We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome choice for extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband had business in Helsinki and so we thought it would be great fun to accompany him from the USA to Finland for a once in a lifetime opportunity. We stayed at the Stayat Helsinki Parliament in a large suite for 2 weeks with our 3 young children. The room was like a small apartment, with a foyer, large closets that held our family of 5's clothes & warm weather gear, a separate bedroom that contained 2 beds & a desk, a kitchenette, living room with sleeper sofa & eating table. There are a couple of grocery stores within a 5 minute walking distance and every couple of days we would walk to the store to buy groceries that I would then prepare for family meals in the suite. The decor was very IKEA, and cleaning staff came daily to clean. My kids loved to sit in the large windows and look out at the streets below. It is in a quiet area but is a short walk to downtown and everything else Helsinki has to offer. Breakfast is provided daily at a little restaurant next door to the hotel but the eating space is tiny and the fare was the same each and every day. After a couple of days of rolls, cheese, and yogurt we chose to just buy our own food and eat breakfast in the suite. The front desk staff could speak English well and were friendly in the quiet, reserved way that most Finns are. I absolutely would recommend this hotel and if we ever happened to be in Helsinki again (as if that would happen) we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chemjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed 7 nights. We had a one bedroom apartment in the A section/block of the building and exceeded our expectations. It was spacious with two big bay windows in living room, one of them facing the trees and park in front of the hotel. The bathroom had bathtub and shower and some amenities. Plenty of storage room. Beds were comfortable and furniture appropriate. it is centrally located but in a quiet area. It is possible to walk to the center of town but if you do not want to walk the tram stop is close by and in 2 stops you are in the center. To go to the tram stop walk through the park of the museum for a shortcut when the gates are open. We had a 7 days travel card which enabled us to travel everywhere in town The kitchen is well appointed and you can easily prepare meals. We did not use the breakfast room as we booked only room and it was much better to enjoy it at our pace in the room. There is a supermarket nearby, a deli and if you go to Stockman department store in town you will find it well stocked. If you do not feel like cooking there are restaurants around and some cafeterias. There is a laundry room for guests free. If you do not have washing powder you can purchase it at the reception. Please note that reception is not open 24 hours, so check in advance. We must say that staff in reception were efficient and ready to help. We arrived around noon and they made their best to let us check in earlier than the appointed check in hour. Also internet is LAN not wifi. Bring your cable or ask at the reception. TV had BBC and CNN so we could know what was going on. The apartment was serviced once during our stay which suited us fine. There is a place to bring your garbage at the backyard so no need to wait for cleaning of room. There is also a sauna that you can book, but we did not use it during our stay, although it seemed fine. . Near the apartment there is the National Mseum (check for free night) and one of the must see churches in Helsinki. Only minus was elevator. It worked while we were there but there was a notice informing guests that it could malfunction. Or maybe the notice is just to avoid problems as the place is also used by families with children, and children can at times be unruly. There is no air condition, which could at times be a problem. During our stay it was cool and just leaving the windows open was enough.

Room Tip: A room in block A facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odoriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed in the hotel for three nights while holidaying in Helsinki. The location is good, a few minutes from the Parliament and close to the city center.

The apartment was very nice - had even more space than needed.

Complimentary internet was good - wifi was not working but reception borrowed network cable (please be aware that reception is only open until 8pm on the week days; closed on weekends).

Breakfast was good (although the staff didn't speak much Finnish); also many great restaurants close by (like Manala but better to make a reservation there especially during weekend evenings).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johanna_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed 3 nights during our trip and noticed that this place is steadily going down. Biggest problems for us where worn out furniture, broken cups, mugs etc. and terrible beds. Furniture and surfaces looked really old, definitely time to do renovation. Beds were so soft that for us it was impossible to sleep on those. Luckily soffa could be turned into bed which was slightly better to sleep on than the beds. Also we noticed that many cups etc. had cracks, missing pieces etc. in our room and at the breakfast restaurant. So remember to watch out from where you drink. Breakfast itself is relatively poor consisting only on bread, cerials&yogurt and coffee&tea.

Positive things in this place are excellent and free laundry washing machines&dryers. Good location near the railwaystation while still being on quiet residential area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonfire_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in April. It is a basic hotel but had everything we needed. We stayed in one of the studios which was a room with twin beds, table, chairs and one armchair. The small kitchenette between the main room and bathroom was well equipped although we did not make use of it other than making tea and coffee - there were too many good restaurants nearby!

It is well situated, less than 10 minute walk into town and approx 5 minutes walk to the Airport bus. It benefited from free internet access in the rooms, and breakfast included although the dining area is very small.

Very friendly and helpful staff in the reception area and the restaurant.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others. We would certainly stay there again on any future trips to Helsinki.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombleflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel whilst in Helsinki visiting another friend who is studying abroad. As a group of 7 twenty-somethings, this hotel was ther perfect choice for us. The apartments are wonderful - seperate twin bedrooms and enormous lounges with fully furnished kitchen facilities including plates, cutlery, saucepans, a hob and even a microwave. Perfect for those wanting to save money and eat in and the lounges were easily big enough for 7 of us to pile into one apartment for the evening. The breakfast room is very small, but the lovely gentleman in the cafe saw no reason why we couldn't load up a tray and eat in the apartment.
The location was brilliant, only ten minutes from the city centre, railway station and bus station but itself on a very quiet street. It is also only 5 minutes from a supermarket which came in very handy!
Great value for money. I discovered and booked this hotel on behalf of the whole group, who were rather sceptical of the quality of the hotel after being told it would cost £96 each for 3 nights, breakfast included. When we arrived, I was mobbed with hugs and cheers. The reception is closed over the weekends and the rooms are cleaned once a week, but if you don't need your hand held to make your bed then this makes very little difference except to the cost of making your stay cheaper. It is, however, definitely a hotel for people who like a more relaxed and casual place to stay as there is no real "service" so to speak. Having said that, it is clean, tidy, quiet and, more importantly, very warm!
This hotel actually makes me want to visit Helsinki again. I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpectoPatronum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Close enough to be convenient but far enough from Helsinki's buzzing centre to be quiet. If you don't care for the extras of hotels like gyms, conference facilities, etc. then this is the place. A five minute walk from the Airport Bus stop at the Radisson, the tram stop, the Museum of Finland and the local pub. Ten minutes and you're in the centre of Helsinki at the railway station. The rooms are large and clean, although we had a problem with midges the first night (common in Finland I'm told). Ours had a mini-kitchen and overlooked a small park. The only negative is the small, badly ventilated breakfast area. A shame as the food is not bad, but they seem surprised that everyone wants breakfast. We had the door code e-mailed to us so we could let ourselves in late on a Sunday evening when reception was unstaffed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 66 in Helsinki
622 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
699 reviews
Scandic Park Helsinki
#24 of 66 in Helsinki
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
1,196 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
Scandic Grand Marina
Scandic Grand Marina
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellsten Helsinki Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellsten Helsinki Parliament

Address: Museokatu 18, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Accome Tolo Apartments)
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range: $89 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellsten Helsinki Parliament 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel is situated in the city centre of Helsinki, in a pleasant and quiet residential area. The surrounding area has several well-known attractions such as the Parliament House, the National Museum, the Finlandia Hall and the Temple Church. The hotel is situated on a peaceful street with interesting shops and restaurants, which is only nine minutes walk from the Central railway station. The 43 rooms in the hotel are varying in size, from one room apartments of 24 sqm to two bed room apartments up to 75 sqm. Each apartment is individually designed, Scandinavian style. Of course rooms are equipped with telephone, satellite TV and free internet access, and fully equipped kitchen. The front desk at Parliament is open on weekdays from 8 am in the morning till 8 pm in the evening, and will cater for all your needs and inquiries. Other hours there is an electronic surveillance of the premises and you can do your own check-in round the clock with an automated check in system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hellsten Helsinki Parliament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellsten Helsinki Parliament Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing