We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quality Hotel - Better Location Than You Might Think!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Quality Hotel - Better Location Than You Might Think!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with a friend on a leisure trip to Helsinki. The primary reason for selecting this hotel was that I had some Priority Card points and there was an offer available from Holiday Inn. I have to confess, knowing that the hotel was in the western commercial area of the city (rather than the historic centre) I was anxious that we would be spending all our time travelling in and out to the centre. I need not have been concerned....

The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk to a metro station (probably about 3-400 yards). Once there, it is two stops and just 3 mins to the central station which is right in the heart of things and brilliantly positioned for everything you might want to do as a tourist. We got the metro about 8 times during our stay and never waited more than 60 seconds for a train!!!

The hotel itself is modern and spotlessly clean. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant and the buffet breakfast were also excellent with plenty of variety. The public space is essentially a lobby which runs through to a small bar/lounge area and then on to the restaurant - all in one large open plan space. Apart from the saunas (one male one female) a small business area with PCs and a smoking room, I was not aware of any other public spaces, so if you are looking for a choice of bars, a gym or a pool, this may not be the hotel for you.

The room sizes were also distinctly on the small size, though very nicely furnished and extremely well equipped (based on 'executive rooms'). My only criticisms of the rooms were the lack of carpet (wood floors with rugs - attractive but cold under foot) and the bedding which was essentially two single duvets on a king size bed and large square pillows which can be strange if you are used to rectangular pillows. Of course, all of these are small points and down to personal preference.

As we had travelled from England, we did find the food and particularly the alcohol prices very high. That said, the hotel prices were very much in line with the restaurants and bars in the city centre. We came to the conclusion that food and drink is just expensive in Finland.

In summary, we were very pleased with our hotel choice and would definitely choose this hotel again if staying in Helsinki. Great food, super friendly service, well equipped rooms and attractive modern decor all made this hotel an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    230
    92
    17
    10
See reviews for
44
110
52
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Close enough to our office, this is a suitable location, elegantly appointed, but lacking carpets made it a 2nd to a nearby alternative :(
A larger lobby would not go amiss - checkouts in the morning make for awkwardness and confusion.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

I have stayed twice in this hotel - on March2008 and on July2008.
If I wrote a review after my first stay I would rate it with 4 stars, but after the second stay I would like to give it 3 stars only.
What I liked was the room - average sized; nice colours: beige, green, brown (pictures to be found on hotels web site based on my experience are true); iron; TV; coffee maker, tea maker; hairdryer; internet access.
On my first stay I stayed in a double room and there was a bathrobe (for 1 person only although there were two of us), but on the second stay I had a twin room and there was no bathrobe at all. Other persons were staying in double rooms and they did have bathrobes so possibly this is somehow connected with a room type (?)... Both times I had booked a standard room.
Check-in and check-out was very smooth at both times.
Breakfast: perfect on the first stay, but a bit disappointing on the second - tables were not cleaned quick enough, while people were looking for a seat some tables remained uncleaned for a longer time; items were not replaced quick enough, one had to go twice to get everything he/she needed.
Location: not in the city center, but not too far from it as well. About 100-150m from the hotel there is a subway station Ruoholahti. To walk to the city center it takes about 25-30 min. I have done this several times, no problem at all, but I just love walking :) You can also use tram or bus, I think closest stops are about 100-150 m from the hotel.
If one arrives from Tallinn or Stockholm by "Tallink" (with "Eckero Line" from Tallinn only) ferries, this is on of the nearest hotels. Takes about 15 min. to walk.
Hotel does have a payable car parking, but it is possible to find some places around the hotel to leave the car free of charge (unguarded, of course).
I would not hesitate to stay here again, that is for sure, but there are some more hotels in Helsinki that I would like to try :)

  • Liked — Price, room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ivijunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

We went to Helsinki as part of a family visit to several cities on the Baltic sea. I used Priceline name your own price and got a great rate on two rooms. The hotel itself is lovely. Clean, modern, friendly staff, very comfortable beds. European style beds -- two twin beds next to each other or one double bed in each room. They do not have rooms with two double beds (which Holiday Inn in the USA would have). Modern bathrooms. Free internet for my laptop. The problem we encountered was that we had rooms facing the back -- which overlooks a highway -- not a nice view at all -- and the highway street lights came into the rooms. This might not bother some people but it meant we had to close the curtains all the way -- which meant no light in the morning. Not terrible, just annoying. The other issue for us -- we were tourists and this hotel is in the business district - it was a bit out of the way. We mastered the mass transit system quickly, and there is a stop near the hotel -- but it did mean we could not easily come back to the room in the middle of the day.

  • Liked — lovely hotel
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meprg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Stayed at this hotel on a leisure trip after staying in the Helsinki Crowne Plaza a couple of days before. If you can get a good deal at the Crowne Plaza then I suggest you go there instead.

The hotel is located in the middle of the business district and not too far from downtown. The rooms are quite small although reasonably equipped. The minbar has a lock on it you need to get from reception.

There is also quite a well equipped gym and 'his and hers' saunas.

A major downside, however, is the fact the bar and room service stop at 11pm, so no late nightcaps or food from here I'm afraid. Not even a coffee.

Although the hotel is tidy I would prefer to stay elsewhere on my next trip to Helsinki.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Poor late night service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JayPDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Got a great deal on the Holiday Inn Helsink West. Arrived late and checked in by cheerful staff. Rooms were very modern and the hotel had a fresh and pleasant feel to it. Good flat screen TV in the room, comfy beds, good sized bathroom (but no bath). Only issue with it was the aircon / heating - didn't seem to respond to being turned up / off so was baking hot overnight. Best thing here are the staff - very helpful and efficient if a little wayward in their English abilities at times!

  • Liked — Smart, modern hotel and great staff
  • Disliked — Slightly in the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and called and made reservations and went out of their way to research locations for us.

The room was very nice and clean- one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. The sauna was also very nice and there is even a poster on the wall explaining how the Finns use the sauna.

The hotel is only a block away from the subway station and downtown is only one or two stops away. There is also a supermarket and some stores across the street.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caterina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti
Address: Sulhasenkuja 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Helsinki West hotel is located in the fast growing business district of Ruoholahti, only few minutes away from the Helsinki city center and only 30 minutes drive from Helsinki Airport. Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti is a high-standard business and leisure hotel offering 256 well equipped rooms. All our rooms are equipped with free highspeed internet (ADSL) and WiFi access, safety deposit box, hospitality tray and ironing equipment. Our hotel offers Executive Rooms on the 9th floor with nice view over Helsinki, the capital of Finland. In Executive rooms there is a free high speed internet and WiFi and also selected items from minibar are free of charge. Restaurant Fokka, located on the ground floor, serves a wide range of Finnish and International cuisine. You can finish the evening with a glass of wine in our cozy lobby bar. 24-hour Business Centre with complimentary internet connection is available for our guest. Hotel guests can also enjoy free fitness facilities and Finnish Sauna! Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti hotel is only a few minutes away from the Tallin cruise ships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki West-Ruoholahti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City West Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing