We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not exceptional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“OK, but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Spent a night at the Holiday Inn on business.

Initial impressions were not terribly good. The hotel is functional and lacking in real personality. The male receptionist was rather offhand, almost surly.

The room was quite well equipped, with comfortable beds. There was free wi fi. The bathoom was just ok; unfortunately there was only a shower.

You can't really fault it as a business hotel, but I would never stay here for leisure, depite its good, central location.

Recommend, but not with huge enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    413
    151
    30
    4
See reviews for
94
237
123
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Hotel is centrally located in downtown Helsinki. Railway station and bus terminals are just 2 next to the hotel. Close to all main attractions, restaurants, bars etc. Generally friendly staff. Room was good and clean but there is problem of too much noise from vehicles on the road early in the morning and I ended up waking 5 in morning on every day. Breakfast was ok though not very elaborate and it could be great fun sitting outside (balcony) in summer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KomalArchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

It is by far the best location for a Holiday Inn hotel that I have stayed in for Business.

From the airport you get dropped off by FinnAir bus to the city centre central station and just hop into the hotel quick check courtesy efficient staff and you are in your room.

Its closer to all the business places in Helsinki and ofcourse in the heart of the city to explore and have best moments in the evenings and nights.

Easily accessible for diners, bars and nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jigs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

I was in Helsinki for 2 days in April with my family and stayed at the Holiday Inn City Center. The first thing about this hotel is that it has one of the best possible locations. It is right next to the main train station in Helsinki and at the center of the city. You are literally within stone's throw of most of the tourist attractions in Helsinki and also within walking distance of all the cafes, fast food joints and restaurants.The Finnair bus from the airport stops just a few metres away from the hotel entrance and this is the last stop.They charge you 6 EUR approx per person for a 1 way trip to the airport.If you catch a cab the cost will be 40-45 EUR minimum.
The hotel staff lady who checked us in was extremely warm and freindly. The room was kind of small, but probably as per European standards. We had an extra bed for my daughter and so it seemed even smaller . All the standard amenities you expect from Holiday Inn were there. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a big spread. The hotel has a small gym and a sauna if you are interested.
We checked out early morning at 5.45 am since we had an early flight from Helsinki, but the checkout process was very smooth. Like I mentioned earlier there is a Finnair bus just a few mtrs outside the hotel entrance. This bus runs every 30 mins. So we could get to the airport very easily.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The size of the room--- too small
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Saeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gugraon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

Good hotel, great location in the middle of the city centre. Morning cab availability is a severe issue and hotel rooms are quite small as compared to other hotels in Helsinki. However, you can walk into the station in 45 seconds from the hotel. Breakfast was average for vegetarians

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vivekpshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Arriving at the hotel at just after 10pm I found that the restaurant was closed. Well, I was half way expecting that. But then I found out that room service was only open when the restaurant was open, and the bar closed ten minutes later, leaving only cold plastic wrapped sandwiches on offer.

Not a good start.

The rooms themselves are small, but OK. The location is right next to the station and bus station, so its a little noisy, but not too bad.

The biggest flaw was their inability to get a taxi, or to volunteer sensible advice. We waited 30 minutes outside the hotel for a taxi (at the top of the queue). Nothing, despite requests. What the staff failed to say was that there was an alternative taxi pick up point two minutes walk away that would have had us picked up in a few seconds.

The restaurant meal the following night was pricey and bland. A single staff member to deal with checkout at 8am was also a poor choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

What is not to like about this hotel?
Location is in the Center of Town. Easy access to transportation with the Train terminal adjacent and a 6 Euro Finair bus right out front that will take you to the airport?

For the business traveler this is a perfect hotel. The rooms are big and quite. The business center is great with free Internet Access. There are good restaurants in walking distance. Usually I can get a very good rate. The breakfast buffet is one of the best.
The only negative I have is the cost of the in-room internet is ridicules at 20 Euros a day. This seems to be the standard rate for Holiday Inns through out Europe. Usually you can find a free Internet location (like in Vienna) close by, but I have not found one near this hotel. The Business Center is ok for checking emails and such, but I use skype for most of my calling and need the in room internet for it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wylie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing