We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights early in June. Its location is ideal. It is close to all forms of public transport including the airport bus. Trams to many of the tourist attractions leave from nearby. There is a supermarket and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was quite extensive.

There was no wifi in our room, but it was available in the business centre, as was access to PC’s and a printer, which was helpful to print out tickets etc.

Although the bedding and amenities in the room were good, there was no effective air conditioning and the room was too hot. An electric fan was provided but was only of limited value. This is probably not a problem in the colder months.

As a general comment, we enjoyed our stay and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monetsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    361
    133
    29
    3
See reviews for
76
203
113
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spend 4 nights ar Hokiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. Good location with easy access (50m) to regional trains. Good gym ans sauna as we as restaurant. Excellent proximity to airport shuttle bus and city overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isoherra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location, right next to the main train and bus station and right in the city centre.

The hotel is ok, service not amazing and the wifi doesn't work!

Rooms are clean but pretty basic.

Would stay here again but only because of the location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you liked the location. I also appreciate that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unsatisfactory service you received. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Probably the best hotel we stayed at on our Scandinavian tour. Location very central and about 50 metres from airport bus stop as well as train station. McDonalds nearby as well as cafes in the station. Room very comfortable. Very helpful staff who arranged use of a shower after our checkout before our late night flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Phila.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of August. I would have given this hotel an excellent rating, had it not been for the lack of ventilation in the room. It was not at all warm at night, but you cannot open the windows in the room. There is a temperature control on the wall, but it is only cosmetic. They told me at the front desk that the windows could not be opened " for security reasons ". So, the room temperature remained at a very stuffy 75 - 76 degree temperature - too warm for a good nights sleep. My complaints led to maintenance putting a fan in our room, but this just blew a lot of hot air around.

Shame, because the hotel had so many positives. The buffet breakfast was huge, and had something for everyone. And the selection of local breads at the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The location was convenient to everything - adjacent to the main train station.

The room was clean, and had a tub in the bathroom. They had English language programs on the flat screen TV. Even the local stations showed English language shows. When I turned on the TV, I was able to catch an episode of "Foyle's War " which I had missed - with Finnish subtitles.

As a Priority Club member, I was given a free English language newspaper - the Financial Times - every morning. The bed was comfortable, and I would have slept well, had I been able to breathe more comfortably. There were separate saunas for men and women on the second floor - did not check them out. There was also a business center just off the main lobby. The hotel claims to be fully air conditioned, but all I wanted was to have some of the cool outside air circulating in our room at night. WiFi was spotty.

I might stay here again, if I return to Helsinki in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear CJIMI,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed most of the products and services that we have to offer.

Whilst I am pleased with the kind comments, I am truly sorry for the poor ventilation and air conditioning system. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service and comfort that they expect when staying at our hotel. Your review will be used to consider improvements where possible. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here after Christmas 2012 (around the 28th). The hotel was right in the centre and just by the main train station. We walked with our bags! We had breakfast with the rate and there was a good selection. We did not have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but there had a café in the reception area. The hotel served its purpose so no complaints. Wouldn't mind staying there again as it was just for one night on our way home - we had spent our holidays in St Petersburg and Tallinn.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room facing the station! The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Veronika78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last time I was in Helsinki, I stayed in a suite in the Crowne Plaza, about 1 km further out of town.

This time, my room in the Holiday Inn was more comfortable that the CP suite! And the hotel is in a great location between the bus station and the railway station (even with double glazing it's better to bring earplugs).

So, there's a McDonalds across the road - convenient for breakfast. And Stockmann's , with its excellent delicatessen in the basement, is 500 metres away in the city centre.

Most Finnish hotels are a little sterile but this one was really quite well appointed - two chairs and a table with a plant on it; pictures on the walls, plenty of hanging space. Be aware - I had an executive room.

Staff were a little jaded which didn't give a good impression. But it was functional. Coffee to go in the lobby.

Room Tip: I suspect that the bus station side is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing