We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lunch!”
Review of Sandro Kallio

Sandro Kallio
Ranked #29 of 1,522 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

With 11,90€/lunch you get loads of stunningly good food =huge saladbuffet, days soup AND a maincourse. Really good and personal service also. All the staff is great! We loved it and will definetly go again and again! Need to try the brunch as well.

Helpful?
Thank Johanna1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    124
    45
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surprisingly popular and incredibly good”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was a real surprise in a familiar neighborhood. The food is cheap and really good. There are excellent Mediterranean and Middle Eastern flavours. The menu has a lot of good options. Reserve a table or be prepared to wait a long time! This place is worth a visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious and Relaxed”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I visited Bar Sandro as part of a large group. The service was friendly, attentive and informed. We weren't pestered by the staff and on the odd occasion we had to make a real effort to catch their eye, but nothing was too much trouble. I tried the Hamshuka for the first time and was blown away. There were so many strong flavours, but they all combined beautifully. The dish was fresh, but with a decent kick of heat and well spiced. It came with a huge hunk of homemade bread which was essential for mopping up every last morsel. All the dishes were beautifully presented and everyone enjoyed their meals immensely. I didn't try any of the puddings, but those that did were wide-eyed with pleasure - Which led to a few late orders from other members of our party. The next time I'm in Helsinki this will be the very first place I visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHappyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take note of food quality”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I am a vegetarian and I have been here only on their very popular Saturday Brunches. I first visited this place over a year ago, and quite a few times thereafter. Reservations need to be done at least couple of weeks in advance, I have to say that this brunch is something that both my husband and me have worked up an appetite for and looked forward to every time for relaxing and enjoying a good meal. So much so that we made reservations when my family visited me from India. But we were disappointed !!!

Initial memories comprise of a good spread for vegetarians right from, breads to salads, main course, juices, yogurt, variety of cheese, all the way up to a selected and truly delicious array of desserts and good flavoured mint tea. Live music, a glass of champagne/sparkling wine and splendid service(rare in Finland) were like icing on the cake.

Having said all that, comparing my recent visit to the initial ones, I believe the quality of food in terms of taste has really become quite average. The buffet layout has changed and expanded but I guess in order to accommodate more, the food quality has suffered noticeably. For example- desserts which were only numbered at about 4-5 and all of them tasted amazingly , have now increased (7-8) and were quite okay on the palate. Though salads were a tad better, the main course definitely has failed in impressing.

I don't mean to discourage ppl from visiting this place. It's just sad to see my most beloved brunch place in Helsinki not being that good anymore!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilianfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

It was a very warm night when we arrived to Sandro without a reservation. Sandros terrace was full but waiter fixed us (three ppl) a table outside because there was very warm inside the restaurant. Food was intresting, full of flavor(from middle-east I think). Service was spectacular! We loved it!

Helpful?
Thank liliaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandro Kallio also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Sandro Kallio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing