank goodness he and his fiancé had arrived a few days earlier, as we would have had a hard time finding out how to get our key. The booking agency's directions were very unclear. There is a code and then you can access your key. We were pleasantly surprised with the spacious apartment we had, living room, study, nice size bedroom and large bath with a sauna. You are provided with only ONE set of towels. The shower only had three sides which of course meant water poured over the entire bathroom. We were fortunate to have a cleaning cart parked in the hallway and helped ourself to a stack of towels or we would not have had any dry ones. Back to the key issue....after the 3rd day, a maid and manager knocked on our door telling us we had the wrong room. Apparently the person renting before us didn't put the key in the correct spot. How would we know as there is not reception area, it is help your self. As we were there for a wedding, with many social gatherings to attend, there was no way to pack up on short notice and move to another apartment and in the other building. It was their error and we refused to move. Each day, they came with the same request but we stood our ground. The point I would like to stress.... the idea of leaving a code and a key in a box is not a reliable way to handle travelers arriving at odd hours and with no way to communicate. It would be very easy to arrive to find no key, no one to help and no place to go. Our stay was good . The apartment nice...sparse but nice. The bed was just OK without a blanket and very thin sheets. For quick meals, the kitchenette had enough utensils for a quick meal. The location is very good..close to the tram and walking distance to the City Center. In the blocks around the building, there are several markets..you need to sometimes bring your own bags, however. Since there is no on site manager, any questions or directions must be made to another guest or shop owner. I cannot compare this particular apartment rental to any other as it was the only one we have had experience with. If you do choose to stay here...be aware of the check in situation, lack of towels, and no standards for each apartment...some are better than others. For a long stay and the price, this was adequate.

Room Tip: Check and recheck your conformation and make sure you have all the information needed. Ask where ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is located in a picturesque area. Apartments are equipped by all necessary for comfort living: dishwasher, iron, kettle, coffee-machine, etc. The spacious room, there are dressing room and private sauna. Nearby there are food market, marina, tram stop. Very quiet and tranquil place, in spite of the center of the city. Reception in its traditional form doesn't exist. To learn number of the room and a code from an entrance door, it is necessary to call the manager.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wind41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I had a quick two-night visit to Helsinki in mid-October, and found this hotel via a prepaid internet booking service. We arrived and departed via Silja Line ferry, which made the location of this hotel pretty convenient for us. It would be even more convenient for Viking Line travelers. The hotel is situated on the little island just east of main Helsinki (Katajanokka island, I think) and is both walking distance to downtown and very close to the number 4 tram. There is a small grocery store a couple of blocks away.

Other reviewers have noted the arrival process so I won't really go into much detail, except to note that we arrived at the hotel without any access codes because the e-mail with the codes had been sent after we departed for our trip. Getting into the hotel and leaving our luggage wasn't really much trouble, however; a maintenance worker let us into the "lobby" area and I was able to call the other hotel's receptionist on the phone we found by the key safes. It all worked out OK.

Our room was described as a two-person studio, and that's about right. There was a pretty large living/sleeping area with a kitchenette area, and a separate bathroom. Sort of shabby furniture and quite basic kitchen items, but they worked well enough for us. The bathroom was fine and was pretty clean. The room had high ceilings which made it feel spacious. We were in the "A" building. There was a sauna on the ground floor but we didn't use it during our stay.

The bed was the real problem with this room. It was a queen-sized platform holding a box spring-like thing and a 3cm mattress/pad on top of that. Unfortunately the construction of the platform and the box spring thing made the bed basically a big U -- we rolled into the middle of the bed and into each other. Very bad news for sleeping. We ended up moving around the furniture in the room (good thing it was a big room) and putting the pad on the floor, which made it sort of like camping but was still 100% better than the bed.

The building this hotel occupies is like an old apartment building, with a great big staircase, heavy doors, and high ceilings. It has great "bones" but feels shabby and in disrepair. If the Hellsten people would renovate this building and especially update the rooms, they could probably charge 25%-50% more per room and it would still be a very good deal. As it stands now, sorry to say, you're probably better off ponying up the extra cash and staying somewhere else.

There is a very good Nepalese restaurant -- called "Everest" if memory serves -- about a block northeast of this hotel. Definitely worth the walk to eat there. Very good food and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabulousdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#24 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
#26 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Senate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Senate

Property: Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Address: Kauppiaankatu 5, Helsinki 00160, Finland (Formerly StayAt Helsinki Senate)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Senate 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Senate is located in Katajanokka, one of the most exclusive districts in the heart of Helsinki. It is a promontory surrounded by water, just a stone's throw from the city centre and its attractions. Katajanokka is separated from the mainland by a channel, but it is possible to reach the city area by four bridges. Katajanokka is also the place where ferries from Stockholm and Tallin dock. Helsinki-Vantaa airport is just a 30 minute drive away. All of the major amenities, including shops, cafes, restaurants and cinemas are within walking distance from Hellsten Senate. The hotel has 52 designed one and two bedroom apartments each with a kitchenette, telephone, satellite TV and free internet access. Some of the apartments have their own sauna. A common sauna can be used as well as common laundry facilities. This old renovated building from 1915 has self contained rooms and apartments ranging in sizes from 28 to 160 square meters penthouse suite. All apartments are equipped with kitchenettes for cooking your own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Senate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Senate Hotel Helsinki
Accome Senate Helsinki
Accome Senate Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing