We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 Stars...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not 4 Stars...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Location is fine Overall, however I Experten more. Breakfast was really good, we even got gluten free bread.Room small, old fashioned. No really nice details, felt a bit like a bunker. Felt like in a simpler Hotel. Sauna ok. Staff friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sungreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear user Sungreed,

Thank you for your stay and your feedback.
I´m sorry to hear that you wasn´t pleased for you room. Next time please try our Superior or Business Class rooms, those are much bigger.
I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and our service, that is important to us.
I hope that we will see you again!

Best Regards

Janica Stykki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    753
    399
    112
    44
See reviews for
301
496
156
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice place to stay, very clean and quiet.
The breakfast was excellent large variety. 20 min walk from the city center, but you can enjoy great neo-classical architecture on the way to there. Very close to one of the main ports, convenient for someone like me who needed to take the ferry to Tallinn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakedoncheNizSvetot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear user MakedoncheNizSvetot,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your nice feedback. I´m so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you had nice time in Helsinki. I hope that we will see you soon again in our hotel!

Best Regards

Janica Stykki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Depending on the time of checking in you could be very quick or have to wait for 15+ mins. The staff were fantastically helpful. Some of our group were heading to Talinn for a few days and were allowed to leave some luggage at no cost in the hotel lock room.
The rooms were good depending on which size of room you got. Some got very large and some got small ones. The rooms in the older side of the hotel had halls which had an unusual smell.
The selection for the breakfast was unbelievable with a something for everybody, cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, hot foods including sausages, bacon, beans, etc.
Getting around is very convenient with the main street being a simple 10 min walk. There is also a tram stop across the road from the hotel which will bring you into the city center. A short 2 or 3 minute walk will bring you to another tram stop which services the other part of the city and many of the big sights including, the rock church, one of the main monuments, the Olympic park and the amusement park.
A great service the hotel provides is free bicycles from the hotel for three hours which make most of the main attractions easily accessible.

Room Tip: The newer part of the the hotel are much larger then the older part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Than k you very much for your review of our hotel. It is always a pleasure to see how uor guests have enjoyed their stay in our hotel.
Super breakfast is just how it is called "Super", rooms we do have all different sizes from the standard rooms to very large Family, Superior and Business Class rooms.
If a guest wants to see more of Helsinki by local trams, our location is superb, three tram lines passing by the hotel.

Best regards
Pekka Aroketo
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubbekøbing, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had one night at the hotel and am very impressed. Impressed by the staff, the room, the service and not least the breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when in Helsinki. It's central with just 10 minutes' walk to the main shopping street, where you find all the brands including Finish designs like iittala and Marimekko.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boch_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Boch_48,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I hope to see you again at Radisson Blu Seaside when your travels bring you back to Helsinki.

Best regards,

Maria Ranta-Ruona
Service manager
Radisson Blu Seaside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were at this hotel for 5 nights.
Although it is a 20 minute walk to downtown, the trolley stop is right across the street. If you are coming from the train station, trolley # 6 stops right across the street...# 9 about 1 block away. Fare is 2.80 Euros if you buy your ticket from the driver---2.20 if you use the machine. The machine is easy to use....on the bottom, look for the English flag and punch that button for English. It takes coins and bills and gives change. The bus from the airport arrives at the train station. This city is very easy to get around in.
Our room was on the 3rd floor. The very dirty carpet in the hall gives an immediate bad impression. The room---we chose an inside one looking at a bare courtyard after reading about heat issues on this site--was adequate in size, clean and cool. It had a small fridge. Bed was comfortable. Instant coffee and tea. On our second day, our room was still not made up by 2:30PM but a call to the desk brought an immediate response from house keeping. I guess they work on the rooms until almost 4PM---too late as far as I'm concerned.
I had read so many good reviews about the breakfast here...we were anticipating a feast but found the offerings only adequate. There are lots of dishes and bowls offered but many of them are crackers, odd bread, dishes of lettuce, radishes that have seen better days...etc. The best thing is smoked salmon and quality cold cuts...other than that it's the usual covered steam tables with scrambled eggs, beans, tomatoes, potatoes. The staff has a terrible time keeping dishes and bowls filled....they wait till the container is empty. A good example would be the basket of bread at the toaster that was empty one morning for 20 minutes despite repeated requests from diners.
The breakfast room is a study in beige and badly in need of some decorating. Everything is beige. It's a dismal atmosphere and even the employees seem to sense this lack of anything vibrant. A decorator could make this room into a thing of beauty for a small investment...then start on the lobby.
Reception can be helpful...if there is enough of them to handle the customers. This doesn't happen often. On two different occasions I waited over 10 minutes to buy a stamp before I gave up and walked away peeved.
There are no restaurants close by other than the one onsite that I did not try after reading the reviews on this site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your valuable response concerning your stay in out hotel.
We will take concern your feedback concening the issue of our Super Brekfast.. Naturally we will and have to fill all containers as soon as possible to make the breakfast table inviting for our gueasts.
I fell very sorry for you had to wait such a long time to be served at the front desk. Sometimes we do have quite a busy time at the reception, but the main issue is to serve our guests as well as we can and even more.
I wish you did enjoy your stay in Helsinki and hope to see you again in our hotel!
Pekka Aroketo
Service Manager
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Queensland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had to wait 30 minutes in the queue to ask the receptionist where to park. He and his one helper were a bit overwhelmed on a busy Sunday morning check out - seemed to be some computer issues as well. Also, he basically told me that as the room wasn't ready I couldn't book in at that time - lucky we had a car and we could leave our luggage in it till we returned later. It's a bit of a walk to the city so we only did it once and then took a taxi, The room was nice enough with a view to the water. Didn't notice any lack of air-conditioning but maybe the weather was cooler when we were there. Breakfast buffet (included) was more than adequate. Hardly luxurious but good enough value and position.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Merlouis

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you had to wait so long to get information about the parking. During the holiday season mornings can be rather hectic, and we regret this inconvenience. Checking in starts at 3 pm but the hotel does its best to provide rooms earlier if possible. We have complimentary luggage storage for our guests in case they arrive early and the room is not available.

Downtown is approximately 15 minutes walk from the hotel, but there is a tram 6 stop just in front of the hotel entrance.

However we hope your overall experience was nice and hope to see you in the future as our guest.

Best regards,

Elina Hokkanen
Service Manager
Radisson Blu Seaside, Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

On my recent business trip to Helsinki I chose Radisson Blue Seaside for my overnight stay. Pictures on the website looked nice but the experience was something totally different. Hotel was extremely crowdy, families with children occupying every single corner of the hotel. Breakfast was a loudy mess with children running all over the place. I was not very impressed with the reception staffs helpfullness either. The room was not clean enough for Radisson standards or at least much below what I have found in other Helsinki locations. On top of everything my room was very hot and there was no air-conditioning in sight. I can not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepti0n, Service Manager at Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jason B,

Thank You for your valuable feedback regarding your stay in our hotel.

It is true that during holiday season, we do have more families in our hotel than usual. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. Unfortunately we do not have private air conditioning in our rooms and I am sorry, it was too hot. Next time we can provide an extra fan to the room, if needed.

We will use your feedback to improve our operations, so next time, we can meet your expectations or even ecxeed them.

We hope to see you again here with us and I also want to use the opportunity to wish you a great summer.

Best Regards

Jani Liljavirta
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
Radisson Blu Aleksanteri
#35 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#19 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#27 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing