We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Sibelius Monument
from $177.87
More Info
from $75.04
More Info
from $37.67
More Info
from $206.45
More Info
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
290
340
188
36
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
340
188
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organ pipes finnish composer steel bust tiles park jean melded abstract tourists critic resembling hundreds death stone statues
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 867 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

Tucked away in a rather out of the way spot near Taka-Toolo, the Sibelius Monument can be found. The material designer Elia Hiltunen used is perfectly suited for this location. Strains of "Finlandia" come to mind and I believe this location is just right for Sibelius!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Mariellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Found this monument to Sibelius quite impressive. Though it at first glance seems odd to put organs as the main focus of Sibelius music. But the nationalistic, romantic and heroic music composed by Sibelius is reflected in this monument. Location is good and emphasize the experienze. Beware of busloads of tourist flooding the site.

This monument, titled Passio Musicae, were made by Finnish artist Eila Hiltunen and unveiled in 1967.

Date of experience: July 2019
6  Thank high_low73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Well it was along my way, so I stopped by. Nice park, interesting monument with an adjacent more dominant structure which I was not sure about. I liked the surrounding park. This was the positive which brings it to “well 3 stars” after seeing it, I would not waste time to visit it if it was not along my way,

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank romanw871
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Dedicated to Finland's most famous composer, the first monument with the pipes was panned by critics. A second one showing his face was added later to appease those critics.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank lcb5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

The monument to Sibelius was built and had so little to obviously do with Sibelius that they made the artist add a sculpture of his head next to it. The pipe structure is interesting to see, and the park is nice with some vendors selling crafts. you don't need to spend more than 15 minutes here to see it, but it is worth a stop if you have time.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank VAtraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews