We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real mexican fast food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bar y Taqueria

Pueblo Bar y Taqueria
Ranked #258 of 1,453 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are the first full blooded taqueria in Helsinki Finland. A taqueria is a Mexican restaurant that specializes in tacos and this is why we wanted to create our tacos as authentically as possible outside of Mexico. We bake our own tortillas daily and produce our own salsas and all other dishes out of fresh ingredients. We have pulled some strings in order to offer our customers a unique assortment of Mexican beers and tequilas. Our bartenders will also make Mexican and Latin American cocktails in order to guarantee an authentic experience.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
410 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Real mexican fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Come here for a beers and hand made tacos. Food is delicious and beer is cold. Nice atmosphere and cool people. Prices are quite low for delicious handmade food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Mexican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent an evening at Pueblo with my collegues. Tacos were excelent and the service was very relaxed, good and polite. The DJ played nice mexican music. Wery nice place to spend the evening, Opens at 5 p.m

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mexican ambient in Helsinki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Free saturday night in town and looking after original mexican Tacos. Bueblo Bar y Taqueria was recommended couple of weeks prior in local newspaper.

We did not have a table reservation but arrived early. All tables seemed to have reservation, so we took the table reserved latest in the evening giving us three hours time.

Wine list was short and prompt. One choise of house Red, this time Malbec from Argentina. It served it purpose after walking in chilly streets of Helsinki.

Place was robust and decorated in Tijuana style. Other guests were younger generation parties of mixed sizes.

We ordred two plates of Tacos, four each. Tinga was was soft home made tacos topped with slow coocked chicken in tomato sauce with very tasteful fresh coriander. Camarones Diabola was hot and spicy tiger prawn on top of the soft tacos. Tacos were served with rice and bean sauce. There were two sauces, green with jalopenos and coriander and other hotter with red chili. Hot and spicy, perfect in my taste. Quite original Mexican style.

After dinner, very strong espresso and avec lead us trying the house Margaritas, which proved to be good. All this took the our time at the table reserved for another party.

Better to reserve the table in advance! Hopefully there will be a bit wider selection of the reds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jari-Pekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, extremely hot food ;)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved the warm, cozy atmosphere & the background music. The staff were super nice. Friends ordered Mexican beers, I asked for a non-alcoholic drink which was quite ok, nothing mind-blowing (they usually aren't).

All in all we had a great time and wouldn't mind going there again, maybe even book it for a private party with friends - even if there were a few disappointments. My shrimp ceviche (appetizer) was extremely hot, so I wasn't able to eat it at all. One of my friends is Mexican and she pointed out that while the restaurant serves very genuine Mexican food, it is a bit more hot than in other similar restaurants in town - and also more hot than what she is used to eating in Mexico. Same goes for my dessert, chocolate chili ice cream which tasted delicious but the chili gave it a good kick so I felt it was a bit too spicy for me.

Main course: tacos. Had chicken tacos (they were ok) and beef tacos with cheese (they were delicious!). Only problem was I had asked them not to put any coriander in mine but there was still some. They generally use coriander in every dish so if you can't eat it, you should tell them when ordering.

We found a bit strange that our appetizers were brought to the table together with the mains, and the service was all in all a bit slow, but this wasn't a major issue - was obviously a busy night. The prices were reasonable so I wasn't too upset about not being able to eat the appetizer or finish the dessert. Wasn't left hungry either, thanks to the 4 tacos :) Helsinki's been missing real Mexican food for years so Pueblo is definitely a very welcome addition to the restaurant scene here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinsoyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good magarithas and tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Definitely a place worth to visit. On weekends a reservation is highly recommended. Try the guacamole and the magarithas!

Helpful?
Thank Hoernle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pueblo Bar y Taqueria also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Pueblo Bar y Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing