We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chic AND Cheerful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
1 review
“Chic AND Cheerful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

Having just returned from a long weekend at the Klaus K hotel in Helsinki, I can vouch (as a seasoned traveller) that this place is in a class of its own. As soon as you walk into the ever so stylish reception, to be greeted with a big grin from the staff, you know this is a special place. Exceptional rooms (Envy Suite) decked out in modern, yet homey Scandinavian style, the entire hotel has managed to combine original design, with an inviting and unpretentious atmosphere. There was a nice mix of guests and both nights we ate inside the hotel (there are three small restaurants) and had phenomenal dinners, Finnish food the first night and Italian the second. Not forgetting to mention the freshest breakfasts and best selection of breads I've ever tasted! We wiled away Saturday afternoon in the hotel sauna (fired up specially for the two of us!) and spent the rest of the weekend wandering the pretty streets, admiring art nouveau architecture, fabulous cafes, taking in museums, a boat trip, ice skating and spending money in some of the funkiest interiors shops we'd ever seen (Ittalla/Marimekko etc). All this recommended by the ultra helpful Klaus K staff, armed with a never ending 'things to do' list and eager to share their enthusiasm for their city. For a city break, this hotel is hard to beat! We'll be going back.

  • Liked — staff and stylish interior
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lily39London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    473
    137
    43
    14
See reviews for
78
417
113
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

Had a couple from Germany visiting Finland and we wanted to show them a fun side of Helsinki. Booked two rooms at Klaus K for a Friday night in December. We had a normal size room which was very cool. They had a much bigger room which was just awesome. The hotel reminded me a little bit of Hudson in New York.
Started our afternoon at the Toscanini restaurant and enjoyed a Tuscan style Xmas lunch there. The food was great as well as the service. We had dinner somewhere else but we returned to Ahjo bar around 1 a.m. Luckily we were guests at the hotel because the line to get in was about an hour. Danced the night away and had a hard time waking up the next morning. The bed was very comfortable. Luckily breakfast was served until 11:30 a.m.

  • Liked — Contemporary design
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

I am a regular visitor to Klaus K on my business trips to Helsinki. A nice design hotel with an excellent location in the very center of the city. The staff is very helpful and you get service with a smile. The breakfast is fairly limited but of very good quality (the freshly baked bread is a highlight, particularly if you are an early bird). The standard rooms are pretty small so you might want to request something a bit larger if you intend to spend a bit more time indoors.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jjjkStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Eventhough we live in Helsinki, our family takes occasional minibreak in Klaus K. We spend the day shopping around downtown and usually have dinner at the either of the hotels restaurants and stay overnight.

The amtosphere is alway welcoming and the staff makes you feel like valued customer.

Rooms (specially the bed) are very nice, even in the smalest category.

  • Liked — The personal and unique feel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

Klaus K is a perfect getaway even for us, who live in Helsinki. Stayed there with wife after a friend's wedding party and loved it all the way. Great service, nice rooms and one of the best breakfast buffet's in Helsinki.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — The toilette sink (too shallow)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NoseWheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

This is our third visit to the Klaus K and without a doubt the best.
A very polite young gentleman came scurrying out of the hotel in the cold November evening weather the moment our taxi pulled up outside the door and helped us with our luggage.

Very friendly and super efficient lady at reception dealt with checking us in.There was a problem with the reservation but she took control in a very calm manner and sorted this out for us.

The hotel seems to have raised its standards since our last visit the rooms are cleaned to a very high standard ( this was our only main issue on our last visit ).

The breakfast remains superb and is a lavish affair of fruit breads fish meats and plenty more.

Superb location.Recommended.

  • Liked — The staff and their superb service and politeness
  • Disliked — Being picky here but the small bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bob1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

We were staying at Envy Plus -room with my wife. I had been there a really long ago when the hotel was ordinary chain hotel Klaus Kurki. The change has been tremendous.

Everything is renovated and the staff is all new. The best part of the hotel is its restaurants and especially the breakfast.

There are different sizes of rooms, be aware that smallest rooms are really tiny. Envy plus room is roomy, there's nice decor and comfy bed. The hotel has it's own entertainment system, so there's movies and music to choose. Movies are bit expensive but the music selection was free. A nive way to check out new albums.

Our room was on the street side at it caused a little noise. There goes three tram lines at Bulevardi, which are convenient ways to explore the city, but it also causes noise. Tram goes from dawn 'til midnight. There's also a taxi stop next the hotel main door and especially at fri and sat nigths there's a drunken crowds time to time when nearby restaurants are getting closed.

Klaus K is excellent hotel. I suggest, that while booking, check out the size of the room and not book the smaller ones. I also suggest that you book your room on the other side of the building than street side.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing