We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for fairly central location, self-catering apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My two children and I stayed here for 4 nights, Monday to Friday, in February.

Staff: We found the reception staff very friendly and helpful, supplying maps, providing directions and tips for the week (including a tip that the Olympic stadium was offering ice-skating that week!) ; they also booked our taxi to the airport and let us stay in the apartment 2 hours past the normal departure time.

Apartment: We got a “triple room” apartment which turned out to be one bedroom with two single beds in it, plus a big sofa bed in the main living room / kitchenette. Perfect for our needs.
This was apartment 244 (Building 2, 4th floor) we were opposite the little lift and suffered no noise at all (apart from a German lady neighbour who once spent 20 minutes screaming angrily into her phone at midnight in the staircase somewhere). It was nice and warm, nice views too. Good security with electronic key cards. We slept well.

Cleanliness: Since we were only there for 4 nights, we did not experience the cleaning during our stay. The apartment was superficially clean enough when we arrived. On closer inspection, the kitchen chairs were fabric-upholstered and the fabric was quite dirty.. also my sofa-bad mattress did not look too nice when I removed the sheet to fold it up.. probably par for the course for 3-star hotels! Also the cutlery and crockery which I presume had been cleaned by the previous occupants were not really perfectly clean either.. safest to wash before use I think!

Facilities: There was one small TV with a few channels, yes, some programs were in English too. The wifi was free and worked well on all our devices. The kitchenette in the main living room was small and basic and functional: fridge/freezer, sink, hob, microwave (with built-in grill), kettle, coffeemaker. Shampoo and bath / body wash was provided.. as well as washing up liquid, kitchen towels, bin bags etc for the kitchen, but no hand soap (I had anticipated that and brought my own from another hotel :-)
The provided bath towels were adequate. If you like really big ones, bring your own.
We reserved the communal sauna for ourselves on one evening, it was very nice!

Location: as many other reviewers have explained, this is in a nice quiet location, a few minutes walk from tram, and about 10 minutes walking distance from the central train station with its shops. But if you want to be right in the middle of life, with many pubs and restaurants immediately next door, this is not for you.

My top tips:
- Bring your own hand-soap.
- Bring your own towels if you want really big ones.
- Try out the sauna, and go reserve your “hour” there early else you will find it's already booked
- Wash cutlery/crockery before use

- Ref travel, I was considering the expensive “Helsinki card” for us all to provide transport etc. But in the end I just bought 4-day unlimited city travel card (covering tram, bus, ferry to Suomenlinna etc etc) from one of the R-Kioski places which worked out FAR cheaper (€20 for an adult for 4 days)

I plan to write reviews of the Helsinki attractions that we visited soon. Please ask if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickInUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Hellsten Helsinki Parliament
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 345 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

At first we thought we had made a terrible mistake booking this hotel. However, once we had figured out how to get into the room and settled after 30 hours of travel we softened to the room and location. It feels like you're miles away from anything but it's only a 10min walk to the city centre.
We stayed for 3 nights, went to Lapland over christmas and returned to this hotel for 2 nights afterwards. Both rooms were spacious, clean (although there is not a daily room service), good kitchenettes, warm and the sauna is an added luxury.
It is definitely a "look after yourself" sort of hotel but it's ok when you understand that. The receptionist fell ill one day and locks everything up and leaves a note sticky taped to the window! The complimentary laundry is a godsend too.
It's quiet, close to everything, clean and comfortable. Great value for a family of 4.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: If your flight is due in over the weekend or after hours make sure you call to advise them and get d...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRB B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I liked the quiet neighbourhood and short walk to the shopping area. Rooms were clean, we had a little kitchen-corner and very comfortable bed. It's also very near to the Töölön Sportshall and we had only 10 minutes walk there.
Also there is 10 minutes walk from hotel a big park around the lake, Töölönlahti. Nice place to run and walk.
I think I would use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night. The Finnair Shuttle bus stops at Scandic hotel, Hellsten Helsinki Parliament is about 500 m from the bus stop.

We arrived on a Sunday night. Apparently, the receptionist was not in operation. You need to follow the instruction given by the hotel to enter the apartment and get the key to the room.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment. It can sleep 4 comfortably with ample of space to put your luggage.

The design of the apartment is rather unique. There are many twist and turn staircases.

Railway station, senate are all within walking distance from the apartment.

Overall it is value for $.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Spent 4 days at the Hellsten Helsinki Parliament. Not far from the city centre in a quiet neighbourhood. Hotel allowed us to store our luggage for 2 days while we went to Tallinn. Our room was a mini suite which had great space for 2 people and to come back to relax after a great day of sightseeing and shopping. Thank you for all your help!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We were 5 friends who spent a weekend in Helsinki. The location of Hellsten Parliment was ideal with the city centre 5-10 minute walk away or one stop with the tram. The apartment itself was spacious enough even with an extra bed. We had a 5th floor apartment with a sauna and balcony which was worth the extra euros. The apartment was clean on arrival and everything was in place (linen, kitchen eqp, towels etc).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AndersB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a short break in Helsinki. The art nouveau apartment block is situated in a quiet neighbourhood around 20 minutes walk from Helsinki city centre. There are also frequent trams into town from a stop 2 minutes away from the property, which is especially useful when travelling with luggage. The apartments themselves are large, comfortable and clean. In our apartment there were two separate bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen. This was one of the best apartments that we have stayed in. It is worth pointing out that despite the name this is an apartment and not a hotel. There is no restaurant and the reception is only available from 9am to 5pm on weekdays. This wasn't a problem for us however as we chose to eat out and buy groceries from the nearby K-Market supermarket. The building also features a sauna which can be booked for individual apartment for one hour slots during the evening. All-in-all this was a very good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenewwales94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#22 of 64 in Helsinki
615 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
677 reviews
Hotel Helka
#13 of 64 in Helsinki
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Park Helsinki
#24 of 64 in Helsinki
1,883 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Parliament

Address: Museokatu 18, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Accome Tolo Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: $90 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Parliament 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel is situated in the city centre of Helsinki, in a pleasant and quiet residential area. The surrounding area has several well-known attractions such as the Parliament House, the National Museum, the Finlandia Hall and the Temple Church. The hotel is situated on a peaceful street with interesting shops and restaurants, which is only nine minutes walk from the Central railway station. The 43 rooms in the hotel are varying in size, from one room apartments of 24 sqm to two bed room apartments up to 75 sqm. Each apartment is individually designed, Scandinavian style. Of course rooms are equipped with telephone, satellite TV and free internet access, and fully equipped kitchen. The front desk at Parliament is open on weekdays from 8 am in the morning till 8 pm in the evening, and will cater for all your needs and inquiries. Other hours there is an electronic surveillance of the premises and you can do your own check-in round the clock with an automated check in system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Parliament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing