We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“See the dinosaurus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)

Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)
Book In Advance
$50*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #20 of 267 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“See the dinosaurus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you want to have a little extra in Helsinki centre why not pop into the Natural History Museum. So center located you can walk to it. Takes about two hours to see the place and it is certainly interesting. We had fun!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IrmaLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    96
    21
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Visit if you understand Finnish or Swedish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It is a nice museum in Ugendstil building, exhibiting replica of dinosaurs' bones to stuffed Finnish animals. There are some quiz about dinosaurs for you to have more information. Only the problem is that everything is written in Finnish and Swedish, so cannot be recommended to tourists who do not understand either of these languages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank marichato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quite the find for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Although most people would say that a museum like this is more geared for children, I thought it was fascinating.

Yes, it is a small museum (small as in it is spread over 4 floors), but there's loads to see. The displays are absolutely amazing, and the effort put into making the animals and other fauna look in-situ is something I haven't seen anywhere else.

If you want to make sure you understand everything you're looking at, use the audio companions because nearly all of the exhibits are in Finnish and Swedish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lovely museum, as all museums in Helsinki, closed every Monday and shuts every day at 4pm, so be aware of that since we went in and they did not tell us at all that we only had 25 minutes to see it all which it is not enough at all.
Very nicely set, we went without kids but our kids would have loved it. Very impressive displays.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoquetQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lots to see here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I missed this museum the last time I was in Helsinki. There is free audio in English which is very helpful when you view the different exhibits. Lost of bones of animals and fish and kid friendly, even if I don't have any. You could spend a day looking and listening to the various descriptions on the free audio tape.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Luonnontieteellinen Museo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing