We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Location to all forms of transport and the town is unbelievable good and is the point most often praised. We found however that the service was the highlight. They accommodated our needs at short notice, filling in when our other hotel booking fell through and extending our stay at short notice. Front desk staff were great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reeomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    396
    142
    30
    4
See reviews for
86
226
121
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The place smells old hotel. The location is convenient, right next door to central railway station, but the downtown is small and there are many hotels within walking distance. The room felt not updated and not clean. I spotted previous guest's hair at some places and snot at the bathroom. Even found 5 EUR bill under the bed. My guess it was a tip. I took it and didn't left any tip from myself. I guess cleaners just don't deserve it if they are so lazy to look under bed! The breakfast was quite good. It was not included in my rate (guess my travel agent failure) so I paid extra, however noone bothered to check :)
Overall: ok hotel for ovrnight on businesstrip but dont't stay there for leasure

Room Tip: Hard to recommend, some rooms face the street with the bus station in front of the hotel, other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamandrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear iamandrei,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note that you liked the quality of food at breakfast. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations in particular the room cleanliness and guests services. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel September 22-24, 2013. Hotel is adjacent to the train and railway station, and excellently located in the city centre. The FinnAir bus picks up airport travelers from the hotel. It is a modern, well-equipped facility. Staff members are fluent in English.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakhtumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is superbly located alongside the main train station so was ideal for our arrival and departure to St Petersburg, yet it was really quiet with excellent soundproofing and well appointed rooms. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful from check-in where our trainee was thorough, friendly and very efficient! The buffet breakfast had a good range of foods. The hotel is ideally located to access tourist sights, museums and the hop-on-hop-off bus. This hotel was an excellent choice for us and we would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights early in June. Its location is ideal. It is close to all forms of public transport including the airport bus. Trams to many of the tourist attractions leave from nearby. There is a supermarket and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was quite extensive.

There was no wifi in our room, but it was available in the business centre, as was access to PC’s and a printer, which was helpful to print out tickets etc.

Although the bedding and amenities in the room were good, there was no effective air conditioning and the room was too hot. An electric fan was provided but was only of limited value. This is probably not a problem in the colder months.

As a general comment, we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monetsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spend 4 nights ar Hokiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. Good location with easy access (50m) to regional trains. Good gym ans sauna as we as restaurant. Excellent proximity to airport shuttle bus and city overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isoherra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location, right next to the main train and bus station and right in the city centre.

The hotel is ok, service not amazing and the wifi doesn't work!

Rooms are clean but pretty basic.

Would stay here again but only because of the location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you liked the location. I also appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory service you received. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing