We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$228
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
$214
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$200
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Haven(Helsinki)
$255
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$163
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
315
462
167
35
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
462
167
35
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfinnair busrailway stationcity centregreat locationexecutive roomst petersburgairport stopswithin walking distancethe hotel is cleanshort walkhotel breakfastbeds were comfortablebusiness hotelnice breakfastbusiness tripmini barmarket square
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 985 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last time I was in Helsinki, I stayed in a suite in the Crowne Plaza, about 1 km further out of town.

This time, my room in the Holiday Inn was more comfortable that the CP suite! And the hotel is in a great location between the bus station and the railway station (even with double glazing it's better to bring earplugs).

So, there's a McDonalds across the road - convenient for breakfast. And Stockmann's , with its excellent delicatessen in the basement, is 500 metres away in the city centre.

Most Finnish hotels are a little sterile but this one was really quite well appointed - two chairs and a table with a plant on it; pictures on the walls, plenty of hanging space. Be aware - I had an executive room.

Staff were a little jaded which didn't give a good impression. But it was functional. Coffee to go in the lobby.

Room Tip: I suspect that the bus station side is better.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

On arrival we were given a user name & password which gave only one of our phones about half an hour of service, after which our phones could not find the network. On the morning of our second day we found the network but got the message that our "voucher" had expired. I asked about this at reception (I'm a Priority Club member) and was given additional vouchers but they needn't have bothered. We were never able to find the network again during the final two days of our three-day stay. The room itself was too warm (no opening windows) and a small fan did little to help. The small details give the impression of cheapness; e.g. the bathroom contained a single small bar of soap (2" square by 1/4" thick) - How expensive is soap? Yes, the hotel is inexpensive and right next to the train station - which is also the hub for FinnAir buses - and, yes, the hotel was quiet. But our overall impression was unfavourable. We won't be staying there again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kengj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear kengj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the internet connection. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Excellent location next to the railway station and to the airport bus-terminal, which allows avoiding taxis that are very expensive in Helsinki.

Hotel staff is very friendly.

While the rooms are clean the windows seem not to have been cleaned since ages! Moreover the hotel strongly needs refurbishment: decoration of the rooms is outdated, carpets and furniture are completely worn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PfgMfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear PfgMfl,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased that you found our location to be excellent.

I sincerely apologize that you found our rooms to be outdated and not to your liking. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area, you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great placement of a very nice hotel. Within walking distance of many attractions. Would stay here again without a second thought. Bus from airport drops you almost at the door. It is also close to both train, tram and bus service. Helsinki is a great place to visit and this hotel makes even that much better!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookdaleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very well located, easy to find.
Direct buses from the airport and right next to the train station.
Friendly staff.
Breakfast had a good diversity of food.
Improvement point would say that the toilet paper was not good for such a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaFontoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews