We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“LOCATION - LOCATION - LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for the tourist visitor. On top of the railway station, in front of the bus station and right in the middle of downtown Helsinki. And no disturbing noises that you sometimes have in city centre hotels.
A small lobby area that was packed on our arrival (6 PM). With just one lady servicing both the frontdesk and the lobby bar this was a bit too much rush (for her). We did not dare to order a drink in the bar with lots of new guests arriving. This is not the way to booster the bar revenue, for sure.
Standard rooms are very clean indeed, a bit basic though and we did have larger rooms in other places. AC capacity is on the small side on warm August days. Nice beds with pillow menu to choose from.
Breakfast is very good with a nice variety of fresh breads.
Most annoying is the (free) Wifi that you need to log in every time you use it. And refresh every 24 hours with a new code. This is just very much time consuming. Also for the reception lady that is very busy anyhow.
There is a free sauna that is a bonus (for non-Nordic guests).
All in all a nice place and - if back in Helsinki - this will be our home-away-from-home, no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    396
    142
    30
    4
See reviews for
86
226
121
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was my first visit to Helsinki. I took the Finnair bus from the airport for 6.30 euros which took 30 mins and drops you right outside the hotel (look for the large Ernst & Young sign and it’s right next door). It's also right next to the train station and the Metro which I used to travel for work, it's very convenient, there are blue ticket machines with information in English where you can purchase your tickets (takes notes only though but does give change). I did 4 stops for 2.20 Euros for a single ticket (vs 20 Euros by taxi).

The hotel lobby can be very busy as they cater mainly to coach tours. As a member of the IHG Group (free to join) I got free 24hr Wi-Fi passes. The double room I had was of a good standard as was the housekeeping. A good sleep no noise issues, I got up around 6 am for work but noticed the building over the square had heavy drilling/construction noise by 7 am which may annoy those there on vacation. They had a very good quality breakfast but as with all meals in Helsinki nothing is cheap, I tried Ekberg’s which was high on the TA list, that was only 10 euros but limited with mainly continental options, beware the porridge is very salty and the tea (well it’s not Tetly).

There is a supermarket 2 mins walk from the hotel for snacks/drinks cheaper than the mini bar prices. They also have a McDonalds for a quick cheap meal.

As a lone female I felt quite safe to walk around on my own, however there are a few beggars but they are easy to avoid, there's notices to beware of pick pockets too but just be sensible.

I went to Fafa's a 'healthy' kebab shop about a 15 min walk away, which was just under 10 euros, a tiny place and you will need to wait a bit but worth it. I also tried an Italian just opposite the Stockmann department store called La Familgio? 20 euros for chicken, potatoes and goats cheese. It was reheated (arrived within 5 mins of ordering) and was garlic overload, would suggest avoiding this one or trying a different dish.

All in all a decent hotel with a great location to travel by public transport cheaply.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August, the location was excellent . . . right next to the train station and bus/tram stops. We first had room 431 and it was hot. There was a small fan in the room and we turned it on. We were told to wait an hour and it would be cool. It did not cool down and they moved us to room 510 (and they said we could take the fan with us). So, now we had a new room and two fans . . . room still hot. Reception staff were sorry.

Both rooms were furnished alike . . . twin beds, wood floors, old but nice furniture, dresser, TV, minirefrigerator, coffee service. The best part of the room was the wide marble window ledges . . . great place to put our bags (and other items). The bathroom was small but had a nice vanity, glassed-in shower, and hair dryer. Wifi was not free unless you are a Priority Club member (I am) . . . however, we had to log in with a long password and it would not stay connected. There were two computers free to use in their Business Center.

The staff were nice, just nothing they could do about the a/c or wifi. We had a good rate ($117/nt) but that did not make up for the heat. This would be a nice place to stay during the cooler months, just not in August!

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear behrens1,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our property, We are glad you found the rooms and staff commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We would like to apologize for the problems that you had experienced regarding the air conditioning system and room temperature during your stay with us. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate department where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you for taking your time to inform us with this information, this helps in becoming a better hotel. We hope to have the chance to serve you better again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here couple nights with the family in August 2013. Small lobby area was fully packed when we arrived, but two lobby persons managed to clear the rush in reasonable duration. Standard room is clean, yet a bit basic and smallish. Toilet is also clean and has everything one might need. Nice bed with different pillows to choose from.

As already stated here, the location of the hotel is perfect! Despite the very central location, the noise from city centre is not disturbing. Hotel is also very child friendly; it has different play rooms in lobby area and in restaurant Verde (which unfortunately is closed during summer time). The "kid package" to room includes for example nice clean wooden (!) baby cot. Games for kids can also be rented from lobby for free.

Breakfast is very good (nice variety of fresh warm bread), yet the restaurant is small and employees had some problems cleaning the tables during busiest hours. The hotel also has sauna heated both in the morning and in the evening, this something I appreciate.

This hotel just might become our regular when visiting Helsinki! If only the price stays on a reasonable level.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijuhmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
515 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Right next to the train station and bus station

You can buy the Helsinki card and get on the tram and get to anywhere you want to very easily

Bus to the airport outside as well if you do not want to use a taxi

We arrived at 6 Am and were allowed to use the sauna and shower area which was fantastic
They are very good at storing luggage as well which is terrific

Rooms are good size nice and clean the only negative is we were at the front and the air con did not cope with the sun on the windows all day so room was too hot
Staff advised to keep window curtains closed all day but still too hot would ask for room at other side if we returned

Room Tip: Room at back as too hot at front in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was there on 20.7.2013 and enjoyed my stay was perfect. Hotel has unbeatable location and hotel is very new having all needed things. Breakfast was good although there was many things that were not available due to the fact that hotel was full.

So breakfast service was not 5 stars. Also hotel was saving on personnel costs at reception. So all in all I would give personnel 3 stars (actually they were polite, but the need to have more persons on site was obvious).

No swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Safe, arrived at midnight and felt comfortable. Clean, really clean. Close to everything ( airport, grocery store,train station) . Really nice (and clean) play area for little kids on the ground floor. Couldn't drug my kids away from it. Very accommodating hotel personnel, polite and fast. S Market grocery store is on the corner (until 22.00) Would stay again( actually stayed already)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertGolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing