We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Convenient Location & Good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very Convenient Location & Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This Holiday Inn was very comfortable and extremely well located. It is next door to the railway station and the airport bus is only a few metres from the front door. The main bus station is only a few blocks away..Finland is great for modern design so it was also great that a wonderful museum of modern art was only a short walk. I found the staff very helpful and had one pleasant meal in the restaurant. I did not have breakfast in the hotel but walked around the neighbourhood and enjoyed finding interesting Finnish treats to eat for breakfast. I was there at the end of May and it was fun seeing the locals all enjoying sitting in outdoor cafes near the hotel in the late evening sun. I loved Helsinki and if I go back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weaver555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    396
    142
    30
    4
See reviews for
86
226
121
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We only stayed one night, as we were travelling home via Helsinki from our enjoyable stay in Tallinn. The hotel is very centrally located near the Railway Station. It was ideally placed for us as the connection to both the Tallinn Ferry (tram 9) and the airport (Finnair shuttle bus) was so facile and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you arrive by air, the bus from the airport will drop you off just outside the entrance of this hotel. It is also right next to the main railway station. The breakfast is ok, but nothing to write home about. The hotel can accomodate several hundred guests, but the breakfast room/restaurant only have 100 seats. Of course, at breakfast time, this means that there are only room for 60-70 people, since Nordic hotel guests hate to eat breakfast sitting next to strangers.

There is WIFI with variable quality. They (not the hotel itself, but rather the net provider) try to charge you for using it, but if you ask in the reception, they will give you access for free. If even the receptionist asks you to pay for the access, sign up for the holiday inn priority program (it takes you 40 seconds to fill out the form) and get complimentary WIFI.

Late checkout until 13:00 if you ask for it. Until 14:00 if you are member of their priority program .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjetil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location for all travellers, very central and next to the main train station. The house is modern and nice designed; their service is very good. The staff at the front desk were very firnsly and always smiling. Our room was spacious, modern and with free Internet acces. The bathroom was very nice too. generally it's a very nice property however a little bit expensive as many things in Finnland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located, next to the train station and the point from which a number of city buses leave. Bed quality was excellent and much appreciated, since I had been traveling for more than 24 hours. The business office houses two computers whose use is free to hotel clients. The hotel restaurant offers several Finnish delicacies like reindeer steak and dessert with cloudberries. We put together our own inexpensive lunches from the delicatessen at a nearby department store.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

located meters away from train station. Bus from airport stops 50 meters from hotel entrance, so very convenient location. Room was nice. Internet was not free but was really cheap, 2.5euros per day.
breakfast was 18 euros per day and it was really bad.
I will recommend to stay here, but go to any of the many coffee shops where you can get much better breakfast.
It has a sauna, but we did not use it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The location is excellent. The train station is next to the hotel and so are the bus and metro stations. Three big malls/compartment stores are within walking distance. As well as museums.

I think the hotel is great for short business trips but it would suit a shorter stay with friends and family as well because of the location.

I kind of expected more from the hotel. The room was quiet even though it faced the bus terminal. The room was tidy but there was no key to the minibar. But since I wasn't that thirsty I didn't complain. There was complementary electric kettle with a tea selection in the room but I didn't have time to try it out. Also there was an iron and ironing board wich might've come handy on a longer stay.

I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast. The selection wasn't that impressive and it was somehow difficult to find everything.

Room Tip: I think there is less traffic noise in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unlovedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing