We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Fafa's

Fafa's
Ranked #57 of 1,534 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

From Berlin I'm used to falafel and haloumi... but that dish just blow my mind!!! I can't remember when I ate such nice falafel the last time! Nice people running a warm small place with absolute delicious food... go there!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dekadenzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    67
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lempaala, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very Good Falafels”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had heard many good things about Fafa's before finally getting the opportunity to go there. I ordered a falafel and hummus salad with a side of sweet potato fries to be shared with a friend. We were not that hungry but wanted to try out the selection.

Fafa's is renowned for its falafels. They are good, but I'm not sure whether these were the best that I've had in Finland. They were made to order, which is great, but they lacked the punch of garlic and herbs that good falafels need. The same went for pretty much everything: the food was good, even great for Finnish standards, but it would have needed just a bit more effort to be truly exceptional. But I guess this is just a case of too large expectations.

Still, definitely a four star place, and I will go here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although the food is good, the staff is just unfriendly. Two times there and the experience was the same. The first time it felt like we were just making them work more, we thought it was just a bad day. The second time, we went in since the door was open but it turns out that the opening time was 10 minutes later. A guy just shouted 'it's closed' from the kitchen while staring at us as if it was obvious. We realized the opening time was close, asked if we could wait in, and the guy just turned around and left. When approached and asked again, he just gave back the look and moved his shoulders up and down and walked through us to keep doing whatever he was doing. We just left before we started a fight, we've never seen such a behavior. Unbelievable. You're just up for disappointment there.

Helpful?
Thank vabril
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Some of the biggest and tastiest Falafels outside the Middle East!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

What the restaurant lacks in its size and seating capacity, it certainly makes up in the taste and size of its Falafels! If you're looking to grab a fast bite in Helsinki, you'd be hard pressed to find a better choice. Definitely not the cheapest Falafel you've ever had, but most likely the best one you've ever had!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“falafel at its best”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

i had falafel with halumi cheese. great combination.
big size for less then 10 e.
went back the next day. A must if you are around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fafa's also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Fafa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing