We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast was standard but fine. I oculdn't get an executive upgrade because the hotel was fully booked, but my priority club membership got me some executive perks anyway: free WiFi and a newspaper. Worked for me! The maid service was excellent: the room was (kept) very clean. I would have liked some moisturizer,, but that's the onlly thing I would have changed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 935 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

On the whole I enjoyed my stay with the exception if the Reception staff. They just seemed to lack the thought that they could help the customers. Rooms very good and free WiFi worked very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night in June 2012. The hotel is located in the heart of Helsinki, next to the railway station. The hotel was modern and clean, the staff was helpful and our room was very comfortable in every way. There was a selection of five different pillows, a small sitting area and the bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was nice with lots to choose from. Would really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 on Priority Club points. The room type promised was not available but the replacement was suitable. The hotel is adjacent to the train station, convenient to all public transportation and center of town. Did not eat here since my award nights did not include breakfast. I'd stay here again if the price was comparable to other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bus terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was here in the month of May 2012 for about 2 nights. This hotel is in the heart of Helsinki. Theres everything around, you name it and its there. All the attractions are within walking distance from here. The train Station is right behind the Hotel and the Finnair airport bus stop is right in front of the Hotel. The Hotel Staff are very polite. I just felt that the breakfast was quite expensive 16 Euro per head, So we decided to have it out. There are hella lot of Cafes and restaurants around this place but mind you Helsinki is quite expensive. But on the whole this is a wonderful hotel to be in. I surely recommend this Hotel to all of you here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikramHercop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Rooms are nice & modern but very small; and I stayed at exec level room. Internet was okay too about 5-6MB download speed. Breakfast is average, nothing special but you get all the basics. Gym was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel but I was there alone so I was able to work out a bit. Location is great and the sound proofing worked better than I expected. In summary, don't expect Hilton or Radisson or other 4 star hotel quality as you may experience elsewhere in Helsinki but since Holiday Inn is cheaper it gets 4 stars from me.

Room Tip: Take exec floor as the price difference is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Been_to_many_hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Having decided to pay an extra 20 euros per night for the larger bed, we were pleasantly surprised to be informed we were staying in an executive room. Situated on the third floor the room was spacious, very clean and with a large bathroom. Water and chocolate are complimentary from the mini bar. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Whilst we did not dine in the hotel at all, all in all this is definitely better than other Holiday Inns I have stayed at.
Very well located at the side of the train station, I can confirm the other review comments that you can't hear the trains. However, if you are located at the front of the hotel you can definitely hear the buses which leave the bus station and circle around past the front of the hotel. Not seriously noisy but not as quiet as some reviewers have stated.
If you are visiting Helsiniki for the first time, you have probably read that the city is expensive; I can confirm this to be true. Two beers and a glass of wine averaged 20 - 23 euros in the centre which makes even London look cheap. Food was more comparable with London prices.
Helsinki itself has a very pleasant and relaxed feel to it. Much quieter than most cities and certainly easy to unwind there. You will enjoy but take plenty of money!

Room Tip: Worth 20 euros a night for the larger rooms but ask for one at the rear if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spidermanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,195 reviews
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#5 of 64 in Helsinki
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre

Address: Elielinaukio 5, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#24 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $135 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Helsinki at the refurbished Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Enjoy excellent location & transport links at the Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre hotel. Check in to your refreshed, Scandinavian-style guest room, overlooking Finlandia Hall or bustling Eliel Square. Our stylish & comfortable open lobby invites you to linger - a completely new area where you can relax & really make yourself at home during your stay with us. Connect your laptop to free Wi-Fi or use our E-Bar & catch up with your friends or meet your colleagues at the lounge. Eating, drinking, socialising - there are so many ways you can use the space day & night. Convenient Finnair shuttle service runs to & from Helsinki Airport next to the Central Railway Station. The Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Centre is just five minutes away by train & the new Helsinki Music Centre and a verdant Töölönlahti Bay is just a short walk from the hotel. The shops, stores - including the iconic Stockmann and sights of Helsinki are also within strolling distance. Start your day with our fantastic breakfast buffet with a range of delicious options. The all-day dining menu packed with much-loved favorites, you can enjoy anywhere & anytime. Our To Go Café serves Segafredo coffee plus snacks 24-hours seven days a week. And of course in this family-friendly Helsinki hotel, kids eat free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre Hotel Helsinki
Helsinki Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing