We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, new premises” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, new premises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was there on 20.7.2013 and enjoyed my stay was perfect. Hotel has unbeatable location and hotel is very new having all needed things. Breakfast was good although there was many things that were not available due to the fact that hotel was full.

So breakfast service was not 5 stars. Also hotel was saving on personnel costs at reception. So all in all I would give personnel 3 stars (actually they were polite, but the need to have more persons on site was obvious).

No swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    396
    142
    30
    4
See reviews for
86
226
121
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Safe, arrived at midnight and felt comfortable. Clean, really clean. Close to everything ( airport, grocery store,train station) . Really nice (and clean) play area for little kids on the ground floor. Couldn't drug my kids away from it. Very accommodating hotel personnel, polite and fast. S Market grocery store is on the corner (until 22.00) Would stay again( actually stayed already)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertGolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is clean and comfortable, and its location is perfect for anyone traveling by public transportation. We arrived from St. Petersburg by train and had only a 5-minute walk from the train platform to the hotel lobby. In addition, the Finnair shuttle to the airport stops right in front of the hotel. The train station is the central hub for the metro/bus/streetcar system, so it's easy to get anywhere in and around town. (A Helsinki Card gives you unlimited use of the local public transportation for the time purchased.) The restaurant is open for breakfast daily, but seems to be open at other times for pre-arranged tour groups only. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, so that's not a problem. We found a very reasonable rate online that included breakfast. The rooms are large and typical European Holiday Inn. Soap and shampoo are provided at the bathroom sink and in the shower in squeeze containers mounted to the wall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is nice enough hotel right next to Helsinki railway station. Good location to easily see all attractions and has an elevator access to a parking carage below the railway area (Eliel). Very similar to all Holiday Inns everywhere int he world, no surpirses in any area. I couldn't make up my mind about the score which should be about 3.5, but due to the location I gave 4 instead of 3.

Rooms are big and well furnished, beds are good, and sound insulation is excellent. No city noises can be heard to wake you up in the middle of the night or in the morning if you want to sleep late. Shower area in the big bathroom could be a bit bigger, but it really is big enough for most of us.

Restaurant was closed because of renovation during our stay, so eating out (except for breakfast) is must, but food quality used to be normal Holiday Inn level with nothing really exceptional anyway. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

this place is so 70s it just needs a pair of flares

rather uninspiring place and very much a budget feel when you walk in

room is good enough just about, bed a bit soft and dated and workspace for business travellers not great
bathroom is very old (generally holiday inns cannot manage to design a nice bathroom if their lives depended on it) its all white tiles and cheap plastic fittings and in addition the shower leaked

if i recall correctly i booked based on price and airport convenience, the hilton at the aiprot being rather overpriced for nothing special, rather a helsinki theme....

as a place to crash between flights its ok, (good blackout curtains) just dont expect anything more from it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRBaboonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear IRBaboonLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the facilities and service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of the room accommodations. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is directlyconnected to the airport by Finnair bus which provides a reliable and inexpensive shuttle to the city center which is very walkable. Rooms are clean and staff helpful, cruise ships may deposit their cargo here so it can be crowded, but it has a decent breakfast and central location to shop and wander. Great for a layover or short stay in Helsinki.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bedouin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
510 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked blindly, figuring only that it was close to the incoming airport bus. And that it was, only about 250 feet away. Not bad. What was not counted on was how close it was to everything else we would want to do in our 24 hours in Helsinki. Perfect.

And the staff was quite accommodating, kindly advising my spouse on the best way to accomplish a suburban goal (read wild goose chase) the next day. Our room was an upgraded "executive" room (thank you Priority Club) which had the best possible view of the central city square and all the hustle and bustle of the city. Yet it was quite as could be at night.

Definitely the go to hotel in downtown Helsinki.

Room Tip: Go for the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Kairho1
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you liked our hotel location and facilities and the friendly service of our staff. We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful experience and service they have received. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon.
Sincerely, Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing