We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff, quite expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Eilat, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff, quite expensive”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been there on February 2013, the Finair bus stop 30 meters from the hotel whuich is quite important during the freezing winter time. The recepction staff were very polite & helpful, by joining me to the rewards program they provided me free WIFI which was really top important on a business trip. Rooms are nice & modern as well very clean... The room rate looks a little expensive but in general it is a great hotel to stay at

Room Tip: Location always wins, specially on a cold winter day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahalan-Olympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    428
    155
    31
    5
See reviews for
100
244
132
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location for this property is sound, but unfortunately that is about it.

The Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre is old and depressing. It is in desperate need of a refurbishment. This is one of those hotels where you try to avoid going back to your room. The walls are paper thin, the carpet is bare, and both the rooms and public areas are tired, dated and require a major upgrade.

Sometimes an old, tired hotel can get away with it a little more as the service makes up for it. Unfortunately not here. The service here from the reception team bordered on rudeness. No smiles, no welcome, and no care factor shown at all.

This was a most dissapointing stay and a property I will certainly be avoiding on my future travels.

Room Tip: Hotel best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieinCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vehmas, Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear AussieinCHC
Thank you for leaving a review of your visit at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize for any inconvenience the interior of your guest room and the service have caused. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. In order to target better the improvements, we have also send you a personal message to gain more information of your stay.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best as it can be.

With best regards
Timo Vehmas, Brand Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Holiday inn standard quality. I appreciated the most it's closeness to the train station.
Nothing amazing, but also, nothing bad with it. I liked the sauna very much.
I reccomend it mostly for short stays or business.
The breakfast is tasty and the rooms are standard.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirela_Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

An excellent central hotel with easy access to the trains, buses and shopping centre. Airport buses either Finnair or 615 stop just outside. Very well designed spacious rooms with all modern facilities that are extremely comfortable. Far better than the usual Holiday Inn rooms. Free WiFi codes daily from reception if you ask. Lounge areas all very comfortable but bar prices excessive compared to those nearby. Breakfast was also good but plenty of nearby cheaper options available. Staff really helpful but reception frequently had only one person on and so getting advice was sometimes difficult. Suitable for business or tourism stays and one I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savonlinna, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is about 1 minute walk away form central railway station , so location is very good. Clean and comfortable rooms. From hotel's bar you can observe bypassing people, if your credit card is in good condition :) Small bottled beer 7,30€...

Room Tip: While ordering your room, check that breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samikkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here quiet a few times - all for pleasure, so when i pay i want the best i can get.

Despite being right on the railway you cant hear a thing.

Room are decent sized. My only issue with both rooms i have stayed in is the shower - you cant help but flood the bathroom!

Staff are pleasant a helpful. Breakfast is very expensive if not included and not that great but there is choice and variety.

I will stay here on all future visits as the Finnair bus drops you off right in front.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times with my spouse. The location is excellent, very close to the central railway station and all the important sites in Helsinki. The staff is nice and do their job well. The rooms are a bit small. As we stayed here in December 2012 the cleanliness was no longer what it used to be (the rooms are obviously no longer new - they're still OK clean, but this time I noticed small stains on the plastic shower walls + some urine stains on the toilet seat cover, yuck! - which made me think the whole bathroom could use a good scrubbing...). Helsinki is very popular during the winter holiday season and the hotel prices can be even more expensive than 'normally', but at the Holiday Inn you're mainly paying for the good location - nothing luxurious.

Room Tip: The view to the city center from the higher floors is nice, and even though the bus station is rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear nellcote,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear our convenient location suited you well. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay and sincerely regret bathroom cleanliness and hotel service did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 65 in Helsinki
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing