We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for Tallink ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location for Tallink ferry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. its about a 20min walk to city center but perfectly located if you plan on catching a ferry to Tallin (it is only a 10min walk to the ferry terminal). Room was a bit noisy but clean. Staff was very accomodating. Breakfast good, nothing special about it. all in all a good stay. We recommend it for travellers who want to catch a ferry to Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    754
    399
    112
    44
See reviews for
301
498
156
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

The room had a nice view to the sea, however it was smaller than I expected from other Radisson hotels. The climate in the room at night was not optimal. The rooms was not cleaned very well, in the shower I found several hairs of previous customers. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with many choices, and good and fresh.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I booked this 4 night city break through Radisson directly and got a very reasonable rate (including breakfast) for €85/night – not bad for a city as expensive as Helsinki!

* Location

Ok, it’s not the French Riviera – the views are of the dock and busy port area - but what would you expect in the Finnish Capital?

Helsinki City Centre isn’t huge and the hotel isn’t out in the sticks by any means, but you certainly notice it’s much more residential, sandwiched between the historical city centre and the newer glass fronted business district and apartment blocks of Ruoholahti (including the Research Centre of a certain Finnish mobile phone company!).

The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the main Centre (Stockmann Department Store, Rautatieasema (Railway Station) where the Finnair bus drops you off).

Tram #6 is probably the most convenient direct way to get here. We took the metro (Ruoholahti, currently the terminus), but you do have to walk back on yourself, 5 minutes or so. If you have any more than a couple of bags, I’d take a taxi.

The hotel is a brisk 10 minute walk to the terminal for the Tallinn ferry - Tallinn is worth the day trip for sure!

Also note that there are road works currently taking place outside the hotel, and according to a sign in the hotel lifts, it’s not due for completion until 2011!

* Check In

Check in was quick and simple, the receptionist friendly and professional.

* Rooms

The standard room, both large and clean, had a simple Scandic-esque design and was decorated in neutral colours. The bed was comfortable enough – not the best I’ve slept in, but by no means the worst. The bed frame with built in light box was a pleasing feature, as was the bay window and views of the dock area. The safe, minibar, and tea/coffee making facilities were welcome additions.

There was no controllable air con, and although my stay was the end of August, the nights were muggy!

The shower room was a pretty standard affair – toilet and sink with a large walk in shower at the end. The shower room would always have a mini-flood from second hand held shower attachment at the sink.

* Dining

As others have commented, the hotel provides a massive buffet breakfast – great start to the day. There is a note in the lift saying you should try to come to eat earlier to avoid disappointment! It was also bustling; some days were busier than others, but always a number of tour groups eating at the same time. We didn’t have a problem finding a table.

There’s a great Italian restaurant onsite with delicious pizza and pasta. Service was very slow – they seemed to be understaffed – but apart from that it was a very enjoyable meal.

* Check Out

Just as friendly, professional and quick as check in – pay and go!

***

All in all a comfortable stay, and good value for the price paid. Just bear in mind that *all* the doors here seem to open outwards!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

One of the worst places ive stayed in. Seaside is a stretch...it's by the dock and there's lots of construction going on. (the hotel does apologise for this though).

The hotel is very very tired. Rooms in need of upgrade and lobby is old.

Walk to town is a good 20mins. There is a tram outside the hotel though which takes you into town for 2.5 Euro each way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We are stayed for two nights at the Seaside Hotel. After staying and visiting Beijing, staying in this hotel and Helsinki was paradise. The rooms were comfortable - probably not enough bedding for a larger family but with two small kids was fine. We ended up getting an extra bed at 18E per night and putting one kids on the couch. The location is fine - it was 15 minute walk from the train station or a 5 minute tram ride which starts running at 6am in morning. There is a food market (S-Market) about 5 mins away for picnic supplies for a day out on Suomenlinna Island (highly recommended). The front desk was professional and spoke beautiful english. The highlight of the hotel was the breakfast buffet with a great choice of food and drinks - the kids were in heaven.
We recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Just returned from a couple of weeks in Finland, at a conference first and then with a couple of days to spare to hang around Helsinki and go over to Tallinn.

I was travelling with a work colleague and sharing rooms to save money. Interesting process...

We had booked from another Radisson, in Vaasa, and got a good deal for 76 Euros for the first 2 nights and 146 Euros for the Sunday night - all up just on 300 Euros for 3 nights, which worked out at less than $AUD100 each per night, including the hugest breakfast you've ever seen, plus free wireless internet. By European standards, I consider this excellent value. We had a room with 2 beds, a large bathroom with 2 showers, one over a separate bath, another room with toilet and handbasin etc., a very large living space, big TV, two hanging spaces, a desk, etc., all beautifully appointed in modern Scandinavian style, blonde wood with lovely light fittings. But best of all, we had our own private balcony, looking out over the western side of the city. Not a special view, but the space was really appreciated (specially for drying the undies!!!).

A couple of less favourable comments: the outward opening doors really are a hazard! Despite having a few days in Vaasa to get used to this (apparently Finnish) habit, I was nearly smacked in the face several times, in all sorts of different places. A trap for new players.

The other thing is the heat. There doesn't appear to be any controllable airconditioning in these Radisson hotels, just what gets pumped through the vents. IN Vaasa we had a heated towel rail in the bathroom, despite it being late summer with average daytime temperatures of about 16C. The railm was so hot you'd burn your hand hanging up your towel. In Helsinki the bathroom floor was heated, so if we left the door open the main room heated up as well. With the already high temps in the rooms, this became a bit of a problem. Also, Radisson have 'invested' in some space-age bedding which retains body heat and makes sleeping really uncomfortable. No doubt it's appreciated in winter, but as two Aussies pretty accustomed to really hot weather in our home town, Adelaide, we found it almost unbearable to have to sleep on hot sweaty mattresses with doors and windows open, and still not be able to cool down. Also the pillows are a joke! They tout them as the best quality down and feather, but in fact they're so slight and fluffy you'd have to put towels or a telephone directory under them to make them useable. I always take my pillow with me, so it wasn't a problem for me, but my colleague had a miserable time, battling with pillows about the consistency of a box of tissues.

However, all this aside, quite minor quibbles really, this Radisson was really very good value, the room was superb and beautifully fitted out, the breakfast was a real gift (lots of bacon butties for the train and/or ferry later in the day!). I love European breakfast (herrings, smoked salmon, cheese, salami, etc.) and I could graze for hours over the Radisson breakfast. Coffee was ghastly, but that's true throughout Finland, you just get used to it!
The location is excellent, close to the centre of town, just maybe a 10 minute walk, close to the port for ferries to Tallinn or other major destinations, quiet and safe. There's a supermarket right round the corner with a bottle shop where you can buy a good selection of Australian wine at only about double what you'd pay at home - good value compared to buying wine in the hotel (about $AUD10 a glass for the house wine!).

All up, I would really recommend this hotel, and suggest that people ask directly for deals - we were originally quoted 130 Euros a night and gt it for half that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Some people have worried about the distance from the centre of town, seriously it's a 10 minute walk or a 5 minute tram ride from right outside the hotel.
You are in a peaceful dockland district, quiet and safe, with an outdoor market round the corner every morning to buy those nick-nacks and souvenirs at a bargain price.
The hotel is very professional, well-organised, nice rooms (none with a stupendous view, though the top floor ones have a balcony), good breakfast buffet, free business centre.
It is used by tour groups but they don't get in the way too much!
Do consider this, we always use TripAdvisor to choose our hotels and we chose this one!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamcreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#35 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#27 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing