We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exactly as expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Absolutely zero surprises here, everything as expected. Being situated almost in the central railway and bus station, the location is as central as you can get it. You can get to most Helsinki points of interest by foot. Noise insulation was good, so no worries losing sleep. Rooms clean, nice and large enough. Staff friendly (not that we were demanding anything special). Good value for our weekend stay. Breakfast was reasonably extra, one notch above average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    400
    145
    30
    4
See reviews for
90
228
121
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of December.

I had booked an executive room as they looked great on the website. The one I got looking nothing like it did on the website. The website pictures make the room look light and airy with Scandinavian black furniture and light curtains. The one I got had brown polished furniture and dark curtains.

The staff on reception were friendly enough and there was a great guy on the bar who was helpful, chatty and provided a good tip on trying the Christmas beer (which was great). I tried the restaurant one night and was very impressed. Some great food and nice staff.

The only annoying thing is the bar opening hours. It doesn't open til 4.30pm and then shuts just after 10pm. Worse still, it's not even open on Sundays! I thought that all Holiday Inn hotels were supposed to be full service - this one isn't. If you want a drink on Sunday, you either have to raid the mini-bar or go out in the freezing cold and get yourself to a bar.

It's an ok hotel. The location is great but I'd consider staying at the Crowne Plaza next time - it's about a ten minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear traveller198526,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am particularly appreciative that you found our staff great and hotel location convenient for your activities. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the schedule of our hotel bar during your travel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that you give our hotel another chance when you stop back through Helsinki.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

One of the most centrally located hotels in Helsinki. Hotel is located on the main railway station and next to the central bus stop where you can take the shuttle to the airport. Walking distance from most of the attractions and night spots. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast is also good with a wide variety, but is repeated everyday. Notwithstanding, there are many eating joints around the hotel and as such food is not a problem. Staff are helpful. I was in a corner room on the 7th floor and it had reasonable good view of downtown. Most of the big department stores are less than 500 mts walk from the hotel. Highly recommended for stay in Helsinki,

Room Tip: Take the corner rooms, which are bigger and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AChitnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkola
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Position was great because we came by train and had to hurry to theatre! Taxis at the frontdoor was nice, and busstation also! Luggageroom served us well too! Breakfast was good and there certainly was something to everyone!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Liisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Holiday Inn Hotels always provide great services at reasonable prices. Whenever I travel- whether is for pleasure or work related, I always stay at Holiday Inn.

The location is very convenient, closer to several dining places in downtown Helsinki, and walking distance to train/bus terminals.

The staff is very helpful and welcoming, the room was well kept, furnished and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is situated on a side street in the city centre of Helsinki, next to the railway station, the bus station and the Music Hall (Musiikkitalo). Airport buses to Helsinki Airport (Helsinki-Vantaa Airport) leave next to this hotel. They operate about every every 20 minutes (from an early morning to a late night) and the travel time is about 35 minutes. So this is a good place to stay overnight when you are coming from or going to Helsinki Airport. It takes only 5-10 minutes to walk to the biggest department stores (200 meters to Sokos, 600 meters to Stockmann) and museums.

I had a corner room on the 2nd floor. Also the main restaurant (e.g. breakfast) and saunas (separate saunas for men and women both in the evening and in the morning) are situated on this floor. The room was nicely decorated. Both air conditioning and heating could be adjusted manually. There was also a separate fan. I also enjoyed an electric kettle in the room. Most rooms have only a shower but there was a bathtub in my room.

There are also a gym, an indoor playground and a business corner with three computers in the hotel. There are nice places to walk next to Toolonlahti (Töölönlahti) Bay near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JariJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imatra, Finland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Holiday Inn brand - well, you know how it is, you are guaranteed a nice stay with nothing to tell home. The location is very comfortable if you have business "down town" or if travelling by train. Rooms ok, wifi working, basic breakfast - was not included in the rate. The shower floods the whole bathroom floor. Expensive minibar items.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarriHirvela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing