We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay at this hotel, very handy for all the sights in Helsinki and next to the Finnair airport bus stop. We stayed during a heatwave and the rooms despite air con were a little warm. We were upgraded to executive room which was lovely-lots of wood! Great shower/bathroom and very clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RPM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    366
    134
    29
    3
See reviews for
77
206
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Finnair airport shuttle bus station just right in front of the hotel. Walking distance to city centre for all major shopping places and restaurants. There is a big supermarket nearby less than 5 minutes walk whereby you can get all your basic need such as mineral water, bakery for breakfast etc...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hui88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye, Avrupa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

It is near by the bus and train station. There is a mall and small markets near by. Room are quite good, breakfast is good for every culture. Located near the downtown, there are many restaurant and bars around. Recommended !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank miyavmiyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want a central city centre hotel in Helsinki that is near the main railway station, which has a good restaurant for both breakfast and an evening meal, that has good food and local beer, the hotel is clean, the rooms are nice, the staff very polite and helpful and is not too expensive (for a Nordic capital city) then the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre is ideal.

Although I was travelling solo, on this occasion, I can also say it would appeal to my wife, and be perfectly suitable for business or leisure.

I chose it because I had a number of early starts and late finishes, travelling around Finland by train. So I wanted a hotel, near the station, so as to avoid a bus / tram or lengthy walk at unsociable hours. This hotel is next door to the main railway station, next to the suburban platforms (Platform 19, on the western side of the station). As the airport bus, Bus 615, sets down / picks up on the eastern side of the main railway station in Helsinki, it is also very handy for a tired traveller towing a suitcase after a long flight.

I used the evening restaurant on a couple of nights, and I can recommend the roast reindeer and local beer.

The room (# 614 on the 6th floor) was clean and comfortable with a large double bed, and good bathroom with a shower.

There was not much traffic noise despite its central location.

The staff were welcoming, polite and very helpful.

The hotel is fairly inexpensive compared to similar central hotels in this capital city.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor. But others, I am sure would be equally fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Holiday Inn City Centre is perfectly located for visit to Helsinki. Just next to the city train terminal, it is well connected to the airport by Finnair Shuttle (EURO 6.50 per trip ) which stops at its front and city bus No .615 (EURO 5 per trip) which stops on the other side of the train terminal. It is also well served by city trams and buses to all major sights of the city, and a large supermarket is in the next block to provide everyday needs to the extent that you don't really have to go for the hotel breakfast..

Guest rooms, though on the small side compared to other hotels in this category, are well appointed to meet basic needs and kept clean and tidy everyday.

Front house service is efficient and courteous. We arrived early in the morning and were assigned our room well ahead of the scheduled time, which was well appreciated. Reception staff also gave good advice in respect of travels, restaurant guides and use of the free internet service (which was highly efficient too).

All in all, we enjoyed very much our stay and would highly recommend it to all those looking for convenience and comfort rather than luxury in travels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city square rather than the train terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was in the perfect location, but that is as good as it got for us. There was not much wrong with this place. However, we felt the place was boring and uninspired and we felt we were paying more than we should. The place is well kept and clean. The staff are helpful as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Draman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Draman K,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. However, we're sorry you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel is perfectly located - just a few mintes from the city center. Cleanliness in the Hotel is brilliant, rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Even though the Hotel is directly next to the rail and bus stations, rooms are really quiet. We did not meet a lot of staff indeed but during the check-in and check-out they were friendly and smiling. My best recommendations to this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing