We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice bar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty or Death

Liberty or Death
Ranked #3 of 50 Nightlife in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nice bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited there with quite a large group of friends. It was almost full booked but very nice guy on the door fixed things pretty smoothly for us. Drinks are innovative, interior is very cozy, staff very friendly and overall atmosphere was so warm. What else you could need? The best choice in Helsinki!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomiFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good place with nice barman”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My visit to Liberty or Death coincided with a warm Helsinki evening so my only visit indoors was to place the first order. After that we spent a good couple of hours occupying the three tables and six chairs on the outside. Our friendly barman told us that six people is the max. number of guests a Finnish bar can serve alcohol outdoors. Liberty or Death is a stone´s throw away from the Esplanade and is worth a visit before or after dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A different cocktail experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to go before or after dinner as the bar just does one thing: cocktails. But they do this one thing very well (in an alternative, rather than posh, atmosphere). The cocktails are unusual and the barman was great - he really knew about his drinks and was happy to sit with us and discuss the merits of each of the cocktails. Between us we managed to sample all of them (it is a short but well-constructed menu) and our favourites were the Edward Teach and Pop My Balloons. They're not particularly cheap, but it is Helsinki and they are very interesting cocktails!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank autosnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“cool funky bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

we went to this bar with some friends in June when on holiday from australia. really intimate, cozy and funky. cool tunes and great cocktails. they dont have your conventional cocktails. they are all off the chart. really different and most of them i hadnt heard of before. we really liked this bar, the bar staff were super friendly. would definitely recommend this joint. its about a 5-10 minute walk away from the main train station. nothing else really around it and its quite easy to miss. its open every day from 4. if your in helsinki give this bar a go. we loved it

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank clintox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty or Death also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Liberty or Death? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing