We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic nepalese”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravintola Jun Tara

Ravintola Jun Tara
Ranked #1,005 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“basic nepalese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

There is probably more than a dozen nepalese restaurants in the Helsinki area, and most that I´ve visited seemed very similar. Usually attentive service and tasty food and so was the case with Jun-Tara when visited. The restaurant was almost empty on sunday afternoon. I found the menu I bit confusing and the food was what you can expect. Quite a mainstream experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve 5 stars at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

For our last night in Helsinki, we were looking for a nice restaurant and headed to Jun Tara based on its ranking.

We had a bad surprise.

First, we had to wait like 2 minutes before one guy welcomed us and placed us to a table.

There was only one set of cuttelry and while we would have expected the waiter to set the table for two instantly, he wasn't as swift as we thought.

The corner where we sat was more or less clean.

After having ordered, we had to wait 35 minutes. My wife was starving when waiting. We hesitated to pay the beer already served and leave.

The food, and a plate/glass/cuttlery for my wife finally came after such a painful waiting.

The food was OK but not exceptional.

I directly went to pay instead of waiting for the bill.

We will not return to this restaurant for sure.

As a conclusion, we do not recommend at all Jun Tara to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msirapian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I haven't eaten many Nepalese dishes before but after this I will! I highly recommend the homemade fresh cheese in spinach sause - one of the best tastes I've ever had. The service was good and friendly too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zandrahmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A wide selection of delicious Nepalese dishes, also very good vegetarian choices. Food was made from fresh ingredients and with great care. The service was excellent and friendly. Will want to go there again when I'm in Helsinki!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HilkkaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

very good food with variety of choice with quick and friendly service....would recommend to try out...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Subarna939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Jun Tara also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Jun Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing