We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came here to celebrate our anniversary, and it was the perfect hotel for that. Our room was upgraded to a suite, without asking and without any extra costs. What a pleasant surprise!

The hotel and the service was excellent, but the breakfast wasn't anything special. If you have any special dietary needs, you don't have too many options to go with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    442
    127
    41
    13
See reviews for
72
395
105
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Klaus K is worth staying in, not only for its location (right at the center), but also for its services - and the breakfast, which is really, really good.

However, as Ahjo, the rather cozy nightclub, is located in the same building, I'd put my money on the rooms on the floor 3 and up. If you're taking the Bulevardi (street) side, the lower rooms might pick some tram noises, but luckily the tram is out of service at nights. Personally, I've stayed four times there, each time took the Envy plus room facing Bulevardi and I've found nothing to complain about.

A side note: they also have "Art Rooms", each decorated by a local hotshot designer, but wasn't able to peek in any of the rooms. I was told they've got a movie theatre room (really, a true cinema with 5.1 Genelec stuff thrown in) and a few more. Interesting stuff. The rooms have Samsung TV sets and can take HDMI input. Usually hotel TV sets are dodgy, but during each stay these have functioned perfectly.

Klaus K's breakfast, location, the stylish interior and clean + cozy rooms mean a lot to me - and on top of that, each staff member seems to be a sort of a concierge when it comes to interesting information. I was planning to visit their gym again, but I caught a flu the day before my stay, so I used the Spa instead. Not a bad move, that. I gave four stars to "sleep quality", but it was probably due to my damn flu. No noises at night, this was amongst the quietest rooms I've ever stayed in.

Oh, by the way. Try the cucumber gin tonic at Ahjo. Wow. Just remember to ask Hendricks if they ask which brand you prefer. That + cucumber = yum.

Room Tip: Choose "Envy" or "Envy plus", 4th or 5th floor - if you're really careful ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P3tr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Klaus K is said to be the first Design Hotel in Finland, I hope not the only one. The rooms have different theman, so you can variate yourself if you come more often. It is all the small details that makes you fell like in designers heaven. The breakfast is said to be the best in Finland and that makes your expectation very high. The breakfast is different but not my best in my category. I missed some basic stuff I longed for being in a hotel. The reception looks like a bar in a disco and the sign is a little bit confusing is it upstairs or downstairs and the receptionists seem to be friendly but either very tired and having low energy in the end of the season. The personal cleaning the rooms, restaurant personal and other personel I met in the corridors match perfectly the inspirational creative lovely atmosphere of this hotel and gives a smile and the little extra added value by really seeing you as a customer/guest. Surprisingly so much better than the ones in front desk/ reception.

Room Tip: Choose the room by your mood is cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel for location is perfect for ease of acess to mostly everything.....stay here on business so a brief walk gets me to the shops after a work day. Rooms are great but do tend to be on small side however once I figured out which rooms to ask for, a larger space was realised. Have to ask when booking for larger, on higher floors and if facing courtyard there are no views but more space is preferred. Staff always excellent and super helpful with raxci service, even in the snow blizzards!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berenice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I must say I have to echo some of the points GeertC2 says regarding the rooms.We found ours perfectly acceptable.It was clean comfortable and warm.
The hotel has not changed much since our last visit however the fantastic location remains the same.Located on Bulevardi basically a short stroll to anywhere within the city.Be it the fantastic design district or the bus and rail stations.
The breakfasts here remain a real favourite of mine in Helsinki.A great choice of fish, meats ,cereal , yoghurts , pastries and cakes. I have it on good authority from my wife that the porridge was particularly good.
The staff are warm and welcoming and we were always greeted as we walked past reception.
We stayed here just before Christmas and tentatively booked in at the restaurant to have American Christmas buffet. I say tentatively because we know of so many other great places to eat within the city.Anyway we need not have worried.We both throughly enjoyed what we had.
As the title says no problems for us and we shall return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great value hotel right in the centre of Helsinki , we had a meal in the restaurant which was quite nice and reasonably priced but i think you would find better near by . The room was a little on the small side but well equiped with a really comfortable bed and an excellent shower . over all i was really satisfied with our stay .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesc511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a tricky one to review - it is a great place and I would agree with much of what people have positively written, but my stay was somewhat ruined by being on the first floor over the weekend, when the bass line from the bar reverberated through the pillow until almost 0400 for three morning's in a row. The rooms are beautifully done, the common areas the same and the front desk staff are terrific. Breakfast also brilliant and a great start to the day. But just that nagging irritation on noise levels. I would come back though - though would insist on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Anything below the third floor will be noisy Thursday, Friday or Saturday
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing