We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

An excellent central hotel with easy access to the trains, buses and shopping centre. Airport buses either Finnair or 615 stop just outside. Very well designed spacious rooms with all modern facilities that are extremely comfortable. Far better than the usual Holiday Inn rooms. Free WiFi codes daily from reception if you ask. Lounge areas all very comfortable but bar prices excessive compared to those nearby. Breakfast was also good but plenty of nearby cheaper options available. Staff really helpful but reception frequently had only one person on and so getting advice was sometimes difficult. Suitable for business or tourism stays and one I will return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    366
    134
    29
    3
See reviews for
78
206
113
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savonlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel is about 1 minute walk away form central railway station , so location is very good. Clean and comfortable rooms. From hotel's bar you can observe bypassing people, if your credit card is in good condition :) Small bottled beer 7,30€...

Room Tip: While ordering your room, check that breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samikkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here quiet a few times - all for pleasure, so when i pay i want the best i can get.

Despite being right on the railway you cant hear a thing.

Room are decent sized. My only issue with both rooms i have stayed in is the shower - you cant help but flood the bathroom!

Staff are pleasant a helpful. Breakfast is very expensive if not included and not that great but there is choice and variety.

I will stay here on all future visits as the Finnair bus drops you off right in front.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times with my spouse. The location is excellent, very close to the central railway station and all the important sites in Helsinki. The staff is nice and do their job well. The rooms are a bit small. As we stayed here in December 2012 the cleanliness was no longer what it used to be (the rooms are obviously no longer new - they're still OK clean, but this time I noticed small stains on the plastic shower walls + some urine stains on the toilet seat cover, yuck! - which made me think the whole bathroom could use a good scrubbing...). Helsinki is very popular during the winter holiday season and the hotel prices can be even more expensive than 'normally', but at the Holiday Inn you're mainly paying for the good location - nothing luxurious.

Room Tip: The view to the city center from the higher floors is nice, and even though the bus station is rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear nellcote,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear our convenient location suited you well. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay and sincerely regret bathroom cleanliness and hotel service did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stay in Holiday Inn Helsinki for 2 nights in late Oct 2012. The hotel location is good, you can take the Finn Air airport bus (fare at Euro 1.60 p/way) and it stop at the end of the bus terminal where the hotel is just cross opposite. There is also a railway station diagonally opposite the hotel which you can travel to any outskirt cities of Finland. Shopping centre are within walking distance from the hotel so is actually quite easy to move around. Never visit Helsinki over the weekend coz the shop closed early on Saturday and do not open on Sunday, not even the local sightseeing tour or attraction places. I happened to stay over the weekend so you can imagine that I can't do anything except shopping during the opening hour and most of the time stay in the hotel room to serve internet, fortunate that they provide free wifi in room. As we went in late Oct, the weather is cold around 5-7 degrees so the air condition in the room is off so is the air ventilation, the room is very stuffy & window sealed. Luckily they do provide us with a fan so at least we have some air to "breathe" We are glad we just stayed 2 nights and move on to Rovaniemi for our early Xmas celebration before heading to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor coz the hotel is near to the bus terminal and train station, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jojo1964_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the issues you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed one night and found this to be a good choice for a quick visit to Helsinki. The staff was good and courteous and the location next to the train station and next to the bus was perfect because I arrived in town on the train and left by air. The room itself was nice with a comfortable bed but was just a tad worn with some stains on the bathroom sink and cabinets that could use refreshing. But the bed was excellent, the room was quiet and the location couldn't be beat so I have no complaints overall. I will certainly consider this hotel again should I return to Helsinki one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the center of Helsinki, close to the bus station and railway station. Room was confortable, without noises. Breakfast has a good variety, even if not too much "sweet" food. Businness Center easy accesible with the room key.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing