We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good steaks, nice atmosphere”

Stefan's Steakhouse, Helsinki
Ranked #170 of 1,470 Restaurants in Helsinki
Price range: $19 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best steaks in the metropolitan area are cooked on Korkeavuorenkatu Street, just a few steps from Esplanade Park. The restaurant carrying the name of Stefan Richter – American Top Chef finalist – serves dishes with gorgeous presentation and exquisite flavours that bear comparison with any other world-class restaurant.True to its name, this steakhouse's menu focuses on steaks. You can opt for Finnish, Australian or New Zealand beef from the steak menu. When first-class meat is combined with carefully prepared side dishes and wines selected by connoisseurs, the end result is a harmonious restaurant for lovers of good food. The house specialty is the Kobe-style Wagyu tenderloin, the finest and highest-quality beef from special-bred and -fed cattle. Besides top steaks, Stefan's offers exquisite starters and desserts as well as grilled fish dishes.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good steaks, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went there on saturday evening, it was quite crowded but still the service was good. Propably one of the best steaks that I`ve ever had. Little bit expensive.. but worth of going.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikkoK-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    95
    31
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stefan´s at korkeavuorenkatu is kind of "classic" steakhouse. If you really want to enjoy good meat, you can always be sure with SS.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KariW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place although quiet on a Monday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to dinner with a Helsinki based supplier and was impressed. This restaurant was within walking distance from my hotel and easy to find. As it was a Monday night it was a little quiet but the service was excellent and the place has a very good feel to it. You could eat here for business dinner as well as for personal occasions and the bar area is well set up for a before dinner beverage.
A well rounded menu and an excellent wine list add to the positives so do yourself a favour and go

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melb_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Having recently visited this restaurant, I was hoping for a nice meal in a nice atmosphere. Sadly that didn't happen - admittedly we didn't book and it was a Saturday night at 6:30pm, however on arrival and asking the waiter if there was a table for 2 available, he took us to what can only be described as the 'naughty table' (by the stairs and cloakroom, round the corner, not near any other dining guests' where we were told we had 2 hours to eat before the table was needed.

When ordering drinks, they didn't have the red wine that I requested and as we only had 2 hours, we decided to only order mains which took 40 minutes to arrive - the T bone steak was very well cooked and I couldn't fault it, however the cumin vegetables were very al dente. I asked for the bill and after waiting for 10 minutes (after all, we weren't exactly able to catch anyone's eye as we were hidden from view) I asked again, to have it slammed down on the table 2 minutes later.

I appreciate that we potentially should have booked, however would have preferred being told that there were no tables available, rather than be treated as '2nd class' for not booking.

If you book ahead, then try it - the steak was very well cooked, however if you are wandering around, looking for a restaurant to go to, then perhaps try somewhere else, unless you want to be relegated to a very crap table and subsequently, not enjoy your meal as much.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is perfect to start a night or to have a romantic dinner for two. Such a stylish place to eat and enjoy evening. The steaks are delicious and big enough ever for a hungry man ;) The staff is great too. I always recommend this place to my friends who ask where to go to eat. Prices are affordable and very reasonable. Great variety of wines. Best in town I would say!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefan's Steakhouse, Helsinki also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Stefan's Steakhouse, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing