We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel is perfectly located - just a few mintes from the city center. Cleanliness in the Hotel is brilliant, rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Even though the Hotel is directly next to the rail and bus stations, rooms are really quiet. We did not meet a lot of staff indeed but during the check-in and check-out they were friendly and smiling. My best recommendations to this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    374
    136
    29
    3
See reviews for
81
210
114
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Taxis being expensive in Finland, you can save a lot of money if you are coming from the airport by taking the Finnair bus that stops right in front of this hotel (last stop at the railway station). The bus costs €6,30 and you can pay the driver even with a credit card. Another bus 615 from the airport costs €5, it takes a bit longer and takes you to another side of the railway station.

Rooms are clean but tiny. WiFi service is the worst I have had in Helsinki, really slow speed and annoying sign up process. Most of the time breakfast is extra €€ thus you can get better value from other hotels in this area, such as Radisson Plaza on the other side of the station or Sokos Vaakuna just in front of the station, to name few.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear mikaramram,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you found our rooms clean and location convenient. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience our internet connection may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here en route to our final destination in Finland which required us to take another 2.5 hour train from Helsinki. Since we were travelling from Asia we thought it best to just stay the night in Helsinki then take the train the next day. The hotel is literally 200m (or less depending on which entrance you use) from the Helsinki Central Train Station. It's also cloze to the main bus station. After 18 hours of travelling its location was simply perfect. The hotel is minutes away from some of the sightseeing spots in the area. There is K supermarket across the hotel as well.

The hotel staff is friendly and was very helpful in providing us tips on how to get around and look for open places (we arrived on a bank holiday weekend). Our checkin was quick and we were immediately given access cards to our room. The room was average in size but it had complete amenities. The bathroom was quite big for a european hotel and overall the room was clean. There was small LCD tv which had some english channels and lots of electrical sockets in the room to charge our phones and other gadgets.

The use of the sauna is free (its open twice a day) and although the sauna is small it was nice and very well kept. The gym is small but had a good variety of equipment.

Highly recommended from transiting travelers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerJaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

As other reviewers have said this is a very well located hotel. Next to both rail and bus stations. It's also clean, comfortable and well equipped. Room was quiet, staff helpful.Only suggestion would be that a less expensive breakfast option is offered if not part of package. But highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Close to everything, 1 min walk from the railroad station. Very quiet and clean. Helpful and patient front desk. Central! Short minutes to walk to any sightseeing spots. We enjoyed it there – stayed only a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here to and from ferry trips in May. The location is very convenient for traveling by trams that stop in front of the train station and for the surrounding sights. We were upgraded due to platinum status and our executive room was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Helsinki.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived on the bus from Helsinki Airport E6.30 single. The bus stops outside the hotel at the main railway station in the centre of the city. The hotel is well placed and has good transport links with the railway and buses. Walking distance to the tourist areas, shops and harbour.

Our room on the 5th floor room 528 had a view with the railway platforms to the side. The room was a standard size. Our bed was clean and comfortable and well air conditioned. Lighting was dim. TV Trouser Press and Iron. Kettle tea and coffee powdered milk. Mini Bar and fridge space. Writing desk and chair. Comfy chair and plenty of storing space.

The bathroom had a powerful shower but it did keep going hot and cold. Plenty of towels. Shower gel soap and shampoo. Hairdryer and magnifing mirror.

No internal or external noise.

Breakfast - We had breakfast included with our room. The first day we went down at 7.30 opening time. Plenty of nice fresh bread. Cereals, fruit, doughnuts and pancakes, ham and cheese. Fish. We had some nice marinated prawns with spring onions which were different. Sausage, bacon, meatballs, scrambled eggs and stone cold beans. Four and seven minute boiled eggs. There only seemed to be a couple of members of staff. Shortage of plates and dishes and tables piled up with dirty plates. The second day Sunday was later 9.45. They close at 11am. They was a shortage of some food and breads and nobody topped up while we were there and we were reminded at 10.50 they were closing. Get there early. I think it was E15.00 if you pay on the day. Ice machine on the second floor.

Business Centre is in a locked area which your hotel room key opens where there are two computers for free internet access. Small bar and seating area in the foyer of the hotel. Reception staff very helpful and speak good English.

The only negatives were that on our second day our cups in our room were taken away and not replaced, the laminated floor was not swept and the lack of some breakfast foods on the second day.

Overall a good hotel great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing