We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location Location & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Location Location & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Its a Holiday Inn so you know what to expect but this one,although with that slightly "worn" look all over ,including the rooms , is slightly above the norm. The location is sensational ...at the railway station, the end of the bus line from the airport (30mins) and smack in the centre of town .Just can't be beat! Very friendly reception staff ,,cozy well appointed rooms with every usual extra...free wifi etc... its not a hotel for long stays,but a very very adequate one for just a few days with lots of places to see and do in lovely Helsinki!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    364
    133
    29
    3
See reviews for
77
204
113
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
412 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

OK, I walked into this one with my eyes open. I knew that I would have to pay extra for WiFi and for breakfast on the tariff I chose - my usual hotel was fully booked and others were just too dear. But why should anyone have to pay extra for these things in a 4 star hotel in a modern capital city? As it happened, I got the WiFi for free in the end anyway, as the cabled connection broke down. The only reason I'm not giving this place 2 stars is that the incredibly nice and efficient girl on reception apologised profusely and gave me 2 days free WiFi till the problem was fixed. All the staff on the front desk were excellent, as were the breakfast people.

What else? The breakfast then. I don't think it's that much! Inexpensive hotels in Finland provide very much the same except for the overcooked bacon and hot dishes of dried up meatballs, scrambled egg and tiny frankfurters. Yes, there might be a couple of extra specialist breads/rolls and cereals or other bits and pieces, but you can only eat so much at 9 in the morning. And I've stayed at a cheap hotel in Helsinki that does the hot food too. The breakfast cost me 18 Euros. I didn't take it the second day, went out and ate better elsewhere for 12.

I didn't get any tea/coffee making equipment. What's all that about?

The room was of an adequate size, very clean and I don't worry a bit about wetroom-type bathrooms. I don't mind that you don't get individual toiletries. They only get stolen anyway!

Again, for a 4 star international hotel, the choice of TV programmes was risible. Ah, but if you wanted to pay more, you could get more, pay-to-view films and so on. I've had better TV offerings in a 3 star in Morocco.

The location is fantastically convenient, right next to where the airport bus drops you off and right by the station. You can walk to many of the sights in town and many good restaurants.

But, in the end, this is a Holiday Inn, with all that this implies. If you like the formula, than it's a place for you. I happen not to - I think it's mean, capitalistic and money-grabbing. And I disliked intensely having to leave a deposit of 100 Euros at the desk in case I took stuff from the minibar.

I really want to give this place a 2. But as I said, the staff (and the location) redeemed the premises somewhat. That's the only reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear John W,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear you found our front desk staff agent to be personable and cheerful. We're proud of our staff. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
358 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

On our way back to the US from Vienna we had an overnight stop in Helsinki. Great opportunity to see at least a part of Finland. As our luggage was going directly through to NY, we took the Finn Air bus into the city. A few steps from the bus is the train station and this hotel. Service, rooms etc. were adequete but nothing great. Biggest problem we had was the restaurant only served a steeply priced buffet. We couldn't even just get a cup of coffee and maybe a slice of toast. They served coffee in the lobby for free but when I went down to the lobby, the decanters were empty, there were no cups and they did nothing about replentishing the coffee bar. At least there is a McDonalds a block away. We walked through Helsinki, found a lovely park and had a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPaRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear GrandPaRuss,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of our hotel and that you can afford us an opportunity of making it right and welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very nice, modern Holiday Inn.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The gym is a bit small but the location and the rooms make up for it.
Breakfast is also good, lots choices between warm options, fresh fruit and cereal.
Also, typical Finnish bread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raff_Man_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
246 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are arriving at Helsinki airport then need to get a train to another part of Finland. It is a short bus ride to the railway station from the airport and the hotel is situated right next to the railway station. It is also well situated for a Helsinki city break.We were pleased with the service and with breakfast.

Room Tip: Join the hotel reward programme, priority club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
533 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn hotel is located right next to the main train station and the bus station and the airport bus stops right outside the door. It is easy to walk to shops and restaurants and the main sights such as the harbour. There is an ironing board and iron and tea and coffee making facilities. They even had sachets of decaf coffee to my delight. The staff were friendly and helpful. On the down side the rooms really need a refurbishment. The furniture is old and tired and the wooden floors badly scratched from the chairs. The shower is one of those corner units and there was no seal, so that the water leaked all over the floor. They also had those awful shampoo dispensers. They provided you with a Discover Helsinki book, but mine was the 2012 edition. There is no security safe in the room and you have to use the antiquated system of leaving your valuables in a safety deposit box in the luggage room.

Be careful if you decide on room service. I was not told there was a 10 euro charge for this when I rang to place an order. When I checked to see if it was written anywhere, I found it on page 3 of the menu in tiny font in amongst the explanation of which foods were gluten and lactose free. This is sneaky. If you are going to charge, then be upfront about it and state it clearly at the top
of the Room Service menu.

I made 4 bookings at this hotel over a 6 week period. One night breakfast was included , but none of the others were. The nightly rate also varied enormously from $140 to $217 for a standard room with no breakfast. I would advise you to book as far in advance as possible and to include a Friday or Saturday night in your plans. My rate at the weekend was $77 less per night than during the week,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear TravelbugVietnam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was unfortunate to see your dissatisfaction with the value of the accommodations. We do appreciate the high marks for Location and Sleep Quality. We strive to be the best at what we do and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. The reviews that we receive enable us to see where we might improve so that your future stay will be the best ever.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again and if there's anything we can do to make your next stay more pleasant please don't hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Adrian D.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nescio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel in Helsinki a few times now and am well pleased with it. Pity they did not recognize me in the system as a returning guest though... Rooms are decent though not huge. Clean with good beds. Breakfast nothing special but acceptable. Very convenient parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wecoyoteNescio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing