We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Trendy hotel with small rooms but fantastic breakfast porridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel with small rooms but fantastic breakfast porridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in Klaus K hotel on a business trip. However, my family also stayed with me in the room for 2 nights. Couple of things I really liked about this hotel:

+ Location: Perfect location on Bulevardi means that you are very close to shopping and all the nice restaurant and bars Helsinki has on offer.
+ Design: The details in the room based on themes. Good quality bed, enough bath amenities, fresh looking bathroom.
+ Ahjo bar and Toscanini restaurant. I was easily able to convince my friends to come and say hi without a need for me to leave the hotel.
+ Breakfast: Even though the selection is not as wide as in most 5 star hotels, all the products were high quality and delicious. Try their porridge, it’s fantastic. We actually used to come for breakfast to this hotel when we lived in Helsinki.

And couple of things I disliked:
- Smallest hotel room I have been to (and I upgraded to bigger from single room…I wonder how small that would have been). Definitely not meant for families.
- Room service fee of 10 euros when you order from the Toscanini restaurant. This is ridiculous.

Would I stay again in Klaus K? I might, although for a small extra amount of money I can stay in Haven with much bigger rooms but if I found a good offer for the bigger rooms in Klaus K, then yes. I also wish I had had time to try the Helsinki Day Spa which is nicely located in the same building. I highly recommend this hotel for young minded people who like nice design and who want to be near bars and restaurants (and who do not mind if the room is small).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saga_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dar saga F, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Klaus K! You took a lot of time to write a review and I appreciate that. I hope you'll choose Klaus K on your next return trip to Helsinki. Take care, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    445
    128
    41
    14
See reviews for
72
399
106
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Contrary to some of the other reviews this is the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in! Comparable to NYC. I think we stayed in Envy Plus. The room was really great, comfortable bed, amazing shower, big tv, gorgeous windows, robes, sofas, mini bar etc. Great design feel to it.

There was a great array of delights at breakfast, sweet, savory, continental, traditional. Just about whatever you wanted. We also tried the Italian restaurant inside which was delicious. Make sure you book in advance to secure a good table - we had problems with how "intimate" we were with the couples of either side and asked to move. The food and interior is lovely though but by no means cheap. The bar is also very lively at the weekend and was great fun.

We went around Christmas time so the reception area was beautifully decorated and had these cinnamon candles that smelled so good I had to go and buy one! Lots of lovely touches and well thought out design. A very cool hotel with an excellent central location. Would recommend to anyone.

We only spent 3 nights in Helskini which was not long enough to explore the exciting city, but was quite long enough for our bank balance!

Room Tip: Choose a "plus" room if you are concerned about the size of the room - ours did not disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Helen Gapper, it is so nice to read how you picked up on so many details! We strive to present many fun and exciting things for our guests. I hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When in Helsinki I always stay at the Klaus K. Cool design, nice Italian restaurant and nice rooms. Drop the smallest rooms as they are..well small, but book a bigger room and enjoy. Great location centrally in Helsinki and with some nice restaurants and shops within short walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard rooms as they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrineTOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear CatherineTOslo, thank you for the kind comments in your review. My team will be thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Klaus K. I look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The breakfast is fantastic! :) I would stay there just to eat a nice breakfast. It is not overwhelmingly large, but very inviting just a little bit of everything you want at a Scandinavian breakfast. The finnish barley porridge is a great classic served up in the classic Iittala Sarpaneva cast iron pot.

Th hotel is a harmonious blend of hip design and coziness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Indiehop, thank you for making the time to write your review. I appreciate the fact that you picked up on the details at breakfast. We take a great deal of pride on what is served, and how it is served, at our breakfast. Welcome back! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel definately has good location in the city. The wedding service which we took part a guests was just perfect.

Hotel corridors remind a narrow maze. The corridor floor is never really a flat level but rather tilted to some direction. These two things together make you feel like you are on a rocking boat or drunk even when you haven't had a drink.

Hotel rooms are quite too small and cramped for my pleasure, but it's old building carrying the past sins on her back. It is a listed building for National Board of Antiquities so major renewal overhaul would not have been acceptable.

Still good value for the money, so enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deadpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear deadpixel, thank you for your review. You have certainly touched on some very important points. We have a listed building which is around 100 years old. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself and I look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is very good located in the city center. The staff at the front office is very friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar is very cosy designed and the staff is attentive. The standard rooms are very small and if you travel with a partner they are very small and you have problems to place you luggage or have to climb over them on the way to the bathroom. So better book a larger room. The design of the rooms is very innovative and well equipped. You sleep good in the bed. The breakfast was ok and also the restaurant ( Italian). In the same building are two more very nice restaurants.

Room Tip: If you travel with a partner do not book the standard room ( mini ) Take a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank udo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear udo h, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Helsinki. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Cool design but I prefer rest well in a most confortable bed. No enough space at the room for laptop work. The TV was in a wrong location. Bar & Restaurant quite expensive in terms of the quality that they offer. Impossible to understand their spa policies

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dar martin G, I am sorry to read that you did not like the size of the room. We try our best to explain this information on our website. I hope that your will reconsider staying with us in the future. We have many different room styles to choose from. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing