We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large comfy room, a little far from city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“large comfy room, a little far from city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had been on a tour through the Nordic counties. I have to say this hotel has been the nicest in our tour.

The decor of the room is modern done in cheerful yellow & red walls and blonde furniture. It's a step up from the other hotels. The room is pretty large - plenty of space around the bed. The furnishings are definitely upscale & befit a 4-5 star hotel. Everything feels pretty new. The beds are comfortable with down comforters. There's a safe in the room but ours didn't work. There's a large combination dresser & desk unit (spacious) with plenty of electrical outlets.There's free wifi & it's fast. Flat panel TV, coffee maker, iron & iron board are all in the room. There's a hair-dryer hidden in the dresser. There's 2 nice sitting chairs by the window.

The bathroom is done is pinkish white tile. It's good sized as well. The counter top is in white composite material. There's a nice towel warmer. They use the all-in-one body wash in containers bolted to the wall.

The location is so-so. Though it advertizes itself as "seaside", it's actually on a small inlet so there's not much view. The ferry to Talliin leaves from this inlet. There are a few ships docked in front though. It's about a 10 minute walk to city center - pretty easy walk. There's also a tram stop just outside the hotel.

The hotel is larger than it seems from the outside/lobby. We had to walk a long way from the elevators to our room.

We ate in the Italian restaurant Viola - it was OK, nothing spectacular.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    703
    369
    104
    43
See reviews for
289
460
146
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
267 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel turned out to be very nice in nearly every way. For starters, it is literally a 7-minute walk from the Tallink ferry terminal—although because they are currently working on the road a taxi is a better option. The rooms are great. They include very comfortable beds and heated floors in the bathrooms. The Internet actually works as it should (an incredible rarity in hotels, it seems) and I found the front desk staff to be very helpful. It is a 10- to 15-minute walk to the city’s downtown area from the hotel, but you can cut that time in half by taking the trolley which stops literally at the hotel’s front door. The hotel isn’t cheap (typical of Finland). And beware: There is a 10 euro charge for every room service order over and above the food prices, which include things like an 18-euro club sandwich and 16.50-euro hamburger. Laundry is similarly outrageously expensive. Otherwise, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Breakfast was ok, room was ok, bathroom was ok, location was great and the price was great. Stayed there for only one night. But the air inside the room was awful. You could not have the window open because of all of the traffic outside. Hopefully it was just some problem with the air venting and they will fix it. Also they gave us a map over the trams wich was dated 1.1.2009, and they were wrong and this was august 2011....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empTeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

we are a family of four and we stayed here for two nights in July. Lovely spacious rooms, very clean and modern. Very nice bathrooms. Rooms were connecting so that was very convenient.
Breakfast was really wonderful. great variety and quantity.
Only negative was a dinner we had to have at the hotel as we arrived very late the first night and could not run out and look for a restaurant. Pricey and not very good. Would not worry about this though-in general, this hotel is lovely and was a great value.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was very impressed by the Radisson Blu Seaside! Usually we stay with family in Helsinki but needed a hotel for a few days while there on this trip and selected this hotel on price and location and both turned out to right on the mark. Both I and family travel extensively in Europe and North America on business and pleasure – this was for pleasure and visiting relitives.
We had my teenage daughter with us so wanted some type of suite that would allow for privacy - since many European hotels tend to have small rooms this can be tricky. In this case we got the Nobel Suite and it was perfect, with French doors that separated the main bedroom from the living area where, for a small fee, we had an extra bed brought in. The other added plus was that there was a sauna and 2 showers in the room. My only comment regarding the sauna is from a Finnish standpoint the sauna oven/stove was too high so the steam was only at the top level where you sit - but otherwise was nice not having to book or go to a general use sauna. I did not use it on this visit but had been to an event there a couple years ago and there is a very nice sauna of larger groups as I recall on one of the top floors. Another item to note regarding the bed - in many Scandinavian and European hotels the double beds tend to be two single mattresses pushed together and I was pleased to find a regular queen mattress - excellent quality, which would be more to the American expectation.
This was very modern and contemporary ambience to the hotel. Both the overall hotel and the room were exceptionally clean with the maid service taking excellent care of the room every day.
The staff was excellent and most accommodating - exceptional language skills with English and Finnish, which we used interchangeably - I believe that I also noted the staff communicating in some other languages as well. This hotel was catering to a very international clientele and appeared to be doing an excellent job of it. My only comment here was that the TV mainly provided Finnish service – I would have expected at least BBC or CNN news channels; several news papers were provide in the lobby including Financial Times
There was internet service available of course and some PCs available in the lobby – however, several times that my daughter went to use them they were not working.
You are on the Tram Line #6, which gets you down to the train station and city center very quickly or it is about a 7-10 min easy walk. I took a taxi from the Vantaa airport and that was about 37E - there is also the airport bus to the main bus station that is easy to walk to as well or a 7E taxi if you had a lot of baggage.
The breakfast was very good and certainly accommodated most tastes for Europeans and Americans - the service was excellent here with the staff insuring that there was always plenty of food available, and many healthy alternatives provided, in several instances I noted that the staff brought some special requests for the guests.
There was a very nice Italian Restaurant in the hotel, but we did not have a chance to use it. There are several restaurants very close - one of the best Chinese in Helsinki, a newer Mexican restaurant that has a real Mexican chef providing Mexican fare - not the awful Tex-Mex (using Old El Paso ingredients), as well as the historic Salve for great local seafood and Finnish fare.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank the hotel management and staff for making for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The Nobel Suite was great - business class rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were at the hotel at the end of July. With the name "Seaside" dont expect a beach front location.The hotel overlooks a quiet part of Helsinki harbour with just private boats moored nearby. It is a very nice hotel the rooms are fine and the included breakfast is excelent.The only downside is the location- it is 15/20 min walk back to the city centre and the large Kampi shopping mall, on the way are plenty of resturants of various types and some interesting buildings.There is however a nbr 6 tram that starts from outside the hotel which will get you to the centre in a few minuites.One piece of added info, in the hotel reception area there is a stand of 3 computors that are free to use but there is no printer- however if you do need to print anything the printer on the reception desk will operate for you .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Modern hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet included.
Free wireless internet; parking garage surcharge. Friendly staff.
This hotel is not in the city center but the distance is just a 30 min walk. On the other hand, it is a 15 min walk to the ferry to Tallinn, which was one of the reasons for our stay at this location.
We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Park Helsinki
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#23 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki

Property: Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
Address: Ruoholahdenranta 3, Helsinki 00180, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#27 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing