We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Designer Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klaus K Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Klaus K Hotel
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Designer Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I had a day in Finland between flights and found this treasure of a boutique hotel. This is an older hotel with some history that is now a family-run boutique hotel. If you like Finnish (Scandinavian) design this place is for you. The owners kept some of the nice architectural details of the building, but transformed it into an amazing funky luxury space. It is hip, but comfortable. The location is close to the main station, and is also on the same street as a nice (but quiet) tram line with connections to the entire city. I wish I could find more hotels with such creative independent quality and spirit. The front desk gave good advice and was always helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, including elements from various parts of Finland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewFromHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Drew from Honolulu, thank you very much for an encouraging review! It is going to be great to share this with my team. I hope we can welcome you back some day in the future! All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    473
    138
    43
    15
See reviews for
78
418
113
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

this was our second stay at klaus k (our first stay was a few years ago). this trip was considerably longer; we stayed two weeks. the location is excellent, basically right in the center, near the major shopping, esplanade, harbor, etc.
while we enjoyed our stay the second time around, we did notice that the hotel has skimped on some things- first of all the toiletries are not as comprehensive as they used to be ( i miss the birch mouthwash!), nor the breakfasts as exciting. during our first stay, there was more variation at breakfasts, so you had something slightly different daily. the breakfast was still very good though, and i really like how they focus on special ingredients from finland, like seabuckthorn berry juice. i especially love the barley oatmeal.
otherwise our room was nice and modern looking like in the previous stay. the bed was comfortable. i felt that the bathroom grout could have been kept in better condition, as there were signs of mold and mildew starting- not what i would expect from a klaus k caliber hotel. also, the bathroom sink was a little silly- the spout was really short making it slightly difficult to wash your hands, but having stayed at another modern hotel in helsinki before, i've discovered that there tends to be this kind of "design" flaw, and in the end, isn't really a big deal. the room came with bathrobes and slippers again, which was nice.
overall, still a really good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Twopeasonepod, I am very happy to hear that you came back to enjoy an experience at Klaus K! I am very sorry you found the housekeeping problems and I assure you that I am working on those diligently. I recognize the importance and I appreciate your attention to details. And thank you for pointing out that we are a very good hotel in this public setting. My contact info is below and I hope that you may reach out to me if you return to Helsinki and choose to stay with us. marc.skvorc@klauskhotel.com and +358409003711. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

this boutique/design hotel is where i always stay in helsinki.
i've stayed here around 20 times and it's consistently left me satisfied.

it's clean. staff are friendly. it's well situated in the city.

avoid staying in the single room unless you're a tiny person or you miss the twin beds of university dorm life.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Pauli30, thank you for the kind comments about my hotel! I truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and observations. If you are in Helsinki again, I hope you will choose Klaus K. If you have any other comments or questions about Klaus K, please contact me: marc.skvorc@klauskhotel.com. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Klaus K is modern and little enough to serve a peaceful environment with desing. Location is perfect for most of Helsinki design shops and for Stockmann. You can also reach many parks, cafes and restaurants, clubs etc. by walking. And hotels restaurants are good for most of us, breakfast buffet is famous with a reason - selection of buffet may be in a middle level, but the quality is really the best of Finland!
Room was clean, stylish and the bed was heavenly soft and air-condition worked well. One little error was room's door, it should be thicker I think...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

The staff is professional and very very helpful. The breakfast is outstanding. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridge2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Bridge2U, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about my hotel. If I can ever be of further assistance when you travel to Helsinki please contact me directly: marc.skvorc@klauskhotel.com or +358409003711. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Everything was so perfect. First of all — lobby. Beautifully designed with fresh art and true design approach. Nice staff gave us a room we wanted to get and keep our smile for a few days. Room (Passion version) is really nice — spacious with fancy, wooden furnitures, flat TV, comfort bed and well equipped bathroom (big shower rain; malin+goetz cosmetics !!!) and safe. Rooms are equipped with bathrobe which is so useful.

Going the lobby you can buy some designers magazines and — of course — newspapers (I'm not sure they are free or not) and read it in amazingly designed restaurant.

Breakfast was just superb! I might complain on coffee a little bit BUT the food was delicious (fresh cheeses, fruits, meats, breads, home-made jams and honey).

Hotel provides free umbrellas for a bad weather and bikes to feel free and ride the city around!

All in all that's what we called "design hotel". The 4* hotel. Excellent location, service, well equipped minibar and outstanding quality. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelife, Owner at Klaus K Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear borczynski, I appreciate your comments and the time you took to point out many details that I have carefully selected to present my guests. I am working on alternatives for morning coffee...normally we serve various coffee drinks like latte, etc but only one brewed coffee made in Finland. I will be adding another coffee in the upcoming weeks so as to offer an alternative brewed coffee. We offer more than one type of tea so why not one more type of coffee? If you ahve any questions or comments please contact me directly: marc.skvorc@klauskhotel.com or +358409003711. All the best, Marc Skvorc, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Really great location right in the heart of Helsinki. Has a great bar which was perfect for a post work drink. Didn't try the Toscanini restaurant but it looked nice. Everything very easy, streamlined, relaxed which is perhaps typical of our experience in Finland! Lovely buffet breakfast. If I had one small gripe it was that the rooms (and bathrooms in particular) were not large. Fine for just me, but it would have been more of a squeeze if travelling as a couple.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misselaneyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klaus K Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klaus K Hotel

Property: Klaus K Hotel
Address: Bulevardi 2-4, Helsinki 00120, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Klaus K Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 171 rooms including 30 Skylofts (of which 3 suites), 3 art rooms are provided with state-of-the-art equipment ranging from custom made beds and mattresses to laptop size safe to oversized robe and towels to LED television to free wireless high speed internet. Room categories playfully range from Mystical to Passion to Desire to Envy, all describing the emotions that are depicted from the mythical Finnish literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Klaus K Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaus k Helsinki
Hotel Klaus k

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing