We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First night of My Long Planned trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First night of My Long Planned trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is easily connected to the airport with a bus , 6 euros
Clean, good beds, comfortable, great breakfast, quiet. Good costumer service
Spent only one night
I was not impressed with the dinner that was given to us, but the travel company made the order, not me

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 102Silvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    375
    136
    29
    3
See reviews for
82
213
116
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Usual high standards of Holiday Inn. Location ideal if arriving / departing by train from St Petersburg etc., or by bus from airport. Can walk undercover on flat pavement to platforms / bus. Easy walk to main tourist attractions, shops etc. But......... room rates are not cheap - Helsinki is expensive and so are rooms here. Executive room relatively small, although containing all expected features. Most guests seemed to be on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear MikeNZ2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's a pleasure that you have chosen us for your recent travel. I am glad that we we able to meet your expectations when it comes to our brand standards and features.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests with our rates, but to instead offer options that make sense. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

Once again, thank you for staying and we hope we have another chance of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated. Rooms are small and have no safe. Good thing was that they offer you two kind of pillows, soft and firm. Overall experience is avarage. They do not have a private parking as it is public. Even no places reserved for guests near the entrance. The discount (as I found out) the hotel gets is not geven to the hotelguest. 36€ is rather expensive(24hrs)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Louis A,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked our convenient location. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensala
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Very good location if you travel with airplane or train. I have stayed in this hotel every month for many years. Nice clean rooms. I allways get an upgrade because of Platinum status. I miss a lounge room in this hotel. Good breakfast. Only 100m to the railway station

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On my most recent visit to Helsinki I stayed four nights at this HI. Check-in and all Reception dealings were good. The female staff in the restaurant were efficient. The male staff member in the restaurant was not good.His attitude and the manner he went about his duties left a lot to be desired.(Anyone who drops a well used cloth on the floor and then picks it up and thereafter wipes tables with it should not be working in a restaurant !).

My great gripe was with the make up of the room each morning. As to the bed the duvet was simply pulled up each morning. The underneath sheet was not touched and was left crumpled and creased. The bed was not in fact made!

Likewise any cup which I had used to drink from during the evening was left exactly where I had left it- unwashed.

This hotel is relatively pricecy compaired to other hotels in Helsinki. Moreover one would need to take out a bank loan to pay the charges for even a very modest amount of laundry to be done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianHalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear BrianHalpin,

Thank you for your candid review. We’re glad to know check in was smooth for you and we thank you for your kind words of praise. Your concerns regarding the restaurant staff have been noted. I am confident that the necessary actions will be taken in order to achieve superior guest satisfaction and prevent any further inconvenience.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was pleased with this hotel. The room was a decent size, clean & modern. The bed was relatively comfortable and the breakfast was very good. It was a bit pricey but it was good. The location was also very good, particuarly if you need the railway station, which I did. I would stay again if in Helsinki.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milwgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night due to flight delay while travelling to Jyväskylä during end of November 2010. The connection flight was missed and thus forced to stay here by Fin Air. Very small hotel with rooms of cage size. It is kind of okay if you don't have anything else to do in Helsinki other than sleeping, was feeling claustrophobic with the size and room layout.

Would suggest you to check out the rooms before moving in. My case might be specific as these rooms are designed for their tie ups with Airlines when delayed with connection flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaneeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear SaneeshKumar,

Thank you for posting a review about our property. It’s nice to know that our location was suitable for your travel needs. On the other hand, I am very sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced with your room reservation. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty. We look forward to serving you again when you return to Helsinki.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing