We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"National monument"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sibelius Monument

The Sibelius Monument
Book In Advance
$69.87*
and up
Private Guided Helsinki City Tour
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
462 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“"National monument"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This area is always full of tourists. Of course, because it is a great monument for Sibelius. National composer of Finland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AriHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    171
    104
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
377 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Finland famous monument”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Came here by tram and stop at Töölöntori and walk about 15 minutes to locate the monument . Thanks to helpful locals to teach me the direction there . Pass by lots of housing area before I reach to the park . When I arrive there's not much tourist , just a few tourist and a few locals was there for picnic or just chilling around . Stop by for 15 minutes only to take some pictures and left by bus 24 , the bus stop is just outside the park ,heading back to city center

Helpful?
2 Thank kenkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
183 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was difficult for me to find this place. I asked a local and she told me she had been living in the area for 7 years but never seen this monument. ?????
However, thanks to a kind old Finnish man who seemed bothered by the fact that there were too many tourists around this place, I found it eventually.
I have to say this monument is quite impressive. It was hard to take a proper photo since it was surrounded with tourists. They say if one is lucky on windy days, one can hear the music when standing under those metal pipes. I tried, but maybe it was not windy enough that day.
Well, aside from admiring it and taking photo with it, there's nothing much to do here though. Maybe, after a long walk, getting some ice cream (in front of the monument) and hanging around here would be nice during summer. There are plenty benches though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nhu_Phuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible monument x 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

There are two monuments to Sibelius on this site. The official one which is a marvellous abstract sculture of vertical tubes with very detailed patterning and a more traditional bust of Sibelius nest to it. I was travelling with a CHoir and so we flash mobbed the tourists singing under the tubular sculpture. Interesting accoustic and very entertaining for those in attendance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
373 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sibelius Monument Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This monument is dedicated to the composer Jean Sibelius. It is made up of hollow steel pipers welded together. It is an abstract art to a waver like pattern. We were warned not to try putting our heads into the hollow pipes, as many people have got stuck into them. In the park there are ice cream vendors in case you feel like having it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sibelius Monument also viewed

 

Been to The Sibelius Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing